How Jack Lost Time (Hardback)
  • How Jack Lost Time (Hardback)
zoom

How Jack Lost Time (Hardback)

(author), (illustrator), (translator)
£14.99
Hardback 96 Pages
Published: 12/11/2020
  • In stock

Usually dispatched within 48 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
An artful and timeless exploration of love, loss, grief, and family, How Jack Lost Time will appeal to readers of Charlie Mackesy's The Boy, The Mole, The Fox and The Horse, and other picture books for older readers and adults. Jack is not like other sea captains. Fishermen say he's weird, but Jack only cares about one thing: the grey whale with the scarred dorsal fin, the one who swallowed up his son, Julos, years before. Jack promises he will not come home without Julos, even if it means losing himself in the process. Then, on a night like any other, Jack sees something lurking around his boat. He throws himself into the whale's dark mouth. But is he too late? Will his son recognize him after years of being alone? Poignant, original, and vibrant, this contemporary nautical fable journeys into the heart of the human spirit, and will move readers young and old. Winner of the 2019 Governor General's Award for Youth Literature-French Language

Publisher: Greystone Books,Canada
ISBN: 9781771647571
Number of pages: 96
Dimensions: 254 x 190 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
"[How Jack Lost Time] offers an affecting, devastating portrayal of the reverberating impacts of loss." - Booklist "The nautical narrative promises to be quirky, mature, and quite sad." - Quill & Quire

You may also be interested in...

One Fish, Two Fish, Red Fish, Blue Fish
Added to basket
Katie In London
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
I Love My Daddy Board Book
Added to basket
The Storm Whale
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Ten Little Princesses
Added to basket
Charlie and Lola: We Completely Must Go to London
Added to basket
Oh, The Places You'll Go!
Added to basket
Claude Going for Gold!
Added to basket
The Queen's Hat
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
Ten Little Fingers and Ten Little Toes
Added to basket
Ten Little Dinosaurs
Added to basket
We're Going on a Bear Hunt
Added to basket
Badger's Parting Gifts
Added to basket
Hairy Maclary from Donaldson's Dairy
Added to basket
The Cat in the Hat
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
The Giant Jam Sandwich
Added to basket

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.