Hotbed: Bohemian New York and the Secret Club that Sparked Modern Feminism (Hardback)
  • Hotbed: Bohemian New York and the Secret Club that Sparked Modern Feminism (Hardback)
zoom

Hotbed: Bohemian New York and the Secret Club that Sparked Modern Feminism (Hardback)

(author)
£20.00
Hardback 416 Pages / Published: 14/07/2022
  • Coming soon

Awaiting publication

  • This item has been added to your basket

The dazzling story of the early feminists who blazed a trail for the movement's most radical ideas

New York City, 1912: in downtown Greenwich Village, a group of women gathered, all with a plan to change the world.

This was the first meeting of 'Heterodoxy', a secret social club. Its members were passionate advocates of women's suffrage, labour rights, equal marriage and free love. They were socialites and socialists; reformers and revolutionaries; artists, writers and scientists. Hotbed is the never-before-told story of the club whose audacious ideas and unruly acts transformed an international feminist agenda into a modern way of life.

For readers who loved Mo Moulton's Mutual Admiration Society and Francesca Wade's Square Haunting.

Publisher: Prelude
ISBN: 9780715654743
Number of pages: 416
Dimensions: 234 x 156 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'Incredibly resonant in today's times, and a profound read' FIONA DAVIS, New York Times-bestselling author of The Lions of Fifth Avenue


'Deeply researched and deftly rendered... a spirited, inspiring history' LAUREN ELKIN, author of Flaneuse


'A transporting tour-de-force of storytelling' JANICE P. NIMURA, author of The Doctors Blackwell


'Spirit and panache... one for anyone interested in the history of feminism, friendship, or New York City' RUTH FRANKLIN, award winning author of Shirley Jackson: A Rather Haunted Life


'A wonderful tribute to the "restless audacious [and] creative spirit" that pushes a culture beyond convention and complacency and toward something new... fascinating' MAGGIE DOHERTY, award winning author of The Equivalents: A Story of Art, Female Friendship, and Liberation in the 1960s

You may also be interested in...

An Extra Pair of Hands
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Women, Race & Class
Added to basket
Heiresses
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Murder: The Biography
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Queen
Added to basket
£12.99   £10.99
Paperback
Why I'm No Longer Talking to White People About Race
Added to basket
The Secret Lives of Colour
Added to basket
Fake History
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Five
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Homo Deus
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Portable Magic
Added to basket
£20.00   £17.99
Hardback
The Journey of Humanity
Added to basket
£20.00   £17.99
Hardback
Queen of Our Times
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Chernobyl
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Bookseller of Florence
Added to basket
£10.99   £9.49
Paperback
London and the Seventeenth Century
Added to basket

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.