Girlhood (Paperback)
  • Girlhood (Paperback)
zoom

Girlhood (Paperback)

(author)
5 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£7.99
Paperback 384 Pages
Published: 04/05/2017
  • In stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

Real, compulsive and intense: Cat Clarke is the queen of emotional suspense. For fans of Jandy Nelson, Paula Hawkins, and Megan Abbott.

'Emotive, creepy AND funny. A quality page-turner' SARAH CROSSAN

'A new Cat Clarke novel is always something to celebrate and Girlhood could be her best yet' JUNO DAWSON

Harper has tried to forget the past and fit in at expensive boarding school Duncraggan Academy. Her new group of friends are tight; the kind of girls who Harper knows have her back. But Harper can't escape the guilt of her twin sister's Jenna's death, and her own part in it - and she knows noone else will ever really understand.

But new girl Kirsty seems to get Harper in ways she never expected. She has lost a sister too. Harper finally feels secure. She finally feels...loved. As if she can grow beyond the person she was when Jenna died.

Then Kirsty's behaviour becomes more erratic. Why is her life a perfect mirror of Harper's? And why is she so obsessed with Harper's lost sister? Soon, Harper's closeness with Kirsty begins to threaten her other relationships, and her own sense of identity.

How can Harper get back to the person she wants to be, and to the girls who mean the most to her?

A darkly compulsive story about love, death, and growing up under the shadow of grief.

Publisher: Hachette Children's Group
ISBN: 9781784292737
Number of pages: 384
Weight: 244 g
Dimensions: 197 x 140 x 25 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

A new Cat Clarke novel is always something to celebrate and Girlhood could be her best yet - Juno Dawson

An emotionally charged, edge-of-your-seat thriller. Tension builds to a jaw-dropping crescendo as truths are revealed, loyalties are tested, and a whole lot of understanding is needed. Gripping and gratifyingly multi-layered, fans of thrillers with emotional depth will find much to love here - LoveReading4Kids

Well-written and insightful ... the story moves at a roaring pace until it reaches a thrilling and ultimately uplifting conclusion ... an easy book to get lost in - The Bookbag

Incredible - pure and simple - Writing from the Tub on Cat Clarke

Undoubtedly one of the most exciting and talented YA writers in Britain - Library Mice on Cat Clarke

I wholly, unabashedly and completely recommend this book - Inis Magazine on Cat Clarke

Clarke...succeeds brilliantly, thanks to the reality of the characters and the depth of the emotion - The Scotsman on Cat Clarke

Clarke excels at genuine page-turners and I read this in one greedy sitting - The Bookseller on Cat Clarke

There was something eery and creepy to the story that kept me on tender hooks from the very beginning. I read this book in a couple of sittings and I didn't want it to end! Cat's writing style is effortless and so easy to read that I felt that I was in a castle in Scotland myself at times. Girlhood comes out this week (May 4th) and if you haven't preordered it yet I would highly recommend it! - The YA Nightstand

I did really like the thrilling atmosphere of it and I found that the storyline wasn't predictable. I was guessing what was going to happen or what the secrets were, to find out that I couldn't have been more wrong. - The Bibliophile Girl

Cat Clarke is back with another dramatic thrill ride that knocks you a little sideways but leaves you wanting more by the time you've finished. Girlhood is an emotional rollercoaster set in a remote boarding school in Scotland. All the girls have their own little secrets but some are bigger than others and where there are secrets' there is a chance they could cause drama. Your only hope is that the drama can be contained and won't cause consequences. Brilliantly written and a real page-turner. - Sister Spooky

A darkly compulsive story about love, death, and growing up under the shadow of grief. - World Book Day

When you're that age, you are often experiencing grief for the first time. That loss can affect everyone close to you, like your friends and family, and it can be really tough to find someone to talk to. For Harper, she feels like she can't go on and on about Jenna's death to her friends, like they will get sick of it. Her misguided paranoia and the development of her grief was exactly right, even though it was predictable. Sometimes you want a story to do exactly what you expect from it. I hope many people pick up Girlhood because it was an absolute page turner and an eye opener to the contrasting ways grief is experienced. - Read by Jess

the emotions were raw, the teenage girl friendships believable, and the ending was satisfying - Heart Full of Books

I loved this book for it's complicated friendships, ominous relationships and the sense of being pulled further in to a web. It was compulsive reading and I sat up until the early hours of the morning unable to put it down. It's exactly the kind of book to disappear into on a gloomy, rainy day ... Thank all that is bookish and beautiful for Cat Clarke. Openly gay and bi characters, friendship struggles, snarky girls, secrets and lies. It's all here in Girlhood. What I would have given for this book when I was a teenager trying to find my place int he world - in a girl's school - feeling like the only gay in the village. I grew up reading boarding school stories and it's a joy to return to one now. Especially a contemporary one filled with beautifully diverse characters and lots of nods to modern politics. A fast-paced and fierce celebration of friendship not to be missed. - Rhino Reads

AUTO-BUY AUTHOR - Everything Alyce

These characters are interesting and compelling to read and the story is like The Roommate meets well actually that sums it up pretty well but the ending was not at all what I was expecting to come out of it. - The Sparkle Spy

Clarke doesn't spoon feed the reader all the answers; I felt like I was part of the group of the girls, trying to work through the problems and questions that were thrown up. - Delightful Book Reviews

I'm super excited because Cat Clarke has written one of my favourite books, Undone. This book has an interesting premise and I love the little tag line that come son the cover of the book: Sugar and spice and scars for life. - Forever Fictional

Hard-hitting storyline building up throughout which will have you intrigued from start to finish. - Sophie Atkinson, teen reviewer, Teen Titles

I couldn't put it down. If I had to describe this book in three words I would say: exciting, confusing and dramatic. - Arwen Richards, teen reviewers, Teen Titles

You may also be interested in...

Shatter Me
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
The Reappearance of Rachel Price
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
One of Us is Back
Added to basket
One Of Us Is Lying
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Stolen Heir
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
One of Us is Back
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Catching Fire
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Hunger Games
Added to basket
The Crimson Moth
Added to basket
The Inheritance Games
Added to basket
Ruthless Vows
Added to basket
£14.99
Hardback
The End Crowns All
Added to basket
Girl in Pieces
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Better Than the Movies
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Powerful
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Five Survive
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Fiona at Sunderland

“My first Cat Clarke experience”

Cat Clarke's novels have always caught my attention but I hadn't read any until this was recommended to me. I didn't really know what to expect going in but the atmosphere had me hooked. A story of... More

Paperback edition
6 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 72
Bookread2day

“Excellent page turner”

I think that GIRLHOOD by Cat Clarke is her best novel yet. An excellent page-turning thrilling coming-of-age story from the queen of emotional suspense. I loved every page.
Harper's twin sister Jenna died at... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 70

“Fantastically atmospheric!”

haunt her. Harper blames herself, but finds a group of close friends that makes the decision to leave her family behind much more rewarding, with late night sneak-outs and typical boarding school antics. The arrival... More

Paperback edition
5 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 66

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: