Find your perfect holiday reading
Hope to Die: The gripping serial killer thriller for fans of M. J. Arlidge (Hardback)
  • Hope to Die: The gripping serial killer thriller for fans of M. J. Arlidge (Hardback)
zoom

Hope to Die: The gripping serial killer thriller for fans of M. J. Arlidge (Hardback)

(author)
6 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£20.00
Hardback 416 Pages / Published: 06/04/2017
  • Publisher out of stock

Currently unavailable to order

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket
CROSS YOUR HEART AND . . . HOPE TO DIE A gripping serial killer thriller, perfect for fans of Mark Billingham, Peter James and M. J. Arlidge. There was a hate in this killer. A thirst for obliteration rather than a mere desire to end a life . . . A brutal murder takes place in the grounds of a Liverpool cathedral. A killer is on the loose, driven by a chilling rage. The victim: the last person you'd expect to be subjected to such terrible violence. Can DS Nathan Cody crack the case before another innocent is chosen? ----- PRAISE FOR DAVID JACKSON 'Recalls Harlan Coben though for my money Jackson is the better writer' Guardian 'Cody is up there with the best in every sense . . . A thrilling series opener' Weekend Sport 'A harrowing page-turner from a writer who seems to know your darkest fears. Terrific!' David Mark 'One heck of a story' Joanna Cannon, Sunday Times bestselling author of The Trouble with Goats and Sheep 'Very slick and very clever' Mel Sherratt

Publisher: Zaffre Publishing
ISBN: 9781785761119
Number of pages: 416
Weight: 685 g
Dimensions: 240 x 162 x 37 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
If you are looking for the kind of compulsive crime novel that will keep you gripped from start to finish look no further than Hope to Die. Jackson has written a white knuckle ride of a thriller, nuanced and twisty - it will keep you guessing all the way. Nathan Cody is a singular detective, weighed down by his past more than any other detectives I have read, but he is fascinating. * Nudge Books, review and book of the month April *
Hope to Die is a well-written, action-packed book that you will not want to put down. A must read! * Go Buy the Book *
A gripping read that had me hooked from start to finish. With twists and turns that had me looking in the wrong direction, there was certainly some shocks in store that I was not expecting. This author knows how to mess with his readers minds whilst delivering a highly adrenaline fuelled read that leaves you having to catch your breath at the end. * By the Letter Book Reviews *
Jackson digs deep below the surface of the human psyche in the high-tension search for an elusive and enigmatic serial killer, allowing us tantalising glimpses into the motivations of the murderer and the personalities of the disparate members of the police team charged with tracking down the perpetrator. But it is Nathan Cody, a man whose life seems to be perpetually engulfed in trauma, who is the lynchpin of this dark and fast-paced series. His dangerous vulnerability, his doggedness, his sheer complexity and the mysterious threat that casts a shadow over his life add a powerful punch to the twists and turns of a high-stakes murder inquiry. From the truly terrifying, cold-blooded killings and the dark humour of the seasoned cops to a pulsating race for the truth and on to the final, electrifying showdown, this is a perfectly executed thriller from a master crime writer. The next chapter in Cody's chequered career can't come a moment too soon! * Syndicated regional press (Blackpool Gazette, Chorley Guardian, Burnley Express, Clitheroe Advertiser, Fleetwood Today, Garstang Courier, Lancaster Guardian, Leyland Guardian, Lynthamstannes Express, Pendle Today, The Visitor, Wigan Today, Lancashire Evening Post *
Jackson surely knows how to use red herrings because you think you'll know how it's going to end then he gut punches your self-esteem with a twist that doesn't seem possible. Be prepared to feel edgy until the next book hits because he really does leave you clinging to the edge of your seat with his work * Artistic Bent *
Even by the standards of the genre, Liverpool detective Nathan Cody's backstory trauma is intense . . . pushed to the edge by taunting reminders of his past, Jackson's flawed hero has a case and a beat that serve up plenty of excitement. * Sunday Times Crime Club *
I loved this book! It was SOOOO good. I will give you the warning that this is definitely one not to start at bedtime...The ending, when it comes, when definitely make you sit up and go "wow". I recommend this book to anyone who loves thrillers full of suspense. * The Reading Room *
I cannot recommend this series enough and I will certainly be waiting with bated breath for the next instalment! * Emma's Little Book Blog *
'You don't want to start this book just before bed-time that's for sure because not only will you be unable to relinquish your hold on the book as one more chapter turns into two, three and onwards, but because David Jackson creates a world which feels particularly unsafe for the unassuming...this is not to be missed.' * Cleopatra Loves Books *
These books come across with a confident passion for its people and it's settings which gives them a gritty realism. There is an unexpected depth to the crimes so that the reader feels very involved in them very early on, practically becoming another investigator on the case with a vested interest in catching the perpetrator. And the way the dual POV are used means we also get an insight into the mind of that killer which I found very chilling indeed. I'm chomping at the bit now to find out how circumstances will develop throughout the next books in the series. And that ending sent shivers down my spine! * My Chestnut Reading Tree *
'I truly enjoyed this book! I truly loved DS Nathan Cody.' * Page Turner *
Nathan Cody stormed into our lives last year in A Tapping At My Door. This became my favourite book of 2016, bar none. Imagine my delight when I saw this follow-up book...Cody does not disappoint. * Breakaway Reviewers *
'Lots to like - fast-paced, plenty of banter between our detectives and some interesting characters, each offering flesh to the bones. Jackson achieves a nice balance here between the case and the personal stuff.' * Col's Criminal Library *
This is a good solid police procedural that fans of the genre will enjoy * For The Love Of Books *
It's a 5* read. * Crime Thriller Hound *

You may also be interested in...

The Murder of Harriet Monckton
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Scrublands
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Nine Perfect Strangers
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Clockmaker's Daughter
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Taking of Annie Thorne
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Secret Commonwealth: The Book of Dust Volume Two
Added to basket
The Man With No Face
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Outsider
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Secretary
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Confessions of Frannie Langton
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Long Road to Mercy
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Last
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Dark Sacred Night
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Lethal White
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Rumour
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Man Who Didn't Call
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback

“Hope To Die”

A follow up to A Tapping At My Door, Hope To Die could be read as a standalone novel but you would get more enjoyment from it if you know and understand why Nathan Cody is hurting emotionally and physically.
The novel... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 26

“New favourite series”

There are lots of cop series around these days and a thriller has to be excellent for me to take notice. Jackson has managed to write a novel that is compelling alone, but also weaves in his main character's... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 16

“Dark and Disturbing ”

Hope to Die is as dark as they come. The Atmospheric setting of the Anglican Cathedral is a perfectly horrible location to carry out a gruesome murder. To top it off, it's the middle of a blizzard. One of... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 10

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.