Ghost Drum (Paperback)
  • Ghost Drum (Paperback)
zoom

Ghost Drum (Paperback)

(author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 176 Pages
Published: 04/01/2024
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

A timeless children's classic perfect for readers of The House with Chicken Legs, Price's exquisitely written fable is filled with snowy wonder, vengeful shamans and powerful witches.

Part of our collection of Young Adult Classics, this stunning Carnegie-winning tale takes us to a world of darkness and ice, where a shaman and a prince fight for their freedom.

In the darkest hour of a freezing Midwinter, a night-walking witch adopts a newborn baby and carries her off in her house on chicken legs. She names her Chingis and teaches her the Three Magics. She grows into such a powerful witch that she rouses the jealousy of Kuzma, the bear-shaman.

The Czar of this cold realm fears his newborn son, Safa, will out do him, and so imprisons the baby at the top of a tall tower, to live and die there without ever glimpsing the real world. Loneliness and confinement drive him to rage and despair until Chingis hears the crying of his trapped spirit and frees him.

But now their enemies unite against them, with steel and deadly magic. Chingis and Safa's quest for freedom will take them even through the Ghost World into the Land of the Dead.

Publisher: Faber & Faber
ISBN: 9780571381586
Number of pages: 176
Weight: 152 g
Dimensions: 197 x 127 x 12 mm
Edition: Main

You may also be interested in...

Matilda
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Little Women
Added to basket
£11.99
Hardback
The BFG
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Dear Zoo
Added to basket
£7.99
Board book
The Gruffalo 25th Anniversary Edition
Added to basket
Michael Morpurgo’s Tales from Shakespeare
Added to basket
Pride and Prejudice
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Gangsta Granny Strikes Again!
Added to basket
George's Marvellous Medicine
Added to basket
Diary of a Big Bad Wolf
Added to basket
£12.99   £9.99
Hardback
Fox's Socks
Added to basket
£7.99
Board book
Skandar and the Unicorn Thief
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Hide-and-Seek Pig
Added to basket
The Little Prince
Added to basket
Flat Stanley
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
Rooftoppers
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Jo at Greenwich

“Breathtakingly Brilliant”

Stunning reissue of a forgotten children's classic. This is a gripping tale steeped in Russian folklore. A spectacular battle of wills between good and evil with some truly dastardly characters. You will be at... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 4

“A Beautiful timeless story”

It was originally published in 1987, you shouldn’t miss this republished stunning fantasy adventure, comes with a beautiful cover design.

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: