G. (Paperback)
  • G. (Paperback)
zoom

G. (Paperback)

(author)
£12.99
Paperback 336 Pages
Published: 30/08/2012
  • 5+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

Winner of the Booker Prize 1972

Winner of the James Tait Black Memorial prize

Winner of the Guardian Fiction prize


The tower was their love affair. During the months when she did not see him, she thought of him and his passion for her and her own feelings about him as though they were a place. She could visit it and revisit it; she visited it too, in her dreams; but nevertheless it was a place in which she never stayed for long.

A classic work of fiction from a modern master that deserves to be rediscovered, G is a timeless, luminous novel about a modern Don Juan.

John Berger relates the story of G., a young man forging an energetic sexual career in Europe during the early years of the last century as Europe teeters on the brink of war.

With profound compassion, Berger explores the hearts and minds of both men and women, and what happens during sex, to reveal the conditions of the libertine's success: his essential loneliness, the quiet cumulation in each of his sexual experiences of all of those that precede it, the tenderness that infuses even the briefest of his encounters, and the way women experience their own extraordinariness through their liaisons with him.

Set against the turbulent backdrop of Garibaldi's attempt to unite Italy, the failed revolution of Milanese workers in 1898, the Boer War and the dramatic first flight across the Alps, G. is a brilliant novel about the search for intimacy in the turmoil of history.

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
ISBN: 9781408834343
Number of pages: 336
Weight: 232 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Fascinating ... an extraordinary mixture of historical detail and sexual meditation ... G. belongs in the tradition of George Eliot, Tolstoy, D. H. Lawrence and Norman Mailer - New York Times

Its energy and invention remains alive ... Michael Ondaatje, most notably, seems to have learned an awful lot from this book, both in terms of its fractured narrative techniques and the way the fleshy frailty of human characters is so exposed by the technology of the early modern age ... Berger also shares Ondaatje's ability to produce wonderful set pieces - Sam Jordison, Guardian

The most interesting novel in English I have read for many years ... It is one of the few serious attempts for our time to do for the novel what Brecht did for drama: to reshape it in the light of twentieth-century experience ... A fine, humane and challenging book - The New Republic

You may also be interested in...

Butter
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
The Exchange
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Tom Lake
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
What You Are Looking for is in the Library
Added to basket
Prophet Song
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Welcome to the Hyunam-dong Bookshop
Added to basket
Once Upon A Broken Heart
Added to basket
Kala
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Guest
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Yellowface
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Burnout
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
You Are Here
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
Someone Else’s Shoes
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Before the Coffee Gets Cold
Added to basket
The Last Devil To Die
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Talking at Night
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: