Ts&Cs
apply
Greek Myths: A New Retelling, with drawings by Chris Ofili (Hardback)
  • Greek Myths: A New Retelling, with drawings by Chris Ofili (Hardback)
  • Greek Myths: A New Retelling, with drawings by Chris Ofili (Hardback)
  • Greek Myths: A New Retelling, with drawings by Chris Ofili (Hardback)
  • Greek Myths: A New Retelling, with drawings by Chris Ofili (Hardback)
  • Greek Myths: A New Retelling, with drawings by Chris Ofili (Hardback)
zoom
Greek Myths: A New Retelling, with drawings by Chris Ofili (Hardback) Greek Myths: A New Retelling, with drawings by Chris Ofili (Hardback) Greek Myths: A New Retelling, with drawings by Chris Ofili (Hardback) Greek Myths: A New Retelling, with drawings by Chris Ofili (Hardback)

Greek Myths: A New Retelling, with drawings by Chris Ofili (Hardback)

(author), (illustrator)
4 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£20.00
Hardback 336 Pages / Published: 09/09/2021
  • 10+ in stock

UK delivery within 1 week

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Waterstones Says

Placing female characters at the heart of the action, Higgins deftly recasts the seminal Greek myths as highly relevant narratives for our own age of catastrophe and confusion.

Shortlisted for the Waterstones Book of the Year 2021

In this spellbinding new collection, Charlotte Higgins reinterprets some of the most enduring stories of all time.

Here are myths of the creation, of Heracles and Theseus and Perseus, the Trojan war and its origins and aftermaths, tales of Thebes and Argos and Athens. There are stories of love and desire, adventure and magic, destructive gods, helpless humans, fantastical creatures, resourceful witches and the origins of birds and animals.This is a world of extremes, and one that resonates deeply with our own: mysterious diseases devastate cities; environmental disasters tear lives apart; women habitually suffer violence at the hands of men.

Unlike in many previous collected myths, female characters take centre stage - Athena, Helen, Circe, Penelope and others weave these stories into elaborate imagined tapestries. In Charlotte Higgins's thrilling new interpretation, their tales combine to form a dazzling, sweeping epic of storytelling, and a magnificent work of scholarship and imagination.

With a series of original drawings by Chris Ofili.

Publisher: Vintage Publishing
ISBN: 9781787331655
Number of pages: 336
Weight: 950 g
Dimensions: 243 x 165 x 32 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'A gritty and exhilarating new version of the ancient stories in which the female characters take centre stage.' - Katy Guest, Guardian

'[A] scholarly, capacious reimagining... Higgins makes you feel for these tormented, accursed mortals afresh.' - Claire Allfree, The Times

'We are in the hands of a fine, fluent storyteller... Higgins, like the bards who first unspooled these tales, creates the illusion of spontaneity and handles suspense brilliantly... Chris Ofili's drawings complement the lyricism of the prose descriptions. Higgins depicts art mediating life - the reason, I think, that we read books... I loved this book.' - Sara Wheeler, Spectator

'Charlotte Higgins captures the raw, magical originality of the Greek myths in this beguiling book, charmingly illustrated by Chris Ofili... She knows her classics - and her myths - inside out.' - Harry Mount, Catholic Herald

'Higgins invests the tales with surprising new meanings... The command of Higgins herself, as the master weaver of myths, emerges forcefully... Ancient myths here acquire compelling modern form.' - Booklist

You may also be interested in...

Babel
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
Lessons in Chemistry
Added to basket
Act of Oblivion
Added to basket
£22.00   £11.00
Hardback
No Plan B
Added to basket
£22.00   £11.00
Hardback
The Ink Black Heart
Added to basket
£25.00   £12.50
Hardback
Mad Honey
Added to basket
£16.99   £8.49
Hardback
The Fall of Numenor
Added to basket
£25.00   £21.99
Hardback
Marple: Twelve New Stories
Added to basket
£20.00   £17.99
Hardback
Young Mungo
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
Legends & Lattes
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
She and her Cat
Added to basket
£10.00
Hardback
The Atlas Paradox
Added to basket
£18.99   £16.99
Hardback
The Seven Moons of Maali Almeida
Added to basket
Fairy Tale
Added to basket
£22.00   £17.99
Hardback
Lessons
Added to basket
£20.00   £17.99
Hardback
Shrines of Gaiety
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Passenger
Added to basket
£20.00   £17.99
Hardback
The Rabbit Hutch
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback

“A fresh and intricately woven volume of mythology”

This is an exquisite volume of Ancient Greek mythology, woven together in a fresh and enticing structure that lends a clarity to the mythos’s chronology which can sometimes pass us by. Beginning with Athena literally... More

Hardback edition
1 similar book recommended
Helpful? Upvote 30

“Athena Would Be in Awe!”

For fans of Madeline Miller and Pat Barker, Charlotte Higgins' Greek Myth is clearly a labour of love. It retells the stories we know through the women of Greek mythology in prose that is woven so beautifully... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 22

“Glorious retelling”

Beautifully woven retelling of the greek myths. Higgins gives equal love to the lesser known myths as well as the legendary ones, weaving them together through the narrative of the women in those stories.
We visit... More

Hardback edition
2 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 20

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.