Your Waterstones card is changing, introducing...
TELL ME MORE
Galveston (Paperback)
  • Galveston (Paperback)
zoom

Galveston (Paperback)

(author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 272 Pages / Published: 27/03/2014
  • In stock online

Usually despatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

'Recalls only the finest examples of the form' Dennis Lehane

'The elegance Pizzolatto brings to his heart-wrenching story makes it unforgettable' Daily Mail

From the creator of the hit HBO series True Detective comes a powerful, gleaming-dark thriller rich with Southern atmosphere.

Roy Cady is by his own admission 'a bad man'. With a snow flurry of cancer in his lungs and no one to live for, he's a walking time-bomb of violence. Following a fling with his boss's lover, he's sent on a routine assignment he knows is a death trap. Yet after a smoking spasm of violence, Roy's would-be killers are mostly dead and he is mostly alive.

Before Roy makes his getaway, he finds a beaten-up woman in the apartment, and sees something in her frightened, defiant eyes that causes a crucial decision. He takes her with him on the run from New Orleans to Galveston, Texas, permanently entwining their fate along a highway of seedy bars and fleabag hotels, a world of treacherous drifters, pick-up trucks, and ashed-out hopes, with death just a car-length behind.

Nic Pizzolatto's highly acclaimed, Edgar Award-nominated thriller announces the arrival of a major new talent for fans of Dennis Lehane, James Lee Burke and Breaking Bad.

'A good old Southern gothic treat of a road trip through Texas and Louisiana. Think James Lee Burke meets Midnight In The Garden of Good And Evil with shades of Paris, Texas'
Sam Baker, The Pool
'Terrific dialogue'
Kirkus
'Pizzolatto's insightful portrayal is rough and tumble real. He vividly captures Galveston in all its desperate vulnerability'
Publishers Weekly
'A truly original and gifted writer'
Litro

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN: 9780751557053
Number of pages: 272
Weight: 195 g
Dimensions: 129 x 200 x 18 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
There are resonances of the great James Lee Burke in the elegance Pizzolatto brings to his heart-wrenching story that makes it unforgettable * Daily Mail *
A good old Southern gothic treat of a road trip through Texas and Louisiana. Think James Lee Burke meets Midnight In The Garden of Good And Evil with shades of Paris, Texas -- Sam Baker * The Pool *
An often incandescent fever dream of low-rent, unbearable beauty . . . recalls only the finest examples of the form -- Dennis Lehane * New York Times *
Terrific dialogue * Kirkus *
Pizzolatto's insightful portrayal is rough and tumble real. He vividly captures Galveston in all its desperate vulnerability * Publishers Weekly *
A truly original and gifted writer * Litro *
An often incandescent fever dream of low-rent, unbearable beauty ... "Galveston," in its authenticity and fearless humanism, recalls only the finest examples of the form -- Dennis Lehane * The New York Times *
There are resonances of the great James Lee Burke in the elegance Pizzolatto brings to his heart-wrenching story that makes it unforgettable. -- Geoffrey Wansall * Daily Mail *
Galveston is an assured debut full of hard truths, a throwback novel that ends up shouldering the noir genre forward * Chuck Hogan *
A carefully crafted work shrouded in dark Southern landscapes * Time Out Chicago *

You may also be interested in...

A Stranger in the House
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Girl Before
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Origin
Added to basket
£7.99   £3.99
Paperback
The House Between Tides
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Good Daughter
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Dark Angel
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Dry
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
He Said/She Said
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.49
Paperback
The People vs. Alex Cross
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Damaged
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Into the Water
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Sunburn
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Silent Companions
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Do Not Disturb
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Two Kinds of Truth
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback

Reviews

View all

“Brilliant Award Winning Crime Novel”

Galveston – Simply Stunning

Having read Galveston by Nic Pizzolatto it is easy to see why this has been an award winning debut novel from the creator of the HBO and Sky Atlantic series True Detectives. While in this... More

Paperback edition
28th March 2014
Helpful? Upvote 26

“If you enjoyed True Detective, you will enjoy this”

Much like True Detective, this is a gritty, disturbing story of the criminal underworld in the southern states of America. The unlikely duo of Roy, a criminal with cancer, and Rocky, a down on her luck young woman,... More

Paperback edition
9th May 2014
Helpful? Upvote 24

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.