How To Fly A Horse: The Secret History of Creation, Invention, and Discovery (Paperback)
  • How To Fly A Horse: The Secret History of Creation, Invention, and Discovery (Paperback)
zoom

How To Fly A Horse: The Secret History of Creation, Invention, and Discovery (Paperback)

(author)
£9.99
Paperback 336 Pages / Published: 28/01/2016
  • In stock online

Usually despatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
WINNER OF THE 800-CEO-READ BUSINESS BOOK OF THE YEAR 2015 In the vein of Susan Cain's QUIET and Malcolm Gladwell's DAVID AND GOLIATH, HOW TO FLY A HORSE is a smart, empowering book that dispels the myths around genius and creativity. There is a myth about how something new comes to be; that geniuses have dramatic moments of insight where great things and thoughts are born whole. Symphonies are composed complete. Science is accomplished with eureka shrieks. Businesses are built by magic touch. The myth is wrong. Anyone can create. Acclaimed technology pioneer Kevin Ashton takes us behind the scenes of creation to reveal the true process of discovery and how `new' comes to be. From Archimedes to Apple, from Kandinsky to the Coke can, from the Wright brothers - who set out to `fly a horse' - to Woody Allen, he exposes the seemingly unremarkable individuals, gradual steps, multiple failures and countless ordinary and often uncredited acts that led to our most astounding breakthroughs.

Publisher: Cornerstone
ISBN: 9780099591771
Number of pages: 336
Weight: 234 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 21 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
"Ashton is persuasive ... His well chosen examples reinforce the idea that there is no magic or myth to creation or discovery, making this an approachable, thought-provoking book that encourages everyone to be as good as they can be." * Observer *
"An inspiring vision of creativity that's littered with practical advice, and is a cracking read to boot." * BBC Focus *
"Many of these anecdotes are rather lovely - a chapter on the credit denied female scientists is fascinating" * Daily Telegraph *

You may also be interested in...

The Portable Hannah Arendt
Added to basket
Jung: A Very Short Introduction
Added to basket
Madness
Added to basket
£11.99
Paperback
1434
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Demanding the Impossible
Added to basket
Art in Theory 1815-1900
Added to basket
Event
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Scottish Enlightenment
Added to basket
The Order of Things
Added to basket
The Swerve
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
Religion and the Decline of Magic
Added to basket
Sapiens
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The History of Sexuality
Added to basket

Reviews

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.