How I Won A Nobel Prize (Hardback)
  • How I Won A Nobel Prize (Hardback)
zoom

How I Won A Nobel Prize (Hardback)

(author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£16.99
Hardback 304 Pages
Published: 15/02/2024
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

Confronting the complexities of cancel culture with scathing wit and intelligence, Taranto's astonishingly accomplished debut revolves around an island institute for the disgraced and deplorable and the shocking shenanigans of some of its residents.

Julius Taranto’s wickedly satirical and refreshingly irreverent debut novel, a young physicist follows her mentor to an island research institute that gives safe harbour to ‘cancelled’ artists and scientists.

Helen, a graduate student on a quest to save the planet, is one of the best minds of her generation. But when her irreplaceable advisor’s student sex scandal is exposed, she must choose whether to give up on her work or accompany him to RIP, a research institute which grants safe harbour to the disgraced and the deplorable.

As Helen settles into life at the institute alongside her partner Hew, she develops a crush on an older novelist, while he is drawn to an increasingly violent protest movement. As the rift between them deepens, they both face major – and potentially world-altering – choices.

Hilarious, provocative and thought-provoking, How I Won A Nobel Prize approaches the issues of our times in a genuine and fresh way, examining the price we’re willing to pay for progress and what it means, in the end, to be a good person.

Publisher: Pan Macmillan
ISBN: 9781035006830
Number of pages: 304
Weight: 414 g
Dimensions: 226 x 145 x 33 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Taranto’s hilarious, provocative debut novel, is at once bracingly contemporary and reassuringly familiar . . . The novel’s peculiar genius lies in how you’re never entirely sure where Taranto’s sympathies lie. - The Times

A debut of great skill and admirable complexity - The Observer

A punchy and very funny campus novel which manages to satirise the culture wars without ever making too clear which side of the cancel-culture v anti-woke divide the author stands on - Nicola Sturgeon

A hit, a very palpable hit - The Spectator

A first-class debut . . . [a] masterful satire . . . quite brilliant - The Irish Times

A twisty satire with nerve and sass . . . [An] addictive page-turner - The Mail

Outstanding - The Wall Street Journal

Razor sharp . . . bracingly clever . . . a viciously funny page-turner with plenty of surprises up its sleeve - Vogue

A gleefully irreverent satire of so-called cancel culture, virtue signaling, and early-21st-century hypocrisy. - The Atlantic

Witty and provocative . . . Taranto understands the appeal of bad-man geniuses, and he understands their dangers, too. - Vox, 'Best Books of 2023'

Very funny. Very good - B.J. Novak

With How I Won A Nobel Prize Julius Taranto achieves the near-impossible: a literary comedy about cancel culture that is neither priggish nor self-satisfiedly transgressive, less about culture wars than the neverending battle of being human. A novel of ideas in the tradition of Norman Rush's Mating, How I Won A Nobel Prize is one of the best new novels I've read in years. - Tara Isabella Burton, author of Social Creature

A wildly original debut . . . Can a high-powered male lawyer write a propulsive, smart, funny novel about science, cancel culture, and #MeToo with a female protagonist? Absolutely. It’s exactly what Julius Taranto has done in his debut, How I Won A Nobel Prize. - Publishers Weekly

A high-wire act, balancing savvy political satire with brilliant character development and prose that sings and guffaws with nuance - Shelf Awareness

Julius Taranto does an incredible job crafting an ambitious and nuanced narrative abut "cancel culture" that'll keep you laughing from start to finish. - Coveteur

A stunning new talent, announcing itself fully formed - Jonathan Lethem, author of Motherless Brooklyn

You may also be interested in...

You Are Here
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Butter
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
Strange Sally Diamond
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Fourth Wing
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Close to Home
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Funny Story
Added to basket
£18.99
Hardback
The Familiar
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Dune
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Wild Love
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
A Court of Thorns and Roses
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
My Favourite Mistake
Added to basket
£22.00   £18.99
Hardback
The Three-Body Problem
Added to basket
Dune Messiah
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Caledonian Road
Added to basket
£20.00   £17.99
Hardback
James
Added to basket
£20.00   £17.99
Hardback
One Day
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Close to Death
Added to basket
£22.00   £19.99
Hardback
A Calamity of Souls
Added to basket
£22.00   £11.00
Hardback

“Hilarious and thought provoking..”

This is a cleverly written novel about cancel culture and the debate that comes with it.
Our heroine clever talented Helen is in a moral dilemma when she follows her disgraced professor to a disreputable and... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

“A different, intelligent, ambitious, thought provoking, explicitly metaphor heavy if at times rather uneven and scattergun satirical debut novel”

A different, intelligent, ambitious, thought provoking, explicitly metaphor heavy if at times rather uneven and scattergun satirical debut novel dealing with campus cancel culture and with wider issues around changing... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: