Games for Dead Girls (Hardback)
  • Games for Dead Girls (Hardback)
zoom

Games for Dead Girls (Hardback)

(author)
4 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£16.99
Hardback 384 Pages
Published: 30/03/2023

This product is only available to collect in store.

  • This item has been added to your basket

Treading the fine line where the supernatural ends and real human monstrosity begins, GAMES FOR DEAD GIRLS is a haunting, dark read, perfect for fans of Jennifer Hillier and Alex North.

Hithechurch, a peaceful, out-of-the-way seaside town in Kent.

When Charlie was young, she would visit with her family, making friends and playing down by the beach.

Their favourite was telling scary stories; silly games of make-believe that would twist and weave old wives’ tales. They would laugh and try to shake off the shiver than ran down their backs and made the hair on their necks stand on end.

But what if it wasn’t all make-believe?

Years later Charlie returns to Hithechurch with her niece, researching a book on folklore. As she delves deeper into the history of the area, she finds something disturbing: a decades long history of women going missing. Could the stories be true?

Charlie is about to find out some games are deadlier than others.

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN: 9780008383848
Number of pages: 384
Weight: 600 g
Dimensions: 240 x 159 x 35 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Praise for GAMES FOR DEAD GIRLS ‘A brilliantly crafted tale of unexplained disappearances and macabre urban legends … Recommended to fans of Stacy Willingham, Karin Slaughter, and Stephen King.’Booklist,starred review ‘I’ve always been a big fan of Jen’s writing, and loved how she melded folklore, crime and horror into DOG ROSE DIRT. GAMES FOR DEAD GIRLS takes that up to another level!’James Oswald, the SUNDAY TIMES bestselling author of the INSPECTOR MCLEAN series ‘Not only has Jen Williams found the line where ghost stories tip into true crime, where phantoms become flesh and blood, but she crosses it into something far more frightening. Games for Dead Girls is a testament to how truth will always be more terrifying than fiction, and where, at the root of every Bloody Mary, there’s a young women dying to be heard.’Clay McLeod Chapman, author of GHOST EATERS ‘A dark and unsettling story that gets under your skin’Laure Van Rensburg,author of NOBODY BUT US

You may also be interested in...

Babel
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
I Who Have Never Known Men
Added to basket
Bride
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Godkiller
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Rewitched
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
In Ascension
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Ink Blood Sister Scribe
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
A Court of Silver Flames
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Throne of Secrets
Added to basket
Spectacular
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Queen B
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Caraval
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Lady Macbeth
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Katabasis
Added to basket
£22.00
Hardback
Dune Messiah
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
When the Moon Hatched
Added to basket
Beth at Carmarthen Waterstones

“A chilling blend of folk horror and crime thriller that will keep you hooked”

Jen Williams’ latest novel Games for Dead Girls is a crime thriller with heavy folk horror elements. It reminded me a little of Sarah Waters’ The Little Stranger, but amped up and on holiday in Broadchurch. We follow... More

“Not for me”

I read and enjoyed the author’s previous novel, Dog Rose Dirt, and I found the blurb for Games for Dead Girls intriguing: urban legends, missing girls, a small town full of dark secrets, I was sold. But then I started... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 5

“Perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn”

It took me about 50 pages to get into it due to the slow start but after the 50 page mark I was completely immersed! I finished in two days, staying up late and not wanting to put it down.

I enjoyed the multiple... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 5

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: