Halfway (Paperback)
  • Halfway (Paperback)
zoom

Halfway (Paperback)

(author)
3 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 304 Pages / Published: 01/11/2018
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 10 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

Three women. One killer. No turning back.

A chilling thriller set in isolated Welsh countryside, perfect for fans of In the Woods by Tana French and The Chestnut Man by Soren Sveistrup.

The Halfway Inn is closed to customers, side-lined by a bypass and hidden deep in inhospitable countryside. One winter's night, two women end up knocking on the door, seeking refuge as a blizzard takes hold.

But why is the landlord less than pleased to see them? And what is his elderly father trying so hard to tell them?

At the local police station PC Lissa Lloyd is holding the fort while the rest of her team share in the rare excitement of a brutal murder at an isolated farmhouse. A dangerous fugitive is on the run - but how can Lissa make a name for herself if she's stuck at her desk? When a call comes in saying the local district nurse is missing, she jumps at the chance to investigate her disappearance.

The strangers at Halfway wait out the storm, but soon realise they might have been safer on the road. It seems not all the travellers will make it home for Christmas . . .
__________________________

What everyone's saying about Halfway:

'I absolutely loved this book which kept me hooked and desperate to read just one more page!'
Reader review, 5 stars

'SO twisty . . . very well written' Reader review

'Totally hooked!' Reader review

'A fast-paced, tension-filled, twisty read' Reader review

'One of the creepiest novels I have ever read . . . hooks you in and puts you on the edge of your seat' Reader review, 5 stars

'A chilling twist . . . a fantastic thriller' Reader review, 5 stars

'BEST CRIME NOVEL I'VE READ THIS YEAR!!!' Reader review, 5 stars

'A really gripping read . . . couldn't put it down' Reader review

'Stunning . . . the only book I can compare Halfway to is Gone Girl ' Reader review, 5 stars

'A twisty, thrilling ride' Reader review, 5 stars

'Mesmerising, irrestistible and full of suspense' Reader review, 5 stars

'A gripping, fast-paced thriller. . . I absolutely loved this' Reader review, 5 stars

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN: 9781472127914
Number of pages: 304
Weight: 210 g
Dimensions: 196 x 126 x 28 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Praise for B. E. Jones:
The perfect thriller for a long, cold November evening * Buzz *
Claustrophobic and infused with menace. B. E. Jones creates a sinister world of secrets, twists and revelations -- Alison Bruce
A fantastic read * My Weekly *
I got completely sucked in by this . . . If Rebecca had written Rebecca what you'd get is Where She Went. An irresistible voice, a unique predicament and a cast of characters that plays acid jazz on your heartstrings. Hard to take and impossible to look away -- Catriona McPherson
A dark murder mystery with an intriguing twist . . . If you enjoyed Sarah Pinborough's latest novel, Behind Her Eyes, then give this a try * Sci-Fi Bulletin *

You may also be interested in...

The Survivors
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Marlow Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Last House on Needless Street
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
As Good As Dead
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Better Off Dead
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Night Hawks
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Good Girl's Guide to Murder
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Good Girl, Bad Blood
Added to basket
Troubled Blood
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Better Off Dead
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
Turn a Blind Eye
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Transient Desires
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Dinner Guest
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Win
Added to basket
Win
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Anxious People
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Appeal
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
TripFiction

“Thriller set in SOUTH WALES just before Christmas”

This has been the #TFBookClub choice for November/December 2018

South Wales: Evidence of ancient occupation is etched all across the country, the long-abandoned first and the almost-echo of tramping feet, attempts at... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 15

“A slower paced read”

I read the synopsis for ‘Halfway’ and it certainly sounded like the perfect kind of read for a dark winter’s evening. I was curious to find out which direction the story was going to take and I couldn’t wait to start... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 11

“A slow burner”

The hitchhiker is running away from something and just wants to find a safe place, the law wants to make a name for herself and not be stuck uselessly behind her desk forever and the old man knows something is very... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 10

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.