Galveston (Paperback)
  • Galveston (Paperback)
zoom

Galveston (Paperback)

(author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 272 Pages / Published: 27/03/2014
  • In stock

UK delivery within 5 days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
From the creator of the hit HBO series True Detective comes a powerful, gleaming-dark thriller rich with Southern atmosphere. Roy Cady is by his own admission 'a bad man'. With a snow flurry of cancer in his lungs and no one to live for, he's a walking time-bomb of violence. Following a fling with his boss's lover, he's sent on a routine assignment he knows is a death trap. Yet after a smoking spasm of violence, Roy's would-be killers are mostly dead and he is mostly alive. Before Roy makes his getaway, he finds a beaten-up woman in the apartment, and sees something in her frightened, defiant eyes that causes a crucial decision. He takes her with him on the run from New Orleans to Galveston, Texas, permanently entwining their fate along a highway of seedy bars and fleabag hotels, a world of treacherous drifters, pick-up trucks, and ashed-out hopes, with death just a car-length behind. Nic Pizzolatto's highly acclaimed, Edgar Award-nominated thriller announces the arrival of a major new talent for fans of Dennis Lehane, James Lee Burke and Breaking Bad.

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN: 9780751557053
Number of pages: 272
Weight: 200 g
Dimensions: 197 x 128 x 17 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
An often incandescent fever dream of low-rent, unbearable beauty ... "Galveston," in its authenticity and fearless humanism, recalls only the finest examples of the form -- Dennis Lehane The New York Times There are resonances of the great James Lee Burke in the elegance Pizzolatto brings to his heart-wrenching story that makes it unforgettable. -- Geoffrey Wansall Daily Mail Galveston is an assured debut full of hard truths, a throwback novel that ends up shouldering the noir genre forward Chuck Hogan A carefully crafted work shrouded in dark Southern landscapes Time Out Chicago

You may also be interested in...

The Dark Remains
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Dark Hours
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
April in Spain
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
If We Were Villains
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Silent Patient
Added to basket
The Man Who Died Twice
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Mercy
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Death and Croissants
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Man Who Died Twice
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Heights
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Maidens
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Maidens
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Khan
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Verity
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Better Off Dead
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Heron's Cry
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“Brilliant Award Winning Crime Novel”

Galveston – Simply Stunning

Having read Galveston by Nic Pizzolatto it is easy to see why this has been an award winning debut novel from the creator of the HBO and Sky Atlantic series True Detectives. While in this... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 52

“If you enjoyed True Detective, you will enjoy this”

Much like True Detective, this is a gritty, disturbing story of the criminal underworld in the southern states of America. The unlikely duo of Roy, a criminal with cancer, and Rocky, a down on her luck young woman,... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 37

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.