Heretics Anonymous (Hardback)
  • Heretics Anonymous (Hardback)
zoom

Heretics Anonymous (Hardback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£12.99
Hardback 336 Pages / Published: 20/09/2018
  • We can order this

Usually dispatched within 1 week

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

* Amazon Best Book of the Month August 2018 * New York Public Library Best Books 2018 *

Put an atheist in a strict Catholic school? Expect comedy, chaos, and an Inquisition. The Breakfast Club meets Saved! in debut author Katie Henry's hilarious novel about a band of misfits who set out to challenge their school, one nun at a time. Perfect for fans of Becky Albertalli and Robyn Schneider.

When Michael walks through the doors of Catholic school, things can't get much worse. His dad has just made the family move again, and Michael needs a friend. When a girl challenges their teacher in class, Michael thinks he might have found one, and a fellow atheist at that. Only this girl, Lucy, isn't just Catholic . . . she wants to be a priest.

Lucy introduces Michael to other St. Clare's outcasts, and he officially joins Heretics Anonymous, where he can be an atheist, Lucy can be an outspoken feminist, Avi can be Jewish and gay, Max can wear whatever he wants, and Eden can practice paganism.

Michael encourages the Heretics to go from secret society to rebels intent on exposing the school's hypocrisies one stunt at a time. But when Michael takes one mission too far-putting the other Heretics at risk-he must decide whether to fight for his own freedom or rely on faith, whatever that means, in God, his friends, or himself.

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Inc
ISBN: 9780062698872
Number of pages: 336
Weight: 405 g
Dimensions: 210 x 140 x 28 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
"Most impressive here is Henry's multifaceted take on religion. Michael isn't searching; he know how he feels. Yet his introduction to others who feel differently-in the case of Lucy, passionately differently-opens him up. Come for the arch first-person narrative and puppy love, stay for the examination into belief." -- ALA Booklist (starred review)
"Heretics Anonymous hits all the right beats. Katie Henry has crafted a thoughtful, refreshing story. In a time when it can seem like tolerance is at an all-time low, this novel...provides a potent reminder of how different perspectives can coexist peacefully." -- Entertainment Weekly
"The story adeptly asks readers to question what they believe and why, without being preachy, judgmental, or dismissive. Humor interlaced with more serious ideas make for an interesting and enjoyable read. Highly recommended, especially for teens who are passionate about a cause." -- School Library Journal
"In this entertaining coming-of-age story, five free-thinking students launch a clandestine campaign against their school's rigid policies and practices, with unanticipated consequences.Snappy dialogue sparkles throughout this skillfully crafted debut." -- Publishers Weekly
"In addition to being a frequently hilarious comedy with its share of complicated romance, the story presents a thought-provoking look at faith, questioning but ultimately respectful of Catholicism and other beliefs, Michael's atheism included: he grows to understand why religion is important to others, but remains true to himself." -- The Horn Book
"Genuine and heartfelt doctrinal questions arise in between the pranks and the conversations Michael has with his new friends, allowing both believing and nonbelieving readers to find their way into this exploration of the way feelings about family and faith intersect. A balanced perspective of possibilities of faith and skepticism." -- Bulletin of the Center for Children's Books
"Hilarious, irreverent, charming, and an absolute delight! This book is everything I hoped for and more." -- Robyn Schneider, bestselling author of The Beginning of Everything
"Funny, touching, and wonderfully even-handed, Katie Henry's debut novel is a weirdo's guide to faith-in the best possible way." -- Anna Breslaw, author of Scarlett Epstein Hates It Here
"Katie Henry deftly weaves a nuanced coming-of-age story with the hilarity of medieval church history, feminist theology, and the achingly real struggle of coming to terms with one's faith. I loved this book like WHOA." -- Joy McCullough, author of Blood Water Paint

You may also be interested in...

The Girl, the Bear and the Magic Shoes
Added to basket
La Belle Sauvage: The Book of Dust Volume One
Added to basket
Ghosts of the Shadow Market
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
This Lie Will Kill You
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Secret Commonwealth: The Book of Dust Volume Two
Added to basket
The Umbrella Mouse
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
The Boy At the Back of the Class
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
Two Can Keep a Secret
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Head Kid
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone
Added to basket
Mr Men: My Daddy
Added to basket
Tom Gates: Mega Make and Do (and Stories Too!)
Added to basket
A Good Girl's Guide to Murder
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Wonky Donkey
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Getaway (book 12)
Added to basket
Diary of an Awesome Friendly Kid
Added to basket
£12.99   £9.99
Hardback

“A Thought-provoking yet Hilarous Novel”

I thoroughly enjoyed this novel and would highly recommend to anyone with an interest in honest, respectful and mature discussions of religion, particularly among teenagers. The author tackles the subject with... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.