Hope Nicely's Lessons for Life (Hardback)
  • Hope Nicely's Lessons for Life (Hardback)
zoom

Hope Nicely's Lessons for Life (Hardback)

(author)
£12.99
Hardback 464 Pages / Published: 22/07/2021
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 10-15 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
'Touching, tender . . . filled with wonderful humour' Sarah Haywood 'A very special book' Katie Fforde The Sunday Times bestselling novel, perfect for fans of Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine and The Rosie Project. My name is Hope Nicely. Why am I writing this book? That's easy. This book is going to change my life. My boss, Karen, says a friend is a stranger you haven't met yet. I think that's right. Veronica Ptitsky and Danny Flynn are strangers, except I have met them now because they're in my writing class. Karen says friends always have your back. They don't mean your real back, of course. It's called an analogy. But I don't want any friends, actually (only dog ones). I have my mum, Jenny Nicely, who says adopting me was the best thing she ever did, even if my thoughts bounce a bit differently to other people's thoughts. She is proud of me for writing my book which will be a Big Achievement. I tell her that writing my story is going to change my life. Except when my life does change it isn't because of my writing but because something happens to my mum, Jenny Nicely, and she isn't here anymore. And, flip a pancake, this is not what I wanted. I'm not very good at being on my own and I wish she were here to tell me everything will be right as rain again soon. Maybe I do need some human friends after all . . . 'A gorgeous, funny, heartwarming read. Leaves you smiling' Ericka Walker, author of Dog Days

Publisher: Zaffre
ISBN: 9781838772710
Number of pages: 464
Weight: 577 g
Dimensions: 222 x 144 x 42 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Hope Nicely's Lessons for Life is a sunburst of a story, full of love, kindness and one of the sweetest, most engaging central characters you're likely to meet. I was drawn in from the very first page by Caroline Day's sensitive portrayal of Hope Nicely's inner voice; as I followed Hope on her mission to make sense of the present, to uncover the past and to write her book, I found myself sharing in her triumphs and frustrations, her laughter and tears. It's a touching, tender story, but Hope Nicely's wonderful humour and delicious honesty mean that it's never sentimental. An absolute joy * Sarah Haywood bestselling author of The Cactus *
I can't even find words to say how much I adore Hope Nicely's Lessons for Life! A heart-bursting book, full of tears, laughter and hope. Gorgeously written with an incredible protagonist and I cannot recommend it enough, it's FABULOUS * Jessica Ryn, author of The Extraordinary Hope of Dawn Brightside *
How I wish Hope had been in my writing class. A gorgeous, funny, heartwarming read. Leaves you smiling * Ericka Waller, author of Dog Days *
A very special book. Hope is extremely endearing and her rules for life relevant for us all. Really enjoyable * Katie Fforde *
Hope is a bit different - she has Foetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder and is on a mission to discover her birth Mum, who she hopes will answer the difficult questions of why she was abandoned as a baby. Her unique experience of the world will warm your heart with Hope's character and dialogue so well crafted by Day. A novel that reads as if Hope is sat with you. A book of acceptance, kindness and ultimately hope * My Weekly *
I loved it! A sharply drawn character with beautiful soft edges who has lessons in her for all of us * Anstey Harris *
A gorgeous, funny, heartwarming read. Leaves you smiling * Ericka Waller *
This touching, uplifting debut novel oozes heart, and you'll fall in love with Hope, sharing in both her success and her sadness. * Daily Mirror *
If you loved Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine by Gail Honeyman, this book is for you. * Sunday Mirror *
Uplifting and touching, if you loved Eleanor Oliphant, this is for you. * Fabulous, The Sun on Sunday *
This touching, big-hearted debut is funny, sensitive and has lessons for us all about optimism and perseverance * The Mail on Sunday *
A gorgeous tale about love, acceptance, and living your best life no matter what * The Sun, PICK OF THE WEEK *
A book full of hope, friendship and acceptance * Woman's Weekly *
Captivated from the very first page! Perfect for fans of Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine, Hope's story will stay with you long after the final page * NFOP magazine *

You may also be interested in...

Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Book of Form and Emptiness
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Beautiful World, Where Are You
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
How to Kill Your Family
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Normal People
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Before the Coffee Gets Cold
Added to basket
Snow Country
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Man Who Died Twice
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Klara and the Sun
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo
Added to basket
Silverview
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Sorrow and Bliss
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Maidens
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Murder Before Evensong
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
Malibu Rising
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“A heartwarming story that was a joy to read. We should all be more Hope”

Hope is one of those characters who grabs your attention straight away and keeps it for the entire book. Told from Hope's perspective, we get to see the impact that Foetal Alcohol Syndrome Disorder (FASD) has had... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 23

“Loved it”

Hope Nicely was abandoned by her birth mother, and grows up with Foetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder. This makes her see things differently to most people and she struggles to fit in with society. In a bid to find her... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 20
Karen Byrom

“A charming heroine with a wonderful story to tell”

You'll live with Hope in your heart after you read this charming, thought-provoking story of a young woman in search of answers to her past. Born with Foetal Alcohol Syndrome, Hope Nicely was found abandoned in a... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 17

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.