Gracefully Insane: The Rise and Fall of America's Premier Mental Hospital (Paperback)
  • Gracefully Insane: The Rise and Fall of America's Premier Mental Hospital (Paperback)
zoom

Gracefully Insane: The Rise and Fall of America's Premier Mental Hospital (Paperback)

(author)
£10.99
Paperback 296 Pages / Published: 07/01/2003
  • We can order this

Usually dispatched within 3 weeks

  • This item has been added to your basket
Its landscaped ground, chosen by Frederick Law Olmsted and dotted with Tudor mansions, could belong to a New England prep school. There are no fences, no guards, no locked gates. But McLean Hospital is a mental institution-one of the most famous, most elite, and once most luxurious in America. McLean "alumni" include Olmsted himself, Robert Lowell, Sylvia Plath, James Taylor and Ray Charles, as well as (more secretly) other notables from among the rich and famous. In its "golden age," McLean provided as genteel an environment for the treatment of mental illness as one could imagine. But the golden age is over, and a downsized, downscale McLean-despite its affiliation with Harvard University-is struggling to stay afloat. Gracefully Insane , by Boston Globe columnist Alex Beam, is a fascinating and emotional biography of McLean Hospital from its founding in 1817 through today. It is filled with stories about patients and doctors: the Ralph Waldo Emerson protege whose brilliance disappeared along with his madness Anne Sexton's poetry seminar, and many more. The story of McLean is also the story of the hopes and failures of psychology and psychotherapy of the evolution of attitudes about mental illness, of approaches to treatment, and of the economic pressures that are making McLean-and other institutions like it-relics of a bygone age. This is a compelling and often oddly poignant reading for fans of books like Plath's The Bell Jar and Susanna Kaysen's Girl, Interrupted (both inspired by their author's stays at McLean) and for anyone interested in the history of medicine or psychotherapy, or the social history of New England.

Publisher: INGRAM PUBLISHER SERVICES US
ISBN: 9781586481612
Number of pages: 296
Weight: 354 g
Dimensions: 141 x 208 x 18 mm

You may also be interested in...

Level 2 Health & Social Care Diploma
Added to basket
Schizophrenia: A Very Short Introduction
Added to basket
Oxford Handbook of Clinical Diagnosis
Added to basket
£29.99
Part-work (fascículo)
Asylums
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
NHS SOS
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Inconvenient People
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
Contented Dementia
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
Oxford Handbook of Public Health Practice
Added to basket
Making Health Policy
Added to basket
£28.99
Paperback
The Hospitals of Nairn
Added to basket

Reviews

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.