We All Begin As Strangers (Hardback)
  • We All Begin As Strangers (Hardback)
zoom

We All Begin As Strangers (Hardback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£14.99
Hardback 320 Pages / Published: 20/04/2017
  • Publisher out of stock

Currently unavailable to order

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket

If you loved THE TROUBLE WITH GOATS AND SHEEP by Joanna Cannon, ELIZABETH IS MISSING by Emma Healey and THE UNLIKELY PILGRIMAGE OF HAROLD FRY by Rachel Joyce, you'll adore this wonderful British debut novel.

1984, England

Someone is slipping into homes through back doors and open windows in the village of Heathcote. What's more, the perpetrator knows everything about everyone - leaving curious objects in their homes, or taking things from them.

When beloved Anna goes missing, the whole community fears she's been kidnapped.

But as the villagers search for Anna, it's their own darkest secrets they're desperate to keep hidden...

Inspired by real events, and with a brilliant cast of characters, WE ALL BEGIN AS STRANGERS is a beautiful debut novel you'll want to recommend to everyone.

*******

Praise for WE ALL BEGIN AS STRANGERS:

'A dazzling debut... Beautifully plotted, fantastically written and compellingly strange' - DAILY MAIL

'I can see why it has been compared to THE TROUBLE WITH GOATS AND SHEEP as it has such a warm but heartbreaking feel to it' - Kate, Amazon reviewer

'A book about community and how trusts can be so easily broken' - WRITING.IE

'Explores ideas of loneliness and longing' - THE i NEWSPAPER

Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
ISBN: 9781409169048
Number of pages: 320
Weight: 556 g
Dimensions: 168 x 235 x 31 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Praise for WE ALL BEGIN AS STRANGERS by Harriet Cummings, a beautiful debut novel you'll want to recommend to everyone - for fans of Joanna Cannon, Rachel Joyce and Jessie Burton:

Wonderful... Full of surprising twists, right up until the final revelations

* Caroline Lea, author of WHEN THE SKY FELL APART *
A dazzling debut... Beautifully plotted, fantastically written and compellingly strange * DAILY MAIL *
A great summer read... Suspense, plot twists and drama make this an exciting read to the very end * THE POOL *
Explores ideas of loneliness and longing * The i Newspaper *
I so enjoyed WE ALL BEGIN AS STRANGERS. No 'characters' in sight - just meticulous, tender, complex portraits of people * Emylia Hall, author of THE BOOK OF SUMMERS *
I was reminded of William Golding's 'The Lord of The Flies'... A book about community and how trusts can be so easily broken * WRITING.IE *
Cummings' talent as a writer is unarguably remarkable, and her future in the literary arts looks bright * THE PLATFORM *
Skilfully and satisfying done... It's a good story well told. * TRING LIVING *

You may also be interested in...

I Invited Her In
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Book of Life
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
In a House of Lies
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
Milkman
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Break
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Anatomy of a Scandal
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Winter
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Sixteen Trees of the Somme
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Into the Water
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
If Cats Disappeared From The World
Added to basket
Snap
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Macbeth
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
After the Party
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Norse Mythology
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Lethal White
Added to basket
£20.00   £13.99
Hardback
Conversations with Friends
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback

Reviews

View all

“Beautiful writing”

I enjoyed this book from cover to cover, the writing is wonderful. I love the way the story is told through 4 different characters, each very different with an intriguing back story, and the way it flows from one... More

Hardback edition
26th April 2017
Helpful? Upvote 31

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.