Happy Families (Paperback)
  • Happy Families (Paperback)
zoom

Happy Families (Paperback)

(author)
4 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 288 Pages / Published: 18/02/2021
  • In stock

UK delivery within 5 days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Waterstones Says

A charming, uplifting story revolving around three generations of a Chinese family in a Welsh city and the resentments, secrets and grudges that have come to define them – and how they must be overcome if harmony is to be restored.

Winner of the Richard & Judy Search for a Bestseller 2020, this refreshing and original debut is perfect for fans of The Rosie Project, Gavin & Stacey and The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry.

Three generations, two secrets, one extended family . . .

Amy is thirty-four and has just given up her glittering career in the big (Welsh) city to move back in with her grandfather, returning to work in the small-town Chinese takeaway where she spent her bookish and boring childhood. Why? That's a secret she won't tell.

Just like the secret of why her grandfather, Ah Goong, and her father, TC Li, haven't spoken to each other in thirty years. Weirder still, they've lived in the same small flat about the takeaway for the majority of those years, with Amy's mother Joan acting as their unfortunate go-between and buffer.

Now Amy's parents have moved, leaving her in charge of looking after the old man. But then Ah Goong collapses in the street and Amy realises time is running out if she wants to play happy families again . . .

Publisher: Welbeck Publishing Group
ISBN: 9781787396883
Number of pages: 288
Dimensions: 198 x 129 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'Fabulously, witty and warm - what a talent!' - Millie Johnson

'A rare find' - Richard Madeley

You may also be interested in...

How to Kill Your Family
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Great Circle
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo
Added to basket
The Paper Palace
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Klara and the Sun
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Man Who Died Twice
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Maidens
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Snow Country
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Book Lovers
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Song of Achilles
Added to basket
Before the Coffee Gets Cold
Added to basket
Matrix
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Silverview
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Malibu Rising
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Sorrow and Bliss
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“Charming Debut Novel”

An entertaining, fun read about three generations of a Chinese family who run a takeaway in a small town in Wales. Amy lives in the flat above the takeaway with her grandfather and in the course of the book we learn... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3

“Happy families by Julie Ma”

Happy Families by Julie Ma is a very entertaining and enjoyable debut read. It felt as if the characters lived down the road from where you grew up. They were the first Chinese family to live in that small Welch... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

“A family comedy-drama, full of twists!”

Amy moves her life from the big city, leaving her career as a doctor behind her, and heads back home to her small, sleepy hometown to live with her grandfather, and work in the family’s Chinese takeaway. The town of... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.