Green Dot (Hardback)
  • Green Dot (Hardback)
zoom

Green Dot (Hardback)

(author)
? RRP £18.99
£16.99
Save £2.00 (11%)
Hardback 384 Pages
Published: 01/02/2024
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

Perfect for fans of Fleabag and Bridget Jones' Diary, Gray's darkly comic debut centres on a doomed office romance and a bittersweet search of self-discovery.

Hera is in her mid-twenties, which seems young to everyone except people in their mid-twenties.

Since leaving school, she has been trying to kick and scream into existence a life she cares about, but with little success so far.

Until she meets Arthur.

He works with her, he is older than her, he is also married. But in her soulless office - the large cold room she feels destined to spend her life in - he is a source of much-needed sustenance.

And though Hera has previously dated women, she soon falls headlong into a workplace romance that will quickly consume her life.

Laugh-out-loud funny, deeply moving and whip smart, Green Dot is a story about the terrible allure of wanting something that promises nothing and the winding, torturous, often hilarious journey we take in deciding who we are and who we want to be.

Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
ISBN: 9781399612760
Number of pages: 384
Weight: 495 g
Dimensions: 220 x 144 x 36 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Brilliant. Riveting. Sharp. Funny. Dark. I want to give Green Dot all the adjectives but will content myself with saying it is one of the best books you will read all year - Elizabeth Day, author of MAGPIE

The intensity of Annie Ernaux's Simple Passion written with the lightness of Bridget Jones's Diary and the irreverence of Fleabag - Johanna Thomas-Corr, THE SUNDAY TIMES

So droll, bawdy, sexy, hilarious and good fun, everything you read thereafter seems dull in comparison - Anna Bonet, THE I PAPER

I wolfed Green Dot down over two nights. An incredibly funny book about a woman having an affair that's a really bad idea. Every sentence sparkles - Caitlin Moran

If you liked Fleabag you will love Green Dot - Pandora Sykes

What a treat. It's positively indecent that a book this funny should also be so moving and wise and well-observed. Everything I read after finishing it felt a bit anaemic in comparison. Every sentence is a joy - Rebecca Wait, author of I'M SORRY YOU FEEL THAT WAY

One of the most buzzed-about books for 2024 is Green Dot and it's a gulp of a read thanks to Gray's fizzing protagonist, Hera . . . Hera's longing, hope and pop culture references (everything from The Wire to Rupi Kaur and British pub opening times are used for proper laughs) make it one of the most entertaining reads we've had in a long time - Francesca Brown, STYLIST Unmissable Fiction for 2024

This book! What a gutting, funny, smart, smart, smart book it is, one that I absolutely inhaled while almost constantly emotionally bracing myself. Madeleine Gray is a hilarious, humane, and highly perceptive writer - Claire Lombardo, author of THE MOST FUN WE EVER HAD

Hilarious and heartbreaking, Green Dot might just be the debut of the year. It's the type of book you can devour in no time - Anna Bonet, THE I PAPER, What To Read in 2024

As funny as it is bleak, Green Dot is a compulsive read that grapples with the quest for meaning and happiness in our fractured world. Madeleine Gray's luminous debut echoes the canon of literature centred around affairs whilst achieving something completely fresh and asking questions that will stay with readers in the same way her protagonist Hera's voice is sure to do - Kate Sawyer, author of THE STRANDING

Just brilliant. Hilarious and sexy but so wise about the human heart, too. Witty as Fleabag, psychologically insightful as Sally Rooney - everyone will be talking about Green Dot - Lucie Whitehouse, author of LAST WITNESS

Excruciatingly brilliant. I snorted with laughter and winced in recognition. So painfully, sharply true - this is without a doubt the best book about an affair I've read, and I'm including Graham Greene in that - Emma Hughes, author of NO SUCH THING IS PERFECT

This year's Sorrow And Bliss . . . a hilarious and heartbreaking story about a young woman's affair with an older colleague - Sara Lawrence, DAILY MAIL Best Fiction of 2024

The hype around Australian author Madeleine Gray is hard to ignore, with writers from Caitlin Moran to Elizabeth Day earmarking this brilliantly funny and observant debut as a must-read - Sarra Manning, RED MAGAZINE, Dazzling Debuts for 2024

Madeleine Gray's brilliantly sharp Green Dot wrenchingly captures what so many of us yearn for: to be loved in the eyes of another for who we are . . . a book so hilariously real and devastating, you'll never stop hoping (or reading) - Jennifer McShane, IMAGE MAGAZINE

Is there anything more deeply cursed than being a woman in your 20s? Novelists have been mining this period of life for years, but few get it as well as Madeleine Gray . . . Staggeringly good and wickedly funny - The Saturday Paper

Madeleine Gray takes a scalpel to millennial malaise, office romance, and infidelity, and the result is a brainy, gutsy, nervy - and hilarious - wonder of a novel - Meg Howrey, author of THEY'RE GOING TO LOVE YOU

A gripping read that's smart, funny and highly relatable - Libby Page, author of THE LIDO

I am obsessed with this book. I am obsessed with Hera, with her dad, her friends, her dog. I am obsessed with how funny she is, and how hopeful and dark and tender and bleak the world is through her eyes. Green Dot is a book about love, and how stupid and funny and absolutely beautiful life can be - Laura McPhee-Browne, author of LITTLE PLUM

Fresh and funny - IRISH TIMES, 2024 Preview

Green Dot is sentence by sentence perfection. Razor sharp, hilarious, clever, and devastatingly honest, this is going to the book everyone will be talking about in 2024 - Louise O’Neill, author of IDOL

A novel everyone will be talking about . . . Messy 20-something love from a witty new voice - GRAZIA, Best Novels of 2024

A hilarious novel about falling in love with someone you really shouldn't . . . I raced through it with increasing delight . . . Sharp and wise - Sara Lawrence, DAILY MAIL

Full of incredibly sharp sentences and darkly comic moments - Clare Thorp, BBC CULTURE

Green Dot is for anyone who has fallen for the wrong person, remained in a relationship that is hurting them, witnessed a close friend going through that, or has simply made mistakes . . . It is so droll, bawdy, sexy, hilarious and good fun, everything you read thereafter seems dull in comparison - the i paper

Wildly funny . . . Fans of Fleabag will adore Green Dot - Sarra Manning, RED MAGAZINE

Darkly funny . . . Gray's writing is witty and sharp and 24-year-old Hera is a character you'll root for - Jo Finney, GOOD HOUSEKEEPING

Funny, whip-smart, and unbearably realistic, Gray nails the angst of being young, directionless, and desperate for an emotional anchor. You'll tear through the pages, judging Hera's decisions, and wi11ing her to recognise her value, before realising you've had green dot moments of your own. Genius - Kay Ribeiro, HEAT MAGAZINE, Book of the Week

Full of sharply penned scenes that fans of Fleabag will love . . . In Green Dot there are no outright villains, nor is anyone 100% angelic - and it's that skill in layered characterisation that will have you riveted until the final page - Amanda Willard, PRESS ASSOCIATION

An acutely witty debut . . . Green Dot's potency lies in its narrator's distinctive voice, ruthless self-scrutiny and droll observations on the absurdities of young adult life . . . Gray brilliantly satirises the indignities of office life on the bottom rung . . . Although ironic and flippant, Green Dot avoids nihilism, and is ultimately about the search for meaning through love - Madeleine Feeny, GUARDIAN

If you're a fan of Fleabag you will love this - COSMOPOLITAN

One of the must-reads of 2024 . . . swaggering, laugh-out-loud and moving - Francesca Brown, STYLIST MAGAZINE

A sure-fire bestseller. . . deeply moving but hilarious - HELLO! MAGAZINE

Gray paints Hera with strokes of authenticity that make it almost impossible not to connect with her. She captures that tricky period between university and the start of grown-up life perfectly . . . I inhaled this book in one weekend - Lorraine Courtney, SUNDAY INDEPENDENT

Green Dot is an irresistible story about the skin-crawlingly bad decisions many of us make in the name of love. Scorchingly smart and readable - Edel Coffey, IRISH TIMES THE GLOSS MAGAZINE

A droll coming-of-age story that explores what we're really looking for when we fall for the wrong person - Hephzibah Anderson, MAIL ON SUNDAY

Impressive . . . As the story unfolds, what begins as a laugh-out-loud observation of office politics, slowly gives way to a deeply poignant and, at times, heartbreakingly detailed journey of messy self-discovery. The layered characterisation that will have you riveted - DAILY MIRROR

Like a Gen Z Bridget Jones... A sparky, snarky, sassy debut novel. - Erica Davies

Piccadilly Bookseller Book Clubs

Piccadilly Bookseller Book Clubs

London - Piccadilly
Tuesday 2nd April 18:00

Join us on the first Tuesday of every month to chat with our expert booksellers about their favourite books, both old and new.

View

You may also be interested in...

I Will Find You
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Cloisters
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Prophet Song
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Before the Coffee Gets Cold
Added to basket
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
We Solve Murders
Added to basket
£22.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Black Bird Oracle
Added to basket
Babel
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Really Good, Actually
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Marriage Portrait
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Birnam Wood
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Bullet That Missed
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Demon Copperhead
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Small Things Like These
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
In The Blink of An Eye
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback

“A devastatingly good debut novel filled with guts, tenderness and wit”

I adored "Green Dot" by Madeleine Gray and from the opening pages I was trotting along at Hera's side, hanging on her every word. Watching her fall headlong into a deeply flawed and totally inadvisable... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 4

“A brilliant debut from Madeleine Gray!”

I gobbled this down in a couple of days! An unhinged, hot mess, sharp witty page-turner with insufferable irritating characters. They pull you in and make you hate them in equal measure. An engaging hilarious read!

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 4

“Funny yet moving read”

This book was not what I thought it would be, it was so much better! It takes you through the emotions of 24 year old Hera who doesn’t have the best outlook on life or work, but then finds herself wanting something... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 4

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: