Girl With a Pearl Earring (Paperback)
  • Girl With a Pearl Earring (Paperback)
zoom

Girl With a Pearl Earring (Paperback)

(author)
4 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 272 Pages / Published: 11/09/2014
  • In stock online

Usually despatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

An international bestseller with over two million copies sold, this is a story of an artist's desire for beauty and the ultimate corruption of innocence.

17th Century Holland. When Griet becomes a maid in the household of Johannes Vermeer in the town of Delft, she thinks she knows her role: housework, laundry and the care of his six children. But as she becomes part of his world and his work, their growing intimacy spreads tension and deception in the ordered household and, as the scandal seeps out, into the town beyond.

Tracy Chevalier's extraordinary historical novel on the corruption of innocence and the price of genius is a contemporary classic perfect for fans of Sarah Dunant and Philippa Gregory.

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN: 9780007232161
Number of pages: 272
Weight: 160 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 17 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'A portrait of radiance...Tracy Chevalier brings the real artist Vermeer and a fictional muse to life in a jewel of a novel' Time

`Chevalier doesn't put a foot wrong in this triumphant work ... It is a beautifully written tale that mirrors the elegance of the painting that inspired it' Wall Street Journal

'It has a slow, magical current of its own that picks you up and carries you stealthily along...a beautiful story, lovingly told by a very talented writer' Daily Mail

'A wonderful novel, mysterious, steeped in atmosphere, deeply revealing about the process of painting...truly magical' Guardian

You may also be interested in...

The Tea Planter's Wife
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Written in My Own Heart's Blood
Added to basket
A Place of Greater Safety
Added to basket
A Place Called Winter
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Mightier than the Sword
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Bring Up the Bodies
Added to basket
The Empty Throne
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
An Echo in the Bone
Added to basket
The Pale Horseman
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Edge of Eternity
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Master and Commander
Added to basket
Lamentation
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Dissolution
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Heresy
Added to basket
£8.99   £5.99
Paperback
The King's Curse
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.49
Paperback
The Leopard
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback

Reviews

View all

“Girl With a Pearl Earring”

It was my own fault for not enjoying this...I read it too slow, looking for deeper meaning. I thought chapter one was so beautifully descriptive and quick to a get the feel of the characters and their situations (much... More

Paperback edition
25th November 2012
Helpful? Upvote 51

“marvellous”

I brought The Girl With The Pearl Earing this year from waterstones for my mother for mothers day. My mother has just recently gave this book to me to read. The Girl With The Pearl Earing is about a young girl who has... More

Paperback edition
30th May 2011
Helpful? Upvote 46

“A gem of a book”

I bought this book a number of years ago and have re-read it often. I was originally drawn by the novel idea of basing a book on such a simple painting (this was before it was made into a film). It has atmosphere and... More

Paperback edition
26th March 2013
Helpful? Upvote 24

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.