Visit our Christmas Gift Finder
Happy Hour in Hell: Bobby Dollar 2 (Paperback)
  • Happy Hour in Hell: Bobby Dollar 2 (Paperback)
zoom

Happy Hour in Hell: Bobby Dollar 2 (Paperback)

(author)
3 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 416 Pages / Published: 27/03/2014
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

Bobby Dollar has a problem or four of epic proportions. Problem one: his best friend Sam has given him an angel's feather that also happens to be evidence of an unholy pact between Bobby's employers and those who dwell in the infernal depths. Problem two: Eligor, Grand Duke of Hell, wants to get his claws on the feather at all costs, but particularly at all cost to Bobby . Problem three: Bobby has fallen in love with Casimira, Countess of Cold Hands, who just happens to be Eligor's girlfriend. Problem four: Eligor, aware of Problem three, has whisked Casimira off to the Bottomless Pit itself, telling Bobby he will never see her again unless he hands over the feather.

But Bobby, long-time veteran of the endless war between above and below, is not the type of guy who finds Hell intimidating. All he has to do is toss on a demon's body, sneak through the infernal gates, solve the mystery of the angel's feather, and rescue the girl. Saving the day should just be a matter of an eon or two of anguish, mutilation and horror.

If only it were that easy.

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton General Division
ISBN: 9781444738629
Number of pages: 416
Weight: 284 g
Dimensions: 196 x 129 x 27 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Praise for THE DIRTY STREETS OF HEAVEN:

'When I heard that Tad Williams was writing an urban fantasy novel, I got all tingly. Now I've read it, and it's even better than I'd dared to hope. It's snarky, fast-paced, and above all, original. You should be tingly, too.'

* Patrick Rothfuss *
'Tad Williams' ... famous four-book trilogy was one of the things that inspired me to write my own seven-book trilogy. [ I ] said, "My god, they can do something with this form," and it's Tad doing it.' * George R.R. Martin *
'This is urban fantasy at its best.' * EpicBookReviews *
'A very promising start to an exciting new series from one of our greatest modern F/SF authors.' * Geek Syndicate *
'Readers who enjoy Neil Gaiman's Neverwhere, Kate Griffin's A Madness of Angels, Jim Butcher's Dresden Files will most likely be as entertained as I was... Highly recommended.' * SFF World *

You may also be interested in...

The Dark Tower V: Wolves of the Calla
Added to basket
Dreams of Gods and Monsters
Added to basket
Girls of Paper and Fire
Added to basket
Daughter of Smoke and Bone
Added to basket
Dark Tower I: The Gunslinger
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Dark Tower VI: Song of Susannah
Added to basket
Legendary
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
The Dark Tower III: The Waste Lands
Added to basket
Days of Blood and Starlight
Added to basket
The Erstwhile
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Early Riser
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
The Dark Tower II: The Drawing Of The Three
Added to basket
Children of Earth and Sky
Added to basket
Strange the Dreamer
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Caraval
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback

“Brilliantly funny Fantasy”

This is the sequel to the fantastic 'Dirty Streets of Heaven'. Bobby Dollar is an Angel Advocate. He makes the case to take your soul into Heaven, of course the Demons want it too. In this book, Bobby is... More

Hardback edition
28th January 2014
Helpful? Upvote 21

“Not as Noir as I hoped, but still engaging”

Very different to the first title in the series, 'Happy Hour in Hell' departs from the bleak but witty Noir style of 'Dirty Streets of Heaven' into a genre more akin to Dante-esque horror, with... More

Hardback edition
19th September 2013
Helpful? Upvote 15

“Just when things couldn't get any worse for Bobby”

Happy Hour in Hell (Bobby Dollar book 2)
Bobby Dollar returns and the afterlife just ain’t getting any easier for our hero!
I’ve been a fan of Tad Williams’ work since I first picked up The Dragonbone Chair way back... More

Hardback edition
9th September 2013
Helpful? Upvote 12

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.