Find your perfect holiday reading
Glass Town (Hardback)
  • Glass Town (Hardback)
zoom

Glass Town (Hardback)

(author)
£20.00
Hardback Published: 01/01/2018
  • We can order this

Usually dispatched within 1 week

  • This item has been added to your basket
Steven Savile has been an international sensation, selling over half a million copies of his novels worldwide and writing for cult favourite television shows including Doctor Who, Torchwood, and Stargate. Now, he is finally making his US debut with Glass Town, a brilliantly composed novel revolving around the magic and mystery lurking in London. In 1926, two brothers both loved Eleanor Raines, a promising young actress from the East End of London. But, along with Seth Lockwood, she disappeared, never to be seen again. Isaiah, Seth's younger brother, refused to accept that she was just gone. It has been seventy years since and the brothers are long dead. But now their dark, twisted secret threatens to tear the city apart. Seth made a bargain with Damiola, an illusionist, to make a life size version of his most famous trick and hide away part of London to act as a prison out of sync with our time, where one year passes as one hundred. That illusion is Glass Town. And now its walls are failing. Reminiscent of Clive Barker's Weaveworld and Neil Gaiman's American Gods, Savile brings out the magic in the everyday. Glass Town is full of gritty urban landscapes, realistic characters, conflict, secrets, betrayals, magic, and mystery.

Publisher: St Martin's Press
ISBN: 9781250077837
Dimensions: 210 x 140 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Praise for Glass Town

"Perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman's Neverwhere or Clive Barker, Savile's highly original story is an extremely engaging, fast-paced read." --Booklist

"Compelling... Unusual and perhaps reminiscent of Clive Barker's Weaverworld." --Historical Novel Society

"With a vivid London setting and a tantalizing dose of cinematic history (including Alfred Hitchcock's lost directorial debut), this dark fantasy should appeal to fans of Neil Gaimain." --Library Journal

"Steven Savile's U.S. debut combines modern urban fantasy sensibilities with a richly rendered portrayal of 1920s London. Savile's time spent writing science fiction television mainstays, Torchwood and Doctor Who translates well to the novel format, imbuing the story with interesting characters and a compelling mystery." --Romantic Times Book Reviews (4 stars)

"Savile, whether delivering for the screenor books, always delivers." --Suspense Magazine

"Bursting with imagination, Steven Savile's Glass Town is a twisted, breathless unraveling of inter-generational magic and mystery. With its intrigue twined around early film studios, romantic obsession, and the dark secrets of London, it's a book that feels written just for me. I loved it!" --Christopher Golden, New York Times bestselling author of Ararat and Snowblind

"A luminescent love letter to London, the movies, and the darker corners of the human heart." --Michael Marshall Smith, New York Times and international bestselling author of Straw Men

"Steven Savile has the gift of making the unbelievable completely believable, and leading you willingly into an illusory world that you can touch, feel and smell...but can you trust?" --Graham Masterton, Edgar Award and Bram Stoker Award-winner

"Glass Town is a mind-bending, devious and thoroughly entertaining thriller! Steven Savile brings serious game and leaves the reader breathless. Highly recommended!" --Jonathan Maberry, New York Times bestselling author of Dogs of War and Patient Zero

"A beautifully rendered tale of magic, family, and dark secrets set against the backdrop of London that may or may not exist in the real world, Steven Savile's Glass Town is the novel everyone will be talking about come December. This gem is not to be missed!" --Ronald Malfi, Bram Stoker Award nominee

"There are killer ideas at work in this cleverly plotted, relentlessly inventive supernatural thriller that evokes the best of Clive Barker or Ramsey Campbell. Highly recommended." --Alan Baxter, author of the Alex Caine series and Crow Shine

"Fans of Clive Barker will eat this up and idolize Savile's new breed of monsters." --Weston Ochse, author of the award-winning SEAL Team 666 series

"Steven Savile has always been a name to watch, but with Glass Town I think I can safely say we've seen a gigantic leap forward in the writing style of a writer I already admired. Glass Town is filled with realistic, fully fleshed characters to love, and hate and with fantastic creations that will both delight and horrify. An absolute triumph of a novel from one of the new masters of the modern fantasy!" --James A. Moore, author of the Seven Forges and Tides of War series

"In Glass Town, Steven Savile brilliantly creates an alternate reality that impinges chillingly upon our own. Old and new magicks blend in eerily rendered present and past Londons populated by magicians, old school criminals, legendary actresses, and crooked cops. The fantastic elements are engaging, the horrific scenes terrifying. You'll never again be able to watch the films of a certain classic comedy team without feeling a shiver. It's about time the US became aware of Savile, and this is the perfect novel to introduce him to our shores." --Chet Williamson, Edgar Award nominated author of Pyscho: Sanitarium, the official sequel to Robert Bloch's Psycho

"Here's a story ripped from ancient fragile celluloid: a tale told in harsh chiaroscuro, where ghost-women step judderingly from zoetropes to suck you dry and dogs in negative will drain you. It's all about light and shadow, and the lenses that make stories out of such stuff; it's about a lost movie, lost time, lost streets, a lost actress. A family torn apart through generations by a single obsession. Passion in monochrome, suffering in colour." --Chaz Brenchley, award-winning author of Bitter Waters

Praise for Steven Savile's previous books:

"Stories of loss and punishment, but even at his darkest Savile has a flair for finding beauty in the macabre, using usually-subtle horror to deliver a succession of poignant insights into love and humanity....striking and moving..." --The Guardian (UK) on Time's Mistress

"One of the most seriously creepy pieces it has been my pleasure to read in a long time." --Charles de Lint on Remember Me Yesterday

"The mix of history, suspense, and action in Silver perfect for those DaVinci Code fans looking for another electrifying read combining Biblical history with modern-day Armageddon." --Douglas Preston, New York Times bestselling author of Impact and Blasphemy

"With Silver, Steven Savile delivers a barn storming tale of action, intrigue and suspense in a plot laced with ancient secrets and modern terror." --Matt Hilton, author of the Joe Hunter thrillers

"Savile's in a league of his own" --Jeremy Duns, author of Free Agent and Free Country on Silver

"Reminiscent of James Rollins and David Morrell." --Joseph Nassise, international bestselling author of the Templar Chronicles on Silver

"Fascinating, gripping, horrific, tragic and compelling." --Steve Alten, New York Times bestselling author of Meg and The Shell Game on Silver

"An intricately plotted tapestry of deceit, Parallel Lines is one darkly twisted thriller." --CJ Lyons, New York Times bestselling author of Blind Faith on Parallel Lines

"Savile doesn't even need to dig deep to produce material this dark, this deadly." --Paul Finch, bestselling author of Stalkers on Parallel Lines

"A work of genius a tightly plotted, edge-of-your-seat thriller." --Karen Dionne, author of The Marsh King's Daughter on Parallel Lines

"Ingenious, crafty and compelling. A great entertainment with no punches pulled." --Stephen Gallagher, creator of Crusoe, Eleventh Hour and The Forgotten television shows on Parallel Lines

You may also be interested in...

The Handmaid's Tale
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Testament of Loki
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince
Added to basket
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows
Added to basket
Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix
Added to basket
A Game of Thrones (Reissue)
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
VOX
Added to basket
VOX
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Early Riser
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The October Man
Added to basket
£12.99   £10.99
Hardback
Norse Mythology
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
13 Minutes
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Good Omens
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone
Added to basket
The Last Wish
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Girl in Red
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Power
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.