• Sign In
  • Help
  • My Basket0
We All Begin As Strangers (Hardback)
  • We All Begin As Strangers (Hardback)
zoom

We All Begin As Strangers (Hardback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£14.99
Hardback 320 Pages / Published: 20/04/2017
  • We can order this

Usually despatched within 1 week

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

Check Marketplace availability

If you loved THE TROUBLE WITH GOATS AND SHEEP by Joanna Cannon, ELIZABETH IS MISSING by Emma Healey and THE UNLIKELY PILGRIMAGE OF HAROLD FRY by Rachel Joyce, you'll adore this wonderful British debut novel.

1984, England

Someone is slipping into homes through back doors and open windows in the village of Heathcote. What's more, the perpetrator knows everything about everyone - leaving curious objects in their homes, or taking things from them.

When beloved Anna goes missing, the whole community fears she's been kidnapped.

But as the villagers search for Anna, it's their own darkest secrets they're desperate to keep hidden...

Inspired by real events, and with a brilliant cast of characters, WE ALL BEGIN AS STRANGERS is a beautiful debut novel you'll want to recommend to everyone.

*******

Praise for WE ALL BEGIN AS STRANGERS:

'A dazzling debut... Beautifully plotted, fantastically written and compellingly strange' - DAILY MAIL

'I can see why it has been compared to THE TROUBLE WITH GOATS AND SHEEP as it has such a warm but heartbreaking feel to it' - Kate, Amazon reviewer

'A book about community and how trusts can be so easily broken' - WRITING.IE

'Explores ideas of loneliness and longing' - THE i NEWSPAPER

Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
ISBN: 9781409169048
Number of pages: 320
Weight: 556 g
Dimensions: 168 x 235 x 31 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Praise for WE ALL BEGIN AS STRANGERS by Harriet Cummings, a beautiful debut novel you'll want to recommend to everyone - for fans of Joanna Cannon, Rachel Joyce and Jessie Burton:

Wonderful... Full of surprising twists, right up until the final revelations

* Caroline Lea, author of WHEN THE SKY FELL APART *
A dazzling debut... Beautifully plotted, fantastically written and compellingly strange * DAILY MAIL *
A great summer read... Suspense, plot twists and drama make this an exciting read to the very end * THE POOL *
Explores ideas of loneliness and longing * The i Newspaper *
I so enjoyed WE ALL BEGIN AS STRANGERS. No 'characters' in sight - just meticulous, tender, complex portraits of people * Emylia Hall, author of THE BOOK OF SUMMERS *
I was reminded of William Golding's 'The Lord of The Flies'... A book about community and how trusts can be so easily broken * WRITING.IE *
Cummings' talent as a writer is unarguably remarkable, and her future in the literary arts looks bright * THE PLATFORM *
Skilfully and satisfying done... It's a good story well told. * TRING LIVING *

You may also be interested in...

Conversations with Friends
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Silent Companions
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Pearl Sister
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Little Fires Everywhere
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
A Gentleman in Moscow
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society
Added to basket
Insidious Intent
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Power
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Ready Player One
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
History of Wolves
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Stars are Fire
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Tell Tale
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society
Added to basket
Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine
Added to basket
Reservoir 13
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Norse Mythology
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

Reviews

View all

“Beautiful writing”

I enjoyed this book from cover to cover, the writing is wonderful. I love the way the story is told through 4 different characters, each very different with an intriguing back story, and the way it flows from one... More

Hardback edition
26th April 2017
Helpful? Upvote 28

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.