Heart-Shaped (Paperback)
  • Heart-Shaped (Paperback)
zoom

Heart-Shaped (Paperback)

(author)
£6.99
Paperback 208 Pages / Published: 01/08/2013
  • We can order this

Usually dispatched within 1 week

  • This item has been added to your basket
Check availability At your local shop

Written with sensitivity, humour and a lightness of touch, HEART-SHAPED is a companion to Siobhan Parkinson's highly-acclaimed novel, BRUISED - for fans of Meg Rosoff, Aidan Chambers and David Levithan.

Annie makes a startling discovery one day - and everything changes. She fears for the safety of her boyfriend Jonno, who has vanished, knowing he is in desperate trouble. Feeling alone, she clings to her dad, her only parent, but he can't fill in all the gaps in the puzzle that is Annie's life. Nor can her best friend. To do that, Annie has to look into her past and understand who her mother was, what happened to her and why.

So the truth behind Jonno's disappearance - which is the story in BRUISED - becomes a mirror for what's happening in Annie's own life. The reader is desperate for him to come back, so that Annie can fully fit the pieces of her existence back together.

Publisher: Hachette Children's Group
ISBN: 9781444903607
Number of pages: 208
Weight: 204 g
Dimensions: 202 x 159 x 19 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Poignancy is nicely balanced by wit and literary allusion. * Irish Times *
The central voice is extremely engaging. * Bookseller *
The characterisation is sharp and strong, the settings very skilfully etched, the storyline compelling ... * Robert Dunbar *
A richness and complexity. * INIS *
very difficult to put down. The reader is drawn in... and needs to know how it ends. * Carousel *
Believable and heart-rending story. * Independent on Sunday *
**** * Books For Keeps *
Excellent... extremely moving. * Scottish Daily Record *
Parkinson writes with a light and witty touch, making Heart Shaped a captivating read. * Manchester Evening News *
The strength of the novel lies in Parkinson's ability to balance seriousness of theme with entertaining moments... clever stuff. * Irish Times *
The full picture of love, death and everything in-between... a touching story. * Daily Post *
Will suit young teen readers bridging the gap between the domestic dramas of Jacqueline Wilson and the grittier world of young adult books. * Booktrust *
A good book for lower KS3, with lots to think about and a very strong underlying story. * School Librarian *
Contemporary Dublin provides the setting for the engaging story of a young teenager and her efforts to recover from her nightmares. * Irish Times *

You may also be interested in...

The Midnight Gang
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.49
Paperback
Ella on the Outside
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Trouble with Perfect
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
The Explorer
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Grandpa's Great Escape
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.49
Paperback
The Gruffalo
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.49
Paperback
Where the World Ends
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.49
Paperback
The Twits
Added to basket
£5.99
Paperback
City of Ghosts
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Harry Potter and the Cursed Child - Parts One and Two
Added to basket
The Hate U Give
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Murderer's Ape
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Dog Man 5: Lord of the Fleas
Added to basket
£10.99   £8.99
Hardback
My Mum Tracy Beaker
Added to basket
£12.99   £9.99
Hardback
P.S. I Still Love You
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback

Reviews

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.