We regret that due to the technical limitations of our site, we are unable to offer eBooks or Audio Downloads to customers outside of the UK.

For further details please read our eBooks help.

How Fiction Works (Paperback)
  • How Fiction Works (Paperback)

How Fiction Works (Paperback)

£8.99 £7.19
Paperback Published: 05/02/2009
  • Save £1.80
  • 5+ in stock

We can send it to you within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Click & Collect From your local shop
In the tradition of E. M. Forster's Aspects of the Novel and Milan Kundera's The Art of the Novel, How Fiction Works is a scintillating and searching study of the main elements of fiction, such as narrative, detail, characterization, dialogue, realism, and style. In his first full-length book of criticism, one of the most prominent critics of our time takes the machinery of story-telling apart to ask a series of fundamental questions: What do we mean when we say we 'know' a fictional character? What constitutes a 'telling' detail? When is a metaphor successful? Is realism realistic? Why do most endings of novels disappoint? Wood ranges widely, from Homer to Beatrix Potter, from the Bible to John Le Carre, and his book is both a study of the techniques of fiction-making and an alternative history of the novel. Playful and profound, it incisively sums up two decades of bold, often controversial, and now classic critical work, and will be enlightening to writers, readers, and anyone interested in what happens on the page.

Publisher: Vintage
ISBN: 9781845950934

You may also be interested in...

“How Fiction Works”

What a fabulous small volume in praise of the (great) novel. In just 123 long paragraphs Woods takes us through the key elements of literature - narration, character, dialogue, language. And then he adds context,... More

13th December 2008
Helpful? Upvote 0 Downvote 1

Your review has been submitted successfully.

View your review