We All Begin As Strangers (Hardback)
  • We All Begin As Strangers (Hardback)
zoom

We All Begin As Strangers (Hardback)

(author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£14.99
Hardback 320 Pages / Published: 20/04/2017
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket

If you loved THE TROUBLE WITH GOATS AND SHEEP by Joanna Cannon, ELIZABETH IS MISSING by Emma Healey and THE UNLIKELY PILGRIMAGE OF HAROLD FRY by Rachel Joyce, you'll adore this wonderful British debut novel.

1984, England

Someone is slipping into homes through back doors and open windows in the village of Heathcote. What's more, the perpetrator knows everything about everyone - leaving curious objects in their homes, or taking things from them.

When beloved Anna goes missing, the whole community fears she's been kidnapped.

But as the villagers search for Anna, it's their own darkest secrets they're desperate to keep hidden...

Inspired by real events, and with a brilliant cast of characters, WE ALL BEGIN AS STRANGERS is a beautiful debut novel you'll want to recommend to everyone.

*******

Praise for WE ALL BEGIN AS STRANGERS:

'A dazzling debut... Beautifully plotted, fantastically written and compellingly strange' - DAILY MAIL

'I can see why it has been compared to THE TROUBLE WITH GOATS AND SHEEP as it has such a warm but heartbreaking feel to it' - Kate, Amazon reviewer

'A book about community and how trusts can be so easily broken' - WRITING.IE

'Explores ideas of loneliness and longing' - THE i NEWSPAPER

Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
ISBN: 9781409169048
Number of pages: 320
Weight: 556 g
Dimensions: 168 x 235 x 31 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Praise for WE ALL BEGIN AS STRANGERS by Harriet Cummings, a beautiful debut novel you'll want to recommend to everyone - for fans of Joanna Cannon, Rachel Joyce and Jessie Burton:

Wonderful... Full of surprising twists, right up until the final revelations

* Caroline Lea, author of WHEN THE SKY FELL APART *
A dazzling debut... Beautifully plotted, fantastically written and compellingly strange * DAILY MAIL *
A great summer read... Suspense, plot twists and drama make this an exciting read to the very end * THE POOL *
Explores ideas of loneliness and longing * The i Newspaper *
I so enjoyed WE ALL BEGIN AS STRANGERS. No 'characters' in sight - just meticulous, tender, complex portraits of people * Emylia Hall, author of THE BOOK OF SUMMERS *
I was reminded of William Golding's 'The Lord of The Flies'... A book about community and how trusts can be so easily broken * WRITING.IE *
Cummings' talent as a writer is unarguably remarkable, and her future in the literary arts looks bright * THE PLATFORM *
Skilfully and satisfying done... It's a good story well told. * TRING LIVING *

You may also be interested in...

A Song for the Dark Times
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
Troy
Added to basket
£20.00   £17.99
Hardback
Pine
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Walk the Wire
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Single Thread
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Troubled Blood
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
Firewatching
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Long Call
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Agent Running in the Field
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Beekeeper of Aleppo
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
One August Night
Added to basket
£14.99   £11.99
Hardback
The Giver of Stars
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Girl, Woman, Other
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“Beautiful writing”

I enjoyed this book from cover to cover, the writing is wonderful. I love the way the story is told through 4 different characters, each very different with an intriguing back story, and the way it flows from one... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 38

“great book”

i really enjoyed this book - it is fascinating, well written, and keeps your interest throughout.

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.