Frost Hollow Hall: 'The Queen of Historical Fiction at her finest.' Guardian (Paperback)
  • Frost Hollow Hall: 'The Queen of Historical Fiction at her finest.' Guardian (Paperback)
zoom

Frost Hollow Hall: 'The Queen of Historical Fiction at her finest.' Guardian (Paperback)

(author)
£7.99
Paperback 368 Pages
Published: 03/10/2013
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

The gates to Frost Hollow Hall loomed before us. They were great tall things, the ironwork all twisted leaves and queer-looking flowers. And they were very definitely shut.

Tilly's heart sinks. Will's at the door of their cottage, daring her to come ice-skating up at Frost Hollow Hall. No one goes near the place these days. Rumour has it that the house is haunted . . . Ten years ago the young heir, Kit Barrington, drowned there in the lake. But Tilly never turns down a dare.
Then it goes horribly wrong. The ice breaks, Tilly falls through and almost drowns. At the point of death, a beautiful angel appears in the water and saves her. Kit Barrington's ghost.
Kit needs Tilly to solve the mystery of his death, so that his spirit can rest in peace. In order to discover all she can, Tilly gets work as a maid at Frost Hollow Hall. But the place makes her flesh crawl. It's all about the dead here, she's told, and in the heart of the house she soon discovers all manner of dark secrets . . .

Frost Hollow Hall is a thrilling historical fiction debut. Told in Tilly's unique voice, it is a tale of love and loss, and how forgiveness is the key to recovery.

Publisher: Faber & Faber
ISBN: 9780571295449
Number of pages: 368
Weight: 329 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 26 mm
Edition: Main - Re-issue


MEDIA REVIEWS

This is a charming story which, despite dealing with dark themes of grief, poverty and death, remains light-hearted and hopeful. With wonderful description and great characterisation, Emma Carroll is a real find and Frost Hollow Hall is a perfect ghostly mystery for fans of Eva Ibbotson, Ellen Renner and Marie-Louise Jense We Love This Book A spine-tingling debut novel with a strong period flavour that will delight all those who love a good ghost story LoveReading4Kids An excellent read to curl up with on a winter's evening The Bookbag A beautiful debut, that touches on the classics of childhoods gone by Serendipity Reviews

You may also be interested in...

Impossible Creatures
Added to basket
Percy Jackson and the Olympians: The Chalice of the Gods
Added to basket
Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
Added to basket
A Mind Full of Murder
Added to basket
Murder Most Unladylike
Added to basket
Diary Of A Wimpy Kid (Book 1)
Added to basket
Dog Man 11: Twenty Thousand Fleas Under the Sea (PB)
Added to basket
Impossible Creatures
Added to basket
The Last Bear
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Wrath of the Triple Goddess
Added to basket

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: