Frontier (Hardback)
  • Frontier (Hardback)
zoom

Frontier (Hardback)

(author)
£16.99
Hardback 256 Pages
Published: 09/03/2023
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 2 weeks

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

In a future Earth decimated by climate catastrophe, the arrival of the planet's first visitor in three centuries sparks fear and paranoia in Curtis' unputdownable queer sci-fi opus.

A dazzling debut for fans of Becky Chambers and Mary Robinette Kowal.

In the distant future, climate change has reduced Earth to a hard-scrabble wasteland. Saints and sinners, lawmakers and sheriffs, gunslingers and horse thieves abound. Folk are as diverse and divided as they've ever been - except in their shared suspicions when a stranger comes to town.

One night a ship falls from the sky, bringing the planet's first visitor in three hundred years. She's armed, she's scared . . . and she's looking for someone.

Frontier is a heartfelt queer romance in a high noon standoff with Earth's uncertain future, full of love, loss, and laser guns.

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
ISBN: 9781529390520
Number of pages: 256
Weight: 460 g
Dimensions: 238 x 160 x 28 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Curtis oozes charm and humour in this pacey debut, which will be devoured by fans of Fallout and Firefly - Tamsyn Muir, NYT bestselling author of The Locked Tomb series

A delightfully inventive sci-fi western. With her debut, Curtis weaves a masterful web of longing, desperation, and intrigue, effortlessly transporting you to a climate-ravaged Earth, where the stakes are high and the body count is even higher. If you liked Firefly, you're going to absolutely love Frontier - Kate Dylan, author of Mindwalker

Smart, bold and so much fun, this is a story both sweeping in its scope, and deeply personal in its stakes. I loved every step of this epic journey - I'm officially a member of the Grace Curtis fan club - Amie Kaufman, New York Times bestselling author of llluminae

Be prepared to devour this book in one sitting! This story is full of action and adventure, but never forgets its heart as it unravels the mystery of who the Stranger is, what she wants, and how - perhaps - the fate of a much different, futuristic Earth that's fallen rests in her calloused hands. An absolute marvel to behold! - Beth Revis, NY Times bestselling author of Across the Universe and Star Wars: The Princess and the Scoundrel

With dry wit and a gunslinger's level eye, Grace Curtis takes us to a New West strange, familiar, and delightful - downtrodden with a gleam of hope amid the tumbleweeds. A real treat - Max Gladstone, Hugo- and Nebula-Award Winning Author

Genre-bending . . . . An adventurous and original space opera that's part queer romance, part sci-fi western . . . The perfect read for fans of Becky Chambers - CultureFly

You may also be interested in...

Babel
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Bride
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
A Court of Silver Flames
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Adventures of Amina al-Sirafi
Added to basket
Throne of Secrets
Added to basket
When the Moon Hatched
Added to basket
Dune Messiah
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Ferryman
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Bury Our Bones in the Midnight Soil
Added to basket
Godkiller
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
You Like It Darker
Added to basket
£25.00   £12.50
Hardback
Katabasis
Added to basket
£22.00
Hardback
Before We Say Goodbye
Added to basket
£10.99   £9.49
Paperback
Dune
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Three-Body Problem
Added to basket
House of Earth and Blood
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback

“Beautifully Crafted”

Thoroughly enjoyed this, it had a wonderful western style that worked really well especially as it wasn’t heavy on the sci-fi vibe.
We follow a mysterious stranger on a mysterious quest and I had so many questions,... More

Hardback edition
2 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 22

“Fast-paced exciting futuristic road trip”

This was a very enjoyable, fast-paced quick read. I was a bit concerned that it might not be my cup of tea, as the blurb mentioned gunslingers and love – Westerns and Romance being my least favourite genres – but it... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 21

“Shiny”

What a great read. This book is a mix of sci-fi, Western and dystopian, but also it's none of these things in isolation. Whilst at its core this is a love story, there's a whole host of world building and... More

Hardback edition
4 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 20

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: