Gretel and the Dark (Hardback)
  • Gretel and the Dark (Hardback)
zoom

Gretel and the Dark (Hardback)

(author)
£14.99
Hardback 368 Pages / Published: 06/02/2014
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket
Gretel and the Dark is Eliza Granville's dazzling novel of darkness, evil - and hope. For fans of Markus Zusak's The Book Thief and Guillermo del Toro's Pan's Labyrinth. Vienna, 1899. Josef Breuer - celebrated psychoanalyst - is about to encounter his strangest case yet. Found by the lunatic asylum, thin, head shaved, she claims to have no name, no feelings - to be, in fact, not even human. Intrigued, Breuer determines to fathom the roots of her disturbance. Years later, in Germany, we meet Krysta. Krysta's Papa is busy working in the infirmary with the 'animal people', so little Krysta plays alone, lost in the stories of Hansel and Gretel, the Pied Piper, and more. And when everything changes and the real world around her becomes as frightening as any fairy tale, Krysta finds that her imagination holds powers beyond what she could have ever guessed...Eliza Granville was born in Worcestershire and currently lives in France. She has had a life-long fascination with the enduring quality of fairytales and their symbolism, and the idea for Gretel and the Dark was sparked when she became interested in the emphasis placed on these stories during the Third Reich.

Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
ISBN: 9780241146453
Number of pages: 368
Weight: 446 g
Dimensions: 204 x 144 x 33 mm

You may also be interested in...

Beautiful World, Where Are You
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo
Added to basket
Hamnet
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Piranesi
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
One August Night
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Survivors
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Normal People
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
How to Kill Your Family
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
The Vanishing Half
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Song of Achilles
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.99
Paperback
Eight Detectives
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Trio
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Small Pleasures
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Man Who Died Twice
Added to basket
£18.99   £15.99
Hardback
Transient Desires
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“Grimm but good”

Gretel and the Dark totally threw me as a book. I was expecting sweetness and light with the promise of fairytales and was flung into a dark world full of mystery and intrigue. Although it wasn’t what I expected, I... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 62

“Gretel and the Dark”

I have mixed feelings about this novel. Firstly on a superficial note it is a beautifully presented book; I know they always say don't judge a book by it's cover but personally I think a gorgeously presented... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 52
Catriona at Waterstones Head Office

“Magical and haunting - I thought it was wonderful.”

‘Gretel and the Dark’ covers well-trodden ground - the atrocities of WW2 told through the eyes of a child. What makes this version different is that the innocence of the child narrating the story isn't quite as... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 42

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.