Ghana Must Go (Hardback)
  • Ghana Must Go (Hardback)
zoom

Ghana Must Go (Hardback)

(author)
£14.99
Hardback Published: 04/04/2013
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket
A stunning novel, spanning generations and continents, Ghana Must Go by rising star Taiye Selasi is a tale of family drama and forgiveness, for fans of Zadie Smith and Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie. This is the story of a family - of the simple, devastating ways in which families tear themselves apart, and of the incredible lengths to which a family will go to put itself back together. It is the story of one family, the Sais, whose good life crumbles in an evening; a Ghanaian father, Kweku Sai, who becomes a highly respected surgeon in the US only to be disillusioned by a grotesque injustice; his Nigerian wife, Fola, the beautiful homemaker abandoned in his wake; their eldest son, Olu, determined to reconstruct the life his father should have had; their twins, seductive Taiwo and acclaimed artist Kehinde, both brilliant but scarred and flailing; their youngest, Sadie, jealously in love with her celebrity best friend. All of them sent reeling on their disparate paths into the world. Until, one day, tragedy spins the Sais in a new direction. This is the story of a family: torn apart by lies, reunited by grief. A family absolved, ultimately, by that bitter but most tenuous bond: familial love. Ghana Must Go interweaves the stories of the Sais in a rich and moving drama of separation and reunion, spanning generations and cultures from West Africa to New England, London, New York and back again. It is a debut novel of blazing originality and startling power by a writer of extraordinary gifts. "Ghana Must Go is both a fast moving story of one family's fortunes and an ecstatic exploration of the inner lives of its members. With her perfectly-pitched prose and flawless technique, Selasi does more than merely renew our sense of the African novel: she renews our sense of the novel, period. An astonishing debut". (Teju Cole, author of Open City). Taiye Selasi was born in London and raised in Massachusetts. She holds a B.A. in American Studies from Yale and an M.Phil. in International Relations from Oxford. "The Sex Lives of African Girls" (Granta, 2011), Selasi's fiction debut, appears in Best American Short Stories 2012. She lives in Rome.

Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
ISBN: 9780670919864
Weight: 584 g
Dimensions: 240 x 162 x 31 mm

You may also be interested in...

Shuggie Bain
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
American Dirt
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Vanishing Half
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Strawberry Thief
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Girl, Woman, Other
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Small Pleasures
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Klara and the Sun
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Exciting Times
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Grown Ups
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Because of You
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Song of Achilles
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.99
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
Hamnet
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Scabby Queen
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Home Stretch
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Shuggie Bain
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“deep thoughtful book”

I have to admit hat this book was far too disjointed for me.The plot ran round the death that started the book and the various people that his life had touched. His children whom he had abandoned and the first wife... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 37

“its ok”

It would probably be an amazing read for a reader who likes this style of writing. unfortunately it wasn't my cup of tea. I found it hard to get in to and confused me.
But do not dismiss the book on this review... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 34

“Ghana Must Go”

This is beautiful. That's the only way I can describe this début novel. Following the members of the broken Sai family as they come to terms with the death of their father and ex husband. Each member of the... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 33

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.