We regret that due to the technical limitations of our site, we are unable to offer eBooks or Audio Downloads to customers outside of the UK.

For further details please read our eBooks help.

Frank O'Connor Omnibus (Hardback)
  • Frank O'Connor Omnibus (Hardback)

Frank O'Connor Omnibus (Hardback)

Hardback Published: 26/06/2009
  • In stock

We can send it to you within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Click & Collect From your local shop
The contents have been intriguingly divided into eight narrative threads that influenced and informed O'Connor's oeuvre. "War" includes the famous 'Guests of the Nation', set during the Irish War of Independence; "Childhood" draws on autobiographical writings to present a revealing picture of the author as a boy, the only child of an alcoholic father and doting mother; "Writers" bears witness to his literary debt to Yeats and Joyce. The stories in "Lonely Voices" movingly demonstrate O'Connor's theory that in this genre can be achieved 'something we do not often find in the novel - an intense awareness of human loneliness'; yet they are counter parted by his wonderfully polyphonic tales of family, friendship and rivalry in "Better Quarrelling". In "Ireland" come poems, stories and articles inspired by the native land he loved but never sentimentalized, while from "Abroad" the writer in exile discourses upon universally relevant themes of emigration, hardship, absence and return. Finally, "Last Things" contains O'Connor's thoughts on religion, the church, the soul and its destiny, but remains above all a celebration of humanity 'who for me represented all I should ever know of God'.

Publisher: Everyman
ISBN: 9781841593210

You may also be interested in...

Your review has been submitted successfully.

We would love to hear what you think of Waterstones. Why not review Waterstones on Trustpilot?

Review us on Trustpilot