• Sign In / Register
  • Help
  • Basket0
The books you love, the emails you want
Time is running out, opt in before 25 May or you'll stop hearing from us
Yes Please
House of Windows (Paperback)
  • House of Windows (Paperback)
zoom

House of Windows (Paperback)

(author)
£10.99
Paperback 256 Pages / Published: 19/08/2010
  • Publisher out of stock

Currently unavailable to order

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket
When a young writer finds himself cornered by a beautiful widow in the waning hours of a late-night cocktail party, he seeks at first to escape, to return to his wife and infant son. But the tale she weaves, of her missing husband, a renowned English professor, and her lost stepson, a soldier killed on a battlefield on the other side of the world, and of phantasmal visions, a family curse, and a house -- the Belvedere House, a striking mansion whose features suggest a face hidden just out of view -- draws him in, capturing him. What follows is a deeply psychological ghost story of memory and malediction, loss and remorse. This unnerving tour de force, exploring the literary haunted house, from Charles Dickens, Edgar Allan Poe, and H. P. Lovecraft to today, incorporates family trauma, abstract art, literary criticism, the occult Dickens, and the war in Afghanistan. From John Langan (Mr. Gaunt and Other Uneasy Encounters) comes House of Windows, a chilling novel in the tradition of Peter Straub, Joe Hill, and Laird Barron. Skyhorse Publishing, under our Night Shade and Talos imprints, is proud to publish a broad range of titles for readers interested in science fiction (space opera, time travel, hard SF, alien invasion, near-future dystopia), fantasy (grimdark, sword and sorcery, contemporary urban fantasy, steampunk, alternative history), and horror (zombies, vampires, and the occult and supernatural), and much more. While not every title we publish becomes a New York Times bestseller, a national bestseller, or a Hugo or Nebula award-winner, we are committed to publishing quality books from a diverse group of authors.

Publisher: Night Shade Books
ISBN: 9781597801959
Number of pages: 256
Weight: 341 g
Dimensions: 229 x 153 x 22 mm

You may also be interested in...

Chains of the Heretic
Added to basket
Entropy in Bloom
Added to basket
Scourge of the Betrayer
Added to basket
The Devil's Rosary
Added to basket
MJ-12: Inception
Added to basket

Reviews

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.