How Fiction Works (Paperback)
  • How Fiction Works (Paperback)
zoom

How Fiction Works (Paperback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£9.99
Paperback 208 Pages / Published: 05/02/2009
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
In the tradition of E. M. Forster's Aspects of the Novel and Milan Kundera's The Art of the Novel, How Fiction Works is a scintillating and searching study of the main elements of fiction, such as narrative, detail, characterization, dialogue, realism, and style. In his first full-length book of criticism, one of the most prominent critics of our time takes the machinery of story-telling apart to ask a series of fundamental questions: What do we mean when we say we 'know' a fictional character? What constitutes a 'telling' detail? When is a metaphor successful? Is realism realistic? Why do most endings of novels disappoint? Wood ranges widely, from Homer to Beatrix Potter, from the Bible to John Le Carre, and his book is both a study of the techniques of fiction-making and an alternative history of the novel. Playful and profound, it incisively sums up two decades of bold, often controversial, and now classic critical work, and will be enlightening to writers, readers, and anyone interested in what happens on the page.

Publisher: Vintage Publishing
ISBN: 9781845950934
Number of pages: 208
Weight: 149 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 13 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
"This compelling essay shows just how deeply, sensitively, imaginatively and joyfully he reads" * Scotland on Sunday *
"There aren't many book reviewers whose leaving one magazine to go to work for another would make the headlines. But then there aren't many book reviewers like James Wood" * Sunday Telegraph *
"Luminous... full of top-notch observations from the coal-face" -- D.J. Taylor * Independent on Sunday *
"Enchanting... Witty, concise, and composed with a lovely lightness of touch" * Economist *
"Exceptionally illuminating... brilliantly acute and enticingly widely read work. It should be compulsory reading for anyone in the reviewing trade and committed to memory before aspiring writers put pen to paper. For those who intend to pursue the underrated calling of reading fiction without wishing to add to its ranks, it will not only make reading more pleasurable, but articulate what you may have felt but never been able to express" -- Rosemary Goring * Herald *

You may also be interested in...

A Tale Of Love And Darkness
Added to basket
The New Bloomsday Book
Added to basket
Goldeneye
Added to basket
£11.99
Paperback
Ulysses and Us
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Under the Greenwood Tree
Added to basket
On Writing
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Darkness Visible
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
How to Live
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
The Mabinogion
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Memoirs of a Dutiful Daughter
Added to basket
Wide Sargasso Sea
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Hemingway's Boat
Added to basket
The Picture of Dorian Gray
Added to basket
Jane Austen
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
A Rose For Winter
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback

“How Fiction Works”

What a fabulous small volume in praise of the (great) novel. In just 123 long paragraphs Woods takes us through the key elements of literature - narration, character, dialogue, language. And then he adds context,... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 15

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.