Glassheart (Paperback)
  • Glassheart (Paperback)
zoom

Glassheart (Paperback)

(author)
7 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£7.99
Paperback 336 Pages
Published: 05/11/2020
  • In stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

A bewitching adventure set in the wilds of post-war Dartmoor, Orton’s tale of powerful magic and sinister folklore is perfect reading for fans of Catherine Doyle and Abi Elphinstone.

Through the glass, the magic is waiting...

Nona and her uncle travel everywhere together, replacing stained-glass windows in war-torn buildings. When a mysterious commission takes them to the lonely moors of Dartmoor, Nona discovers a wild and powerful magic which threatens everything. Can Nona protect those she loves - even if it means fighting darkness itself?

An enchanting magical adventure set in the wild moors of Dartmoor - the second middle-grade novel from the bestselling author of Nevertell; beautifully imaginative a rich adventure about determination, courage and the power of love, set in the aftermath of World War Two. Perfect for fans of Abi Elphinstone, Sophie Anderson and Catherine Doyle.

Publisher: Walker Books Ltd
ISBN: 9781406385236
Number of pages: 336
Weight: 234 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 20 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Featured in The Bookseller's November Previews. - Fiona Noble, The Bookseller

Rich and atmospheric, Glassheart feels like a long-lost folktale brimming with ghostly magic. - Jennifer Bell

A masterfully written story surging with powerful energy, as brilliant as the finest stained glass. Nona is a heroine you'll never forget. - Sinéad O'Hart

Shatteringly good. Katharine Orton writes about history as someone who understands it, and about magic as though she could probably do it. - Nick Tomlinson

Glassheart shimmers with magic and adventure ... A story that left a sparkling splinter in my soul. - Damaris Young

You may also be interested in...

A Good Girl's Guide to Murder
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Heartstopper Volume 5
Added to basket
£12.99   £10.99
Paperback
Impossible Creatures
Added to basket
The Blunders
Added to basket
£14.99   £11.99
Hardback
Dinosaur Club: On the Trail of a T. rex.
Added to basket
If Only I Had Told Her
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Charlie McGrew & The Horse That He Drew
Added to basket
Wonka
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Divine Rivals
Added to basket
£16.99   £13.99
Hardback
Paper Dragons: The Fight for the Hidden Realm
Added to basket
If He Had Been with Me
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Greg the Sausage Roll: Lunchbox Superhero
Added to basket
InvestiGators: High-Rise Hijinks
Added to basket

“A tale you won't wish to ever end”

The summary of Glassheart was what initially drew me to the book - mixing the very real fallout of the World War II with magic, ong with the stunning cover artwork. 'They' say don't judge a book by its... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 6

“This was a really sweet and magical middle grade set in the aftermath of World War 2”

*I would like to thank Netgalley and the author for providing me with an eARC in exchange for an honest review*

This was a really sweet and magical middle grade set in the aftermath of World War 2. It follows our... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 5

“An evocative, dreamlike story”

Nona's family was killed in the Blitz and now she lives with Uncle Antoni, who makes stained-glass windows. But when Antoni takes up a commission in a mysterious church in the middle of Dartmoor, Nona is swept... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 5

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: