Visit our Christmas Gift Finder
Cambridge Tracts in Theoretical Computer Science: Formal Specification and Design Series Number 35 (Paperback)
  • Cambridge Tracts in Theoretical Computer Science: Formal Specification and Design Series Number 35 (Paperback)
zoom

Cambridge Tracts in Theoretical Computer Science: Formal Specification and Design Series Number 35 (Paperback)

(author), (author)
£39.99
Paperback 352 Pages / Published: 10/11/2005
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket
Formal specification is a method for precisely modelling computer-based systems that combines concepts from software engineering and mathematical logic. In this book the authors describe algebraic and state-based specification techniques from the unified view of the Common Object-oriented Language for Design, COLD, a wide-spectrum language in the tradition of VDM and Z. The kernel language is explained in detail, with many examples, including: set representation, a display device, an INGRES-like database system, and a line editor. Fundamental techniques such as initial algebra semantics, loose semantics, partial functions, hiding, sharing, predicate and dynamic logic, abstraction functions, representation of invariants and black-box correctness are also presented. More advanced ideas, for example Horn logic, and large systems are given in the final part. Appendices contain full details of the language's syntax and a specification library. Techniques for software development and design are emphasised throughout, so the book will be an excellent choice for courses in these areas.

Publisher: Cambridge University Press
ISBN: 9780521435925
Number of pages: 352
Weight: 560 g
Dimensions: 244 x 170 x 19 mm

You may also be interested in...

The Algorithm Design Manual
Added to basket
Data Analysis with Open Source Tools
Added to basket
The Elements of Statistical Learning
Added to basket
A First Course in Coding Theory
Added to basket
Modelling Computing Systems
Added to basket
Coding Theory
Added to basket
£44.99
Paperback
The Art of Computer Programming
Added to basket
Concrete Mathematics
Added to basket
Foundation Mathematics
Added to basket
MATLAB Demystified
Added to basket
£21.99
Paperback
Automata and Computability
Added to basket
The Lattice Boltzmann Equation
Added to basket
Probability and Computing
Added to basket
Numerical Recipes 3rd Edition
Added to basket

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.