Gerald Finzi: An English Composer (Paperback)
  • Gerald Finzi: An English Composer (Paperback)
zoom

Gerald Finzi: An English Composer (Paperback)

(author)
£25.00
Paperback 594 Pages / Published: 22/01/2009
  • We can order this

Usually dispatched within 3 weeks

  • This item has been added to your basket
The music of Gerald Finzi, whose popularity has recently enjoyed a great resurgence, is rooted in the tradition of Elgar, Parry, Vaughan Williams and those composers of the early part of this century for whom song writing was a principal means of expression. While retaining a general picture of the modest, quintessentially English composer, Stephen Banfield's stylish, witty and acute biography reveals Finzi as a more complex and engaged figure than he is often given credit for. Finzi's ambiguous relationship with his craft, his affluent and intellectually stimulating family background and his Jewishness lend a mysterious and troubled quality to his life and work, and ultimately invite us to question the notions of Englishness he represents. 'In this outstanding study, Stephen Banfield remarks that although Finzi's output and influence were those of a minor composer, "something about his profile, the way he went about his job, the breadth of his thought, the depths of his personality and its impact on others, in short his individuality, always suggested something greater." Thus it is that Finzi, with a relatively small output, now receives a 571-page biography in which the author brings to bear the full weight and authority of analytical scholarship. Is he worth it? Banfield compels one to answer yes.' Michael Kennedy, BBC Music Magazine 'Stephen Banfield's long-needed and doubly welcome book does all that a good life-and-works study should do ... he earns the most heartfelt gratitude. So, it should be added, do his publishers.' Musical Times

Publisher: Faber & Faber
ISBN: 9780571248476
Number of pages: 594
Weight: 884 g
Dimensions: 234 x 153 x 43 mm
Edition: Main

You may also be interested in...

Only Fools and Stories
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
A Better Me
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
A Life of My Own
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Calypso
Added to basket
£16.99   £13.99
Hardback
Nigel
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Tchaikovsky
Added to basket
£25.00   £20.00
Hardback
How to be Champion
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Born A Crime
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Frida Kahlo
Added to basket
Uncommon People
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Fingers in the Sparkle Jar
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Always Smiling
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Jimmy Page: The Definitive Biography
Added to basket
Jane Austen at Home
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Coco Chanel
Added to basket
Churchill
Added to basket
£25.00
Hardback

Reviews

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.