Your Waterstones card is changing, introducing...
TELL ME MORE
Great Houses of New England (Hardback)
  • Great Houses of New England (Hardback)
zoom

Great Houses of New England (Hardback)

(photographer), (author of text)
£12.50
Hardback 256 Pages / Published: 22/05/2014
  • Publisher out of stock

Currently unavailable to order

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket
In the tradition of Rizzoli's Historic Houses of the Hudson Valley and The Houses of McKim, Mead & White, Great Houses of New England features a stunning array of newly photographed houses that range over four centuries and are distinctive examples of the architecture of the region--from the mid-seventeenth-century New England Colonial Judge Corwin House (Witches House) in Salem, MA., and the eighteenth-century Jeremiah Lee Mansion in Marblehead, MA., to the late-nineteenth-century McKim, Mead & White Shingle-Style Isaac Bell House in Newport, R.I. With lavish photography of sumptuously appointed interiors including many rarely seen rooms, wonderfully detailed house exteriors and gardens, and authoritative text by architectural historian Roderic H. Blackburn, Great Houses of New England comprehensively considers the magnificent building styles of the region--including Early New England Colonial, Georgian, Federal, Greek Revival, Gothic Revival, Italianate, Shingle Style, Colonial Revival, and Tudor. Great Houses of New England is a landmark work of enduring interest to homeowners, architects, architecture historians, and all those who love fine architecture and interiors.

Publisher: Rizzoli International Publications
ISBN: 9780789327192
Number of pages: 256
Weight: 1778 g
Dimensions: 279 x 241 x 38 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

"Photos capture magnificent details, colors, and gardens--an archive of design evolution." Arts & Crafts Homes

"Lush estates, tall ceilings, grand staircases and intricately designed entranceways and fireplace surrounds are among the many elements of the grand old homes featured in this hefty book." Newsday

"Centuries of fine house-building from Portsmouth and Newport to Hartford....Photos show the magnificent details, colors, and gardens." Old House Interiors

"With striking photography and enlightening text, Blackburn and Gross fuse a history of the Northeast as intricate as a stained glass window." Newport Life Magazine

You may also be interested in...

Antony Gormley
Added to basket
Bruce Springsteen 1973-1986
Added to basket
Mosques
Added to basket
£55.00
Hardback
The Smiths
Added to basket
£30.00
Hardback
The Power of Pattern
Added to basket
The Seaside House
Added to basket
Watches International XVII
Added to basket
Cecil Beaton at Home
Added to basket
Nina Campbell Interior Decoration
Added to basket
Rankin
Added to basket
£45.00
Hardback
Cherry Blossoms
Added to basket
£13.95
Hardback
Picasso
Added to basket
£75.00
Paperback
#girlgaze
Added to basket
£25.00
Hardback
Highland Retreats
Added to basket
£45.00
Hardback
I Actually Wore This
Added to basket

Reviews

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.