How Not to Be Wrong: The Hidden Maths of Everyday Life (Hardback)
  • How Not to Be Wrong: The Hidden Maths of Everyday Life (Hardback)
zoom

How Not to Be Wrong: The Hidden Maths of Everyday Life (Hardback)

(author)
6 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£20.00
Hardback 480 Pages / Published: 03/06/2014
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket
The maths we learn in school can seem like an abstract set of rules, laid down by the ancients and not to be questioned. In fact, Jordan Ellenberg shows us, maths touches on everything we do, and a little mathematical knowledge reveals the hidden structures that lie beneath the world's messy and chaotic surface. In How Not to be Wrong, Ellenberg explores the mathematician's method of analyzing life, from the everyday to the cosmic, showing us which numbers to defend, which ones to ignore, and when to change the equation entirely. Along the way, he explains calculus in a single page, describes Goedel's theorem using only one-syllable words, and reveals how early you actually need to get to the airport.

Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
ISBN: 9781846146787
Number of pages: 480
Weight: 766 g
Dimensions: 240 x 162 x 41 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
A cheery manifesto for the utility of mathematical thinking. Ellenberg's prose is a delight - informal and robust, irreverent yet serious... Full of simple yet deep insights that encourage clear thinking about many areas of modern life... How Not to Be Wrong is an impressive work of popular mathematics. It's low on formulae and numbers, and big on ideas -- Alex Bellos * The Guardian *
Underlying the playful stories that make this book so gloriously, surprisingly readable is a passionate argument for the core discipline of managing uncertainty in decision-making ... In short, we dismiss maths at our peril, and this book charmingly, persuasively puts us straight. If only they'd taught maths like this at school -- James McConnachie * Sunday Times *
There are plenty of popular maths books around, but this one strikes a particularly fine balance between rigour and accessibility. There are complex ideas here, but Ellenberg has a gift for finding real-life examples... His easy style is lucid and witty. If only all maths lessons were like this -- Orlando Bird * Financial Times *
The title of this wonderful book explains what it adds to the honorable genre of popular writing on mathematics. Like Lewis Carroll, George Gamow, and Martin Gardner before him, Jordan Ellenberg shows how mathematics can delight and stimulate the mind. But he also shows that mathematical thinking should be in the toolkit of every thoughtful person-of everyone who wants to avoid fallacies, superstitions, and other ways of being wrong -- Steven Pinker, author of How the Mind Works
Beautiful... Mr. Ellenberg's book is chock-full of gems. His easy-to-follow, humorously presented examples range from analyzing the wisdom of buying lottery tickets to the effects of chaos on weather forecasts, from tests on how Shakespeare used alliteration in his sonnets to the economic advantages of being late to flights * Wall Street Journal *
If you feel bamboozled by figures, you can think like a mathematician without actually being one. An engaging and clear explanation of some of the tricks of the trade, and how they help you spot errors of numerical reasoning in politics, religion, and finance. A gripping read! -- Ian Stewart, author of Seventeen Equations that Changed the World
Jordan Ellenberg promises to share ways of thinking that are both simple to grasp and profound in their implications, and he delivers in spades. These beautifully readable pages delight and enlighten in equal parts. Those who already love math will eat it up, and those who don't yet know how lovable math is are in for a most pleasurable surprise -- Rebecca Newberger Goldstein, author of Plato at the Googleplex
Brilliantly engaging... Ellenberg's talent for finding real-life situations that enshrine mathematical principles would be the envy of any math teacher. He presents these in fluid succession, like courses in a fine restaurant, taking care to make each insight shine through, unencumbered by jargon or notation. Part of the sheer intellectual joy of the book is watching the author leap nimbly from topic to topic... The final effect is of one enormous mosaic unified by mathematics * Washington Post *
With math as with anything else, there's smart, and then there's street smart. This book will help you be both. Fans of Freakonomics and The Signal and the Noise will love Ellenberg's surprising stories, snappy writing, and brilliant lessons in numerical savvy. How Not to Be Wrong is sharp, funny, and right -- Steven Strogatz, author of The Joy of X
Ellenberg writes with remarkable flair and humour. His deft, witty, colloquial prose often makes one laugh... So great are Jordan Ellenberg's gifts of exposition and insight that one hopes for many more books from him as excellent and entertaining as How Not To Be Wrong -- Peter Pesic * Times Literary Supplement *

You may also be interested in...

Maths in Minutes
Added to basket
Number Book 2
Added to basket
£2.45
Paperback
How to Pass Higher Maths
Added to basket
The Signal and the Noise
Added to basket
£10.99   £8.99
Paperback
Mental Arithmetic 5
Added to basket
Mental Arithmetic 4 Answers
Added to basket
Basic Maths For Dummies
Added to basket
GCSE Maths AQA Foundation Student Book
Added to basket
Mental Arithmetic 3 Answers
Added to basket
Fermat's Last Theorem
Added to basket
Mental Arithmetic 4
Added to basket
£3.50
Paperback
Mental Arithmetic 6
Added to basket
Game Theory: A Very Short Introduction
Added to basket
Mental Arithmetic 6 Answers: No. 6
Added to basket

Reviews

View all

“”

Very readable even if you are not a mathematician. How to understand statistics and think outside the box. Short chapters adapted to read whenever you have five minutes without loosing the thread!

Paperback edition
21st June 2015
Helpful? Upvote 84

“How Not to be Wrong - A Math-Phobic Reviewer's Delight”

A book about Maths?! Really?!

O. K. I thought, I can do this (but having struggled with maths all my life it was a great leap into the unknown) and it is about time I overcame my fear.

Jordan Ellenberg’s... More

Paperback edition
2nd June 2015
Helpful? Upvote 82

“When am I going to use this?”

This book tells you exactly where you are going to use maths in your everyday life. Ellenberg explains where probability, algebra and geometry contributes to our everyday lives and why it is important to use them. He... More

Paperback edition
31st August 2015
Helpful? Upvote 71

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.