Happy Families (Paperback)
  • Happy Families (Paperback)
zoom

Happy Families (Paperback)

(author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 288 Pages / Published: 18/02/2021
  • 10+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Waterstones Says

A charming, uplifting story revolving around three generations of a Chinese family in a Welsh city and the resentments, secrets and grudges that have come to define them – and how they must be overcome if harmony is to be restored.

Winner of the Richard & Judy Search for a Bestseller 2020, this refreshing and original debut is perfect for fans of The Rosie Project, Gavin & Stacey and The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry.

Three generations, two secrets, one extended family . . .

Amy is thirty-four and has just given up her glittering career in the big (Welsh) city to move back in with her grandfather, returning to work in the small-town Chinese takeaway where she spent her bookish and boring childhood. Why? That's a secret she won't tell.

Just like the secret of why her grandfather, Ah Goong, and her father, TC Li, haven't spoken to each other in thirty years. Weirder still, they've lived in the same small flat about the takeaway for the majority of those years, with Amy's mother Joan acting as their unfortunate go-between and buffer.

Now Amy's parents have moved, leaving her in charge of looking after the old man. But then Ah Goong collapses in the street and Amy realises time is running out if she wants to play happy families again . . .

Publisher: Welbeck Publishing Group
ISBN: 9781787396883
Number of pages: 288
Dimensions: 198 x 129 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'Fabulously, witty and warm - what a talent!' - Millie Johnson

'A rare find' - Richard Madeley

You may also be interested in...

The Midnight Library
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Hamnet
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
Freed
Added to basket
£8.99   £4.49
Paperback
The Giver of Stars
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Girl with the Louding Voice
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Beautiful World, Where Are You
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
Hamnet
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
The Dark Remains
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
A Song for the Dark Times
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Agent Running in the Field
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Slow Fire Burning
Added to basket
£20.00   £17.99
Hardback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£14.99   £10.99
Hardback
Girl, Woman, Other
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Single Thread
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Midnight Library
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback

“A family comedy-drama, full of twists!”

Amy moves her life from the big city, leaving her career as a doctor behind her, and heads back home to her small, sleepy hometown to live with her grandfather, and work in the family’s Chinese takeaway. The town of... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

“Charming Debut Novel”

An entertaining, fun read about three generations of a Chinese family who run a takeaway in a small town in Wales. Amy lives in the flat above the takeaway with her grandfather and in the course of the book we learn... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.