Visit our Christmas Gift Finder
Great Bales of Fire: More Tales of a Country Fireman (Paperback)
  • Great Bales of Fire: More Tales of a Country Fireman (Paperback)
zoom

Great Bales of Fire: More Tales of a Country Fireman (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99
Paperback 256 Pages / Published: 06/02/2014
  • We can order this

Usually dispatched within 2 weeks

  • This item has been added to your basket

More tales of a country fireman, from the author of ALL FIRED UP. Perfect for fans of Heartbeat or Last of the Summer Wine.

It's the early 1980s and rookie fireman Malcolm Castle is set to take on the biggest challenge of his life. After three years bouncing around in the back of the country fire-engine, he's about to start driving it! At just 22-years-old - less than half the age of many of his colleagues - he's set to thunder through the narrow streets of one of England's most beautiful medieval towns and speed out across the glorious Shropshire countryside.

But while his responsibilities are changing fast, almost everything else in Malcolm's life stays the same. Despite facing his fair share of car accidents, house and farm fires, he still seems to spend an awful lot of time answering a string of unlikely and unexpected emergency calls. He rescues shortsighted dogs from frozen lakes, newborn lambs from flooded golf-courses, a pair of angry cows from a busy dual carriageway - and even a hot-footed hamster from a burning cage. Backed up by a heartwarming cast of fellow firemen, Malcolm's enthusiasm for his job and his life are as infectious as ever. So whether it is cats up trees or trees on cars, follow Malcolm as he takes to the wheel for another crazy year in the country fire brigade.

Told with the same gentle humour as his first book, ALL FIRED UP, and full of even more extraordinary real-life anecdotes, Shropshire's longest-serving fireman is back - a little older, a little wiser, and even more convinced he has the best job in the world.

Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
ISBN: 9781409108900
Number of pages: 256
Dimensions: 196 x 132 x 21 mm
Edition: Digital original

You may also be interested in...

A History of the World in 21 Women
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
The Little Book of Bob
Added to basket
Leon and June: Our Story
Added to basket
£16.99   £12.99
Hardback
Elon Musk
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
A Friend for Christmas
Added to basket
Talking with Serial Killers
Added to basket
Calypso
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
Testament Of Youth
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
Life in the Garden
Added to basket
Red Notice
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Mad, Bad, Dangerous to Know
Added to basket
Kitchen Confidential
Added to basket
£10.99   £9.99
Paperback
In Extremis
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Bernard Who?
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
A Better Me
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.