We regret that due to the technical limitations of our site, we are unable to offer eBooks or Audio Downloads to customers outside of the UK.

For further details please read our eBooks help.

Ghana Must Go (Hardback)
  • Ghana Must Go (Hardback)

Ghana Must Go (Hardback)

£14.99
Hardback Published: 04/04/2013
  • In stock

We can send it to you within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Click & Collect From your local shop
A stunning novel, spanning generations and continents, Ghana Must Go by rising star Taiye Selasi is a tale of family drama and forgiveness, for fans of Zadie Smith and Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie. This is the story of a family - of the simple, devastating ways in which families tear themselves apart, and of the incredible lengths to which a family will go to put itself back together. It is the story of one family, the Sais, whose good life crumbles in an evening; a Ghanaian father, Kweku Sai, who becomes a highly respected surgeon in the US only to be disillusioned by a grotesque injustice; his Nigerian wife, Fola, the beautiful homemaker abandoned in his wake; their eldest son, Olu, determined to reconstruct the life his father should have had; their twins, seductive Taiwo and acclaimed artist Kehinde, both brilliant but scarred and flailing; their youngest, Sadie, jealously in love with her celebrity best friend. All of them sent reeling on their disparate paths into the world. Until, one day, tragedy spins the Sais in a new direction. This is the story of a family: torn apart by lies, reunited by grief. A family absolved, ultimately, by that bitter but most tenuous bond: familial love. Ghana Must Go interweaves the stories of the Sais in a rich and moving drama of separation and reunion, spanning generations and cultures from West Africa to New England, London, New York and back again. It is a debut novel of blazing originality and startling power by a writer of extraordinary gifts. "Ghana Must Go is both a fast moving story of one family's fortunes and an ecstatic exploration of the inner lives of its members. With her perfectly-pitched prose and flawless technique, Selasi does more than merely renew our sense of the African novel: she renews our sense of the novel, period. An astonishing debut". (Teju Cole, author of Open City). Taiye Selasi was born in London and raised in Massachusetts. She holds a B.A. in American Studies from Yale and an M.Phil. in International Relations from Oxford. "The Sex Lives of African Girls" (Granta, 2011), Selasi's fiction debut, appears in Best American Short Stories 2012. She lives in Rome.

Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
ISBN: 9780670919864

You may also be interested in...

Joe at Doncaster

“Extremely enjoyable, warm and impressive debut.”

Ghana Must Go isn't the sort of book I would normally pick up and read by choice. I've never really tried anything of this genre before, but having committed to being more open minded to different genres and... More

Paperback edition
25th April 2013
Helpful? Upvote 5

“Not my cuppa”

By the time I reached half way through this book I decided to put it down. The plot was very hard to follow and Selasi goes into great detail without there actually being any action. I found once I’d read half of the... More

Paperback edition
29th June 2013
Helpful? Upvote 4

“deep thoughtful book”

I have to admit hat this book was far too disjointed for me.The plot ran round the death that started the book and the various people that his life had touched. His children whom he had abandoned and the first wife... More

Paperback edition
1st May 2013
Helpful? Upvote 3

Your review has been submitted successfully.

We would love to hear what you think of Waterstones. Why not review Waterstones on Trustpilot?


Review us on Trustpilot