Homebody: Discovering What It Means To Be Me (Paperback)
  • Homebody: Discovering What It Means To Be Me (Paperback)
zoom

Homebody: Discovering What It Means To Be Me (Paperback)

(author)
£14.99
Paperback 224 Pages
Published: 25/04/2024
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

'An uplifting, hopeful, empowering memoir that celebrates self-discovery and self-love' - Alice Oseman, author of the bestselling Heartstopper series

An unmissable graphic novel perfect for fans of the global hit Heartstopper and Juno Dawson's What's the T?

Hello! I’m Theo. I like cats, Dungeons & Dragons . . . and I’m trans and non-binary.

Ever since I was young, I’ve been on a journey to explore who I am. To discover the things that make me . . . me.

Sometimes it can feel like the world is trying to fit you into a box, to label you one way or another, but there is nothing more wonderful than finding your true authentic self, whoever you are. Whether you are transgender or cisgender, we are all searching for ways to make our houses feel like homes . . .

In Homebody, Theo tells the heartwarming story of discovering how to live life on their own terms through beautiful illustrations and lyrical text.

Publisher: Pan Macmillan
ISBN: 9781035017621
Number of pages: 224
Weight: 428 g
Dimensions: 234 x 154 x 15 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

An uplifting, hopeful, empowering memoir that celebrates self-discovery and self-love - Alice Oseman, bestselling author of Heartstopper

An accessible, affirming story that models how anyone—cis or trans—can take steps toward self-knowledge and gender freedom. - Kirkus

Brimming with compassion, warmth and gentle humour, Homebody swept me up like a hug with a long-lost friend. Exploring their own journey of self-discovery, Theo’s honest, conversational storytelling and masterful command of visual narrative combine to create a stunning memoir full of hope and non-binary joy. This book will mean so much to many readers, and I cannot wait to see whatever Theo works on next. - Harry Woodgate, the multi-award-winning author and illustrator of Grandad's Camper, Timid, Little Glow and Grandad's Pride.

For anyone who is trying to find their authentic self when they feel like the world is trying to put them into a box - Charlotte Eyre, The Bookseller

A warm, affirming, gentle, honest story of a nonbinary gender journey. - Maia Kobabe, author of Gender Queer

This deeply relatable exploration of finding oneself and of giving oneself grace when the journey takes longer than expected is ideal for fans of Maia Kobabe’s Gender Queer. - Publishers Weekly (starred review)

A gorgeous memoir of transition and self love, beautifully illustrated and sensitively written. A journey I deeply related to -- I’m thankful to be in a world where Homebody exists. - Lizzie Huxley-Jones, author of Vivi Conway and the Sword of Legend

Uplifting and resonant - Fiona Noble, The Observer

A gorgeously tender and warm story of bold explorations and the search for contentment and home. What a joy! Beautifully illustrated; a must have ... - Juno Roche, author of Trans Power

Enchanting and life affirming. I devoured in one joyful gulp . . . - Harry Nicholas, author of A Trans Man Walks into a Gay Bar

Homebody is utterly beautiful, both in storytelling and artwork. It’s moving, funny, sweet, and truly uplifting. Homebody is a story that feels like a warm hug from a good friend. - Beth Reekles, bestselling author of The Kissing Booth

Charming, thoughtful and beautiful - Louie Stowell, bestselling author of Loki: A Bad God's Guide to Being Good

Homebody made me want to be creative - the highest praise I can think of. Beautifully illustrated and heartfelt in story. An ode to trans joy. - L. D. Lapinski author of Jamie

This is a graphic novel memoir about the author’s journey with their gender, and I thought it was incredible! The illustrations were gorgeous, the writing was amazing and sometimes like poetry, and it just really tugged on my heartstrings in the best way. - Elementary My Dear blog

Theo Parish’s debut graphic novel is beautifully illustrated and cleverly designed. It’s a personal exploration of their trans experience, with fourth wall breaks that add humour and make the already accessible storytelling come alive. It’s thoughtful, and Theo reflects their own challenges with care, they are kind to themself but acknowledge their journey of “redecorating…renovating…trying things out…and seeing what works.” - Dee Stevens, The Dee-Brief

This gentle, meandering 14+ graphic novel takes the reader on a journey without a destination – following the protagonist’s search for self-acceptance, so that the house of their body can feel like a true home. Investigating the subtleties of trans and non-binary identities, its soft greys and pinks and joyful emphasis on self-discovery will appeal to Heartstopper fans. - Imogen Russell-Williams, Guardian

Based on the true experiences of the author/illustrator, Theo is on a journey of gender self-discovery. Spanning childhood into early adolescence, Theo’s exploration of their non-binary identity captured in the navies, pinks, and purples of this graphic novel explain that transition is a process of continually coming home to your true self. An inspiring story of self-acceptance and living authentically, this is a great book for nonbinary teens seeking to see their identity reflected in a book. (13+) - Irish Examiner

A beautifully illustrated, powerful story that will bring bundles of hope to anyone navigating their own gender journey. - Lewis Hancox, author of Welcome to St. Hell

Theo Parish's Homebody is the non-binary memoir I needed growing up. What’s especially beautiful about Homebody as a trans narrative is how it balances gender dysphoria with gender euphoria, as well as coming out to others with coming out to ourselves. - Diva magazine

You may also be interested in...

Pain is Really Strange
Added to basket
Becoming Unbecoming
Added to basket
Una
£14.99
Paperback
Citizen 13660
Added to basket
£16.99
Paperback
Pablo
Added to basket
£16.99
Paperback
March: Book One
Added to basket
£13.99
Paperback
Hyperbole and a Half
Added to basket
Embroideries
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Palestine
Added to basket
£20.00
Paperback
Legends of the Tour
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
Unflattening
Added to basket
£21.95
Paperback
Fun Home
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
March: Book Two
Added to basket
£17.99
Paperback
Jerusalem
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
Black Project
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
Billy, Me & You
Added to basket
Lizzie | @littlehux

“A gorgeous must-read memoir”

I’ve been an eager follow of Theo Parrish’s work since Homebody got first announced, and I’m so lucky to have had the chance to read an early copy of it.

Theo has been on a journey to understand themselves since... More

Paperback edition
2 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 7

“beautiful true story of self-acceptance”

I adore this - a really gorgeous memoir-as-graphic-novel (think Heartstopper) in which Theo takes you through their journey up to now. A story of self acceptance, of fitting in and standing out, and great... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 6

“Stunning!”

As a trans nonbinary person I found this so relatable and I found Theo’s journey so beautiful to read. The artwork is absolutely stunning, I loved the choice of colours and the metaphor of a Homebody. Would recommend... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 5

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: