Gather the Daughters (Hardback)
  • Gather the Daughters (Hardback)
zoom

Gather the Daughters (Hardback)

(author)
5 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£18.99
Hardback 352 Pages / Published: 25/07/2017
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket
Gather The Daughters is a haunting story of an isolated island cult perfect for fans of The Handmaid's Tale, The Girls and The Power.

On a small isolated island, there's a community that lives by its own rules. Boys grow up knowing they will one day reign inside and outside the home, while girls know they will be married and pregnant within moments of hitting womanhood.

But before that time comes, there is an island ritual that offers children an exhilarating reprieve. Every summer they are turned out onto their doorsteps to roam wild: they run, they fight, they sleep on the beach and build camps in trees.

They are free.

It is at the end of one of these summers, as the first frost laces the ground, that one of the younger girls witnesses something she was never supposed to see. And she returns home, muddy and terrified, clutching in her small hand a truth that could unravel their carefully constructed island world forever.

'An intriguing, gorgeously realised and written novel which inexorably draws you into its dark heart.'  - Kate Hamer

Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
ISBN: 9781472241702
Number of pages: 352
Weight: 594 g
Dimensions: 243 x 170 x 30 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
An intriguing, gorgeously realised and written novel which inexorably draws you into its dark heart -- Kate Hamer
It's a richly envisioned world, the strange isolation of which Melamed is excellent at teasing out slowly * Independent *
An exceptional debut * Sunday Telegraph *
A skilful novel full of suspense * Guardian *
An assured, lyrical and vivid debut * Irish Independent *
An obvious comparison is Margaret Atwood's The Handmaid's Tale, and Melamed is more than equal a writer. Her prose is exact, the premise chilling and her characters all too plausible * Daily Mail, top debuts of 2017 *
Obsessed with The Handmaid's Tale? This brilliant book is the one for you * Stylist *
[A] dark, compelling debut... At a time when it feels as if women's rights around the world are being slowly eroded this absorbing novel is both gripping and to-the-bone chilling. Melamed is definitely a talent to watch. * Daily Express *
Gather the Daughters is an always-compelling and sometimes-shocking read as the horrific secrets of the island are slowly revealed. I read it in one sleep-deprived sitting * Red Magazine *
Gather The Daughters is extraordinary, powerful, and harrowing-and yet hopeful in its portrait of the human spirit and the endurance of love. This is a visceral book on all levels and it is haunting me still -- Julie Cohen
A terrifying work of speculative fiction ... Melamed is a masterful writer, and she establishes a hauntingly vivid atmosphere....This is a haunting work in the spirit of The Handmaid's Tale-but Melamed more than holds her own. Fearsome, vivid, and raw * Kirkus Reviews *
Melamed's haunting and powerful debut blazes a fresh path in the tradition of classic dystopian works...a searing portrayal of a utopian society gone wrong...Melamed's prose is taut and precise. Her nuanced characters and honest examination of the crueler sides of human nature establish her as a formidable author in the vein of Shirley Jackson and Margaret Atwood * Publishers Weekly *
At times harrowing in its depiction of cruelty, at other times joy-filled and buoyed by the spirit of liberated girlhood, this is an exhilarating, feminist cry-out, which I hope finds a wide readership * The Big Issue *
A chilling, vividly realised feminist novel that propels the reader into the dark heart of a cruelly repressive and sinister society * Daily Mail *

You may also be interested in...

Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets
Added to basket
Piranesi
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban
Added to basket
The Last Hours: Chain of Iron
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
A Court of Silver Flames
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
A Court of Silver Flames
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
The Last Wish
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
What Abigail Did That Summer
Added to basket
Serpentine
Added to basket
£7.99
Hardback
Blood of Elves
Added to basket
The Hobbit
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Starless Sea
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone
Added to basket
House of Earth and Blood
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Invisible Life of Addie LaRue
Added to basket
£17.99   £15.99
Hardback
Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix
Added to basket

“A strong and coherent story, excellently told. Jennie Melamed is an immensely talented writer.”

This is a timely book. Not only does it hit the shelves at a time when the TV adaptation of Margaret Atwood’s The Handmaiden’s Tale is capturing the ratings; it is also prescient in the light of what is happening to... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 36

“Dark. Tender. Powerful. Chilling. Loved it! ”

Gather the Daughters is a rich, compulsive and poignant tale that explores the strength and resilience of human nature. Powerful and chilling, this book had such an impact on me, and since I finished, I’ve been... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 30
Zuky the BookBum

“Dark & disturbing”

I was so interested in this one because it's ultimately about a cult. A cult who live on an island where very strict rules are put in place. Daughters are used to "comfort" their Father's during... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 29

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.