Glass (Hardback)
  • Glass (Hardback)
zoom

Glass (Hardback)

(author)
£12.99
Hardback 240 Pages / Published: 12/02/2015
  • In stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Glass is pure. Glass is transparent. Glass is sharp. Gunter Glass, ex-milkman and aspiring window-cleaner, is certainly pure. And he's pretty transparent. But the jury's still out on how sharp he is. What naive young Gunter does have is a head for heights and, ever since he visited a glassblower's workshop as a child, an unusual fixation with glass. When a minor adventure up the spire of Salisbury Cathedral makes Gunter a local celebrity, John Blades - window-cleaner to the stars - comes calling. He wants Gunter to join him in London to clean Europe's tallest skyscraper, the newly constructed Shard in London Bridge. With his mother recently passed away, his dad retired and no money to pay off the mortgage, Gunter takes Blades up on his offer and soon finds himself, for the first time, among the bright lights of London. He has his first experience of romantic love with short-range psychic Lieve Toureau, tries not to encourage Blades' frequent racist outbursts, and cohabits a Hackney 'bachelor-pad' with a reclusive landlord who has spent decades writing a never-ending book in his cork-lined bedroom. But above all, Gunter spends his time trying to figure out how to be good and follow his dear departed mother's advice as best he can. Will Gunter find his way along the straight and narrow? Or will his innocence put him on collision course with the frequently baffling modern world?

Publisher: Profile Books Ltd
ISBN: 9781846689673
Number of pages: 240
Weight: 414 g
Dimensions: 222 x 144 x 27 mm
Edition: Main


MEDIA REVIEWS
A rare novel ... rollicking -- Josephine Livingstone * Dazed & Confused *
Christofi's debut novel is both charming and funny, and not a little affecting, too ... there's enough here to show you the author has plenty more to offer and that, like his hero, he definitely has his heart in the right place. * Daily Mail *
This first novel makes me want to use words like "sparkling", "sharp", "translucent" - not surprising, since it is about glass and one man's obsession with it ... Christofi's writing really does gleam with wit, inventiveness and an offbeat charm. -- Kate Saunders * The Times *
Eccentricity ... alongside raw emotion ... a promising debut from an intriguing new voice. * We Love This Book *
It's a tale about growing up, one that's as funny as it is touching. A talent to keep an eye on. * Shortlist *
A confident and frequently adroit first novel ... enjoyably mercurial and quixotic * Morning Star *
Charming, quirky, unexpected ... Christofi is a writer to watch. Witty and incredibly inventive. * Saga *
[An] impressive, tightly paced coming-of-age story ... Armed with a holster of toxic cleaning products and a simple desire to become a better window cleaner, Gunter is part James Bond, part Everyman. Christofi delivers a multi-layered story that follows one man's refracted path through life's prism. -- Zoe Apostolides * Financial Times *
Entertaining and affecting -- Russell Leadbetter * Herald Scotland *
By far the most fun I've had with a British debut novel since Ned Beauman's Boxer, Beetle ... The comedic, mock-picaresque approach should appeal to fans of Beauman, Joshua Ferris, Matthew Quick, or even the Channel 4 sitcom Friday Night Dinner ... With a first novel this good, great things are surely in store for Alex Christofi. I daresay you'll take Gunter Glass to your heart and follow his misadventures with rapt amusement. -- Rebecca Foster * BookHugger *
A moving, funny coming-of-age tale -- Max Wallis * Independent *
A debut novel it may be, but Alex Christofi's opening salvo is a confident, swaggering entrance into the literary world ... Skilfully swinging from brilliantly funny to dark morbidity, Christofi deisplays considerable mastery of his craft ... An accomplished opening effort from a writer well worth keeping an eye on. -- Colm O'Regan * Hot Press *
A thoughtful, comic look at an ordinary life lived well -- Jenn Ashworth * Guardian *

You may also be interested in...

Utopia Avenue
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Hamnet
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Klara and the Sun
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Sweet Sweet Revenge Ltd.
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Small Pleasures
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Midnight Library
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Because of You
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Beekeeper of Aleppo
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Shuggie Bain
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Grown Ups
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Dinner Guest
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Song of Achilles
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.99
Paperback
The Darkest Evening
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Home Stretch
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Vanishing Half
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.