Visit our Christmas Gift Finder
Fun City: John Lindsay, Joe Namath, and How Sports Saved New York in the 1960s (Hardback)
  • Fun City: John Lindsay, Joe Namath, and How Sports Saved New York in the 1960s (Hardback)
zoom

Fun City: John Lindsay, Joe Namath, and How Sports Saved New York in the 1960s (Hardback)

(author)
£17.99
Hardback 376 Pages / Published: 22/10/2015
  • Publisher out of stock

Currently unavailable to order

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket
On January 1, 1966, New York came to a standstill as the city's transit workers went on strike. This was the first day on the job for Mayor John Lindsay--a handsome, young former congressman with presidential aspirations--and he would approach the issue with an unconventional outlook that would be his hallmark. He ignored the cold and walked four miles, famously declaring, "I still think it is a fun city." As profound social, racial, and cultural change sank the city into repeated crises, critics lampooned Lindsay's "fun city." Yet for all the hard times the city endured during and after his tenure as mayor, there was indeed fun to be had. Against this backdrop, too, the sporting scene saw tremendous upheaval. On one hand, the venerable Yankees--who had won 15 pennants in an 18-year span before 1965--and the NFL's powerhouse Giants suddenly went into a level of decline neither had known for generations, as stars like Mickey Mantle and Whitey Ford on the diamond and Y.A. Tittle on the gridiron aged quickly. But on the other, the fall of the city's sports behemoths was accompanied by the rise of anti-establishment outsiders--there were Joe Namath and the Jets, as well as the shocking triumph of the Amazin' Mets, who won the 1969 World Series after spending the franchise's first eight seasons in the cellar. Meanwhile, the city's two overlooked franchises, the Knicks and Rangers, also had breakthroughs, bringing new life to Madison Square Garden. The overlap of these two worlds in the 1960s--Lindsay's politics and the reemerging sports landscape--serves as the backbone of Fun City. In the vein of Ladies and Gentlemen: The Bronx is Burning, the book tells the story of a remarkable and thrilling time in New York sports against the backdrop of a remarkable and often difficult time for the city, culturally and socially. The late sixties was an era in which New York toughened up in a lot of ways; it also was an era in which a changing of the guard among New York pro teams led the way in making it a truly fun city. Skyhorse Publishing, as well as our Sports Publishing imprint, are proud to publish a broad range of books for readers interested in sports--books about baseball, pro football, college football, pro and college basketball, hockey, or soccer, we have a book about your sport or your team. Whether you are a New York Yankees fan or hail from Red Sox nation; whether you are a die-hard Green Bay Packers or Dallas Cowboys fan; whether you root for the Kentucky Wildcats, Louisville Cardinals, UCLA Bruins, or Kansas Jayhawks; whether you route for the Boston Bruins, Toronto Maple Leafs, Montreal Canadiens, or Los Angeles Kings; we have a book for you. While not every title we publish becomes a New York Times bestseller or a national bestseller, we are committed to publishing books on subjects that are sometimes overlooked by other publishers and to authors whose work might not otherwise find a home.

Publisher: Sports Publishing LLC
ISBN: 9781613218150
Number of pages: 376
Weight: 567 g
Dimensions: 229 x 153 x 24 mm

You may also be interested in...

The Blind Side
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Tailgate to Heaven
Added to basket
Take Your Eye Off the Ball
Added to basket
Fantasy Football Tips
Added to basket
Football For Dummies
Added to basket
£15.99
Paperback
The Dallas Cowboys
Added to basket
The John Carlos Story
Added to basket
Next Man Up
Added to basket
£13.99
Paperback
Friday Night Lights
Added to basket
Football English
Added to basket
£9.66
Paperback
League Of Denial
Added to basket
Where Men Win Glory
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
No Plan B
Added to basket
£9.95
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.