Your Waterstones card is changing, introducing...
TELL ME MORE
Ghosts of the Past: Book Six - Inspector Bordelli (Paperback)
  • Ghosts of the Past: Book Six - Inspector Bordelli (Paperback)
zoom

Ghosts of the Past: Book Six - Inspector Bordelli (Paperback)

(author), (translator)
£8.99
Paperback 512 Pages / Published: 06/09/2018
  • Coming soon

Awaiting publication

  • This item has been added to your basket

A family cloaked in secrets. A beguiling woman. A unique setting. Inspector Bordelli is back to solve one of the most difficult cases of his entire career in the sixth book in this atmospheric crime noir series - perfect for fans of Andrea Camilleri.

Florence, 1967. It is winter, and one year has passed since the historic and devastating flood of the Arno, though the memories of that day still linger with the stains on the city walls.

The anniversary of the flood brings with it a new case for Inspector Bordelli, who is weighed down with remorse for having taken justice into his own hands, and yearning for Eleonora, the woman he's lost, when the mystery opens. A local wealthy industrialist - fiercely loved and respected by everyone he knew - has been found murdered in his grand villa in the Fiesole hills, and the killer has left no trace.

With no obvious leads to follow, Bordelli is patiently retracing the victim's last days when he encounters an old friend from the war. Inviting the frail man into his home with the aim of restoring him to strength with good food and wine, Bordelli is yet to realise that this very friend will lead him ever closer to the secrets at the heart of the mystery - starting with a mysterious woman . . .

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton General Division
ISBN: 9781473613836
Number of pages: 512
Weight: 342 g
Dimensions: 199 x 130 x 32 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Vichi is a splendid, thoughtful novelist who wanders and wonders, and who pulls the crime novel to the limits of its potential. * TLS *
'A real find for anyone who likes their crime novels atmospheric, discursive, humorous and thought-provoking.' * Guardian *
'[Italian] writers are justifiably growing in popularity here: Marco Vichi deserves to be among them . . . [Bordelli] is stubborn, womanless, cynical and impatient, but strangely appealing.' * Marcel Berlins, The Times *
'Over the course of his police procedurals, Vichi shows us ever more secret and dark sides to an otherwise sunny and open city. But his happiest creation, in my opinion, remains the character of Inspector Bordelli, a disillusioned anti-hero who is difficult to forget.' * Andrea Camilleri *
'Vichi's stellar first in a new mystery series introduces endearingly melancholic Inspector Bordelli . . . [and] delivers a plausible solution worthy of a golden age crime novel. Readers will look forward to seeing more of this flawed hero.' * Publishers Weekly, starred review for DEATH IN AUGUST *

You may also be interested in...

The Girl Before
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Midnight Line
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
I'll Keep You Safe
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Sleeping in the Ground
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The House Between Tides
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Into the Water
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
A Stranger in the House
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Do Not Disturb
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Origin
Added to basket
£7.99   £3.99
Paperback
The People vs. Alex Cross
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Two Kinds of Truth
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Thirteen
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Silent Companions
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Sunburn
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Dry
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback

Reviews

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.