Force of Nature: by the author of the Sunday Times top ten bestseller, The Dry (Paperback)
  • Force of Nature: by the author of the Sunday Times top ten bestseller, The Dry (Paperback)
zoom

Force of Nature: by the author of the Sunday Times top ten bestseller, The Dry (Paperback)

(author)
£7.99
Paperback 464 Pages / Published: 12/07/2018
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket

The gripping new novel from the author of the Sunday Times top ten bestseller, Waterstones Thriller of the Month, Sunday Times Crime Book of the Year, CWA Gold Dagger Winner and Simon Mayo Radio 2 Book Club Choice, The Dry.

FIVE WENT OUT. FOUR CAME BACK...

Is Alice here? Did she make it? Is she safe? In the chaos, in the night, it was impossible to say which of the four had asked after Alice's welfare. Later, when everything got worse, each would insist it had been them.

Five women reluctantly pick up their backpacks and start walking along the muddy track. Only four come out the other side.

The hike through the rugged landscape is meant to take the office colleagues out of their air-conditioned comfort zone and teach resilience and team building. At least that is what the corporate retreat website advertises.

Federal Police Agent Aaron Falk has a particularly keen interest in the whereabouts of the missing bushwalker. Alice Russell is the whistleblower in his latest case - and Alice knew secrets. About the company she worked for and the people she worked with.

Far from the hike encouraging teamwork, the women tell Falk a tale of suspicion, violence and disintegrating trust. And as he delves into the disappearance, it seems some dangers may run far deeper than anyone knew.

Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
ISBN: 9780349143477
Number of pages: 464
Dimensions: 178 x 108 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Jane Harper, the new Queen of Crime...Even more impressive than The Dry...Harper makes it look easy but she has to pace two narratives without giving too much away, creating an almost unbearable level of suspense...Nature is a hostile, unpredictable force in both of Harper's novels, but her brilliance lies in making it into a test of horribly fallible human nature * The Sunday Times *
Jane Harper's The Dry was a publisher's dream: a critically acclaimed debut novel that became an immediate best seller. Force of Nature is her follow-up, and it arrives without a trace of sophomore slump; if anything it is a better novel than its predecessor...While the plot unfolds at an expertly controlled pace and is resolved in a satisfyingly ambiguous fashion, it is the relationships between the women that drive the novel...thoughtful, moving, troubling * Irish Times *
Once again Harper leaves you gagging to know who did what. Once again there are plenty of suspects * Evening Standard *
I loved The Dry. Force of Nature is even better. Brilliantly paced, it wrong-foots the reader like a rocky trail through the bush. I adored it * Susie Steiner, bestselling author of Missing, Presumed and Persons Unknown *
A three-day team-building hike in the Australian bush ends in disaster when the unpleasant Alice Russell disappears. Throw in a serial killer, industrial espionage, and several unreliable narrators and you have a tense thriller that made me feel good about my decision never to go camping * Red magazine *
A gripping follow-up to her debut, The Dry * Good Housekeeping, Three Thrillers We Love *
I loved The Dry by Jane Harper, I thought it was magnificent, like everybody else did...Fabulous! And her new book Force of Nature...such brilliance. From the first paragraph I was hooked - you just know you're in the hands of a master. She's such an excellent writer and the sense of place is so powerful * Marian Keyes *
Lord of the Flies in the Australian outback, with grown women in place of school boys. I loved every chilling moment of it. A blistering follow-up to The Dry from one of the best new voices in crime fiction * Sarah Hilary, author of the bestselling DI Marnie Rome series *
A major voice in contemporary fiction. Like Tana French's Dublin Murder Squad series and Kate Atkinson's Jackson Brodie novels, Jane Harper's deftly plotted mysteries double as sensitive inquiries into human nature, behavior, and psychology. And like The Dry, Force of Nature bristles with wit; it crackles with suspense; it radiates atmosphere. An astonishing book from an astonishing writer * A.J. Finn, bestselling author of The Woman in the Window *
Harper's debut, The Dry, was The Sunday Times crime novel of 2017 and won the CWA Gold Dagger award. That makes this second outing from the Australian a very hot ticket indeed * Sunday Times, Books of 2018 *
The Dry was one of the standout crime debuts of 2017; Australian author Harper follows it with a story of women hiking in the bush - five go out, but only four come back * Guardian, Books of 2018 *
Riveting, tension-driven thriller...Perfect for fans of Tana French and readers who enjoy literary page-turners * Booklist, starred review *
Harper's crackerjack plotting propels the story...Harper layers her story with hidden depths, expertly mining the distrust between Alice and her four colleagues, and the secrets that simmer under the surface...A spooky, compelling read * Kirkus *
A gripping tale of an elemental battle for survival...Harper once again shows herself to be a storytelling force to be reckoned with * Publishers Weekly *
Once again, Harper manages to touch on something mythic in the Australian experience of the land...From Frederic McCubbin's mournful painting...Lost, to Joan Lindsay's Picnic at Hanging Rock...getting lost in the bush was for a while every non-Indigenous Australian's worst nightmare. Force of Nature plays on this fear and then some. Ratcheting up the sense of threat is the shade of a notorious serial killer lurking in the undergrowth * Sydney Morning Herald *
Force of Nature proves Jane Harper, author of The Dry, is no one-hit wonder. Its premise is instantly gripping * Herald Sun (Melbourne) *
As thick with menace as the bush that seems to swallow the difficult Alice...Force of Nature cuts between past and present, corporate and domestic, and cements its author as one of Australia's boldest thriller writers * Australian Women's Weekly *
The narrative is finely constructed, with perfectly measured pace and suspense. So much so that it reminded me of another master of form, Liane Moriarty...Harper has also harnessed what captivates the Australian psyche - the landscape. The Dry is set in a small country town in drought, and this time she takes us into the bush. There are echoes of Picnic at Hanging Rock and Lord of the Flies as any appearance of civility slips away and the women lose direction in a hostile landscape. So does Harper's new book live up to the first? I was thrilled to find that it does. The novel delivers and Harper writes like a dream * The Saturday Paper, Australia *
Harper's mastery of pace makes Force Of Nature one of 2017's best thrillers * Elle Australia *
[The Dry] was a superbly riveting demonstration of intelligent crime writing, and its successor, Force of Nature, provides further proof: Jane Harper knows all there is to know about detonating the gut-level shocks of a great thriller....There's a distinct Liane Moriarty vibe to Force of Nature...but with a sharper edge. Jane Harper's brilliance in characterisation and evocative prose is on full display here...In a crowded market, Jane Harper shines at the quality end....Force of Nature is masterfully paced, wonderfully rendered, and devastatingly entertaining * Simon Macdonald, Potts Point Bookshop, Sydney *

You may also be interested in...

Into the Water
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Macbeth
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Handmaid's Tale
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Transcription
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Clockmaker's Daughter
Added to basket
£18.99   £9.49
Hardback
Three Things About Elsie
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Normal People
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
If Cats Disappeared From The World
Added to basket
The Ministry of Utmost Happiness
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Wild Fire
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
Love is Blind
Added to basket
£18.99   £15.99
Hardback
The Midnight Line
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Labyrinth of the Spirits
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
A Question of Trust
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Conversations with Friends
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
After the Party
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback

Reviews

View all

“No No No, busy that weekend....”

Thank you to the publishers for my review copy!
Sorry but No I am now busy that weekend and unavailable for team building - Jane Harper can explain!!
Having attended many team building activities you have to expect... More

Hardback edition
1 similar book recommended
12th December 2017
Helpful? Upvote 39
TheBookTrail

“Team building gone very wrong in the Australian forests”

If you have ever been on a team building exercise day ….you’re going to nod in agreement with much in this book. If you have managed to get out of one, breathe a sigh of relief. If you’re about to go on one….maybe... More

Hardback edition
1 similar book recommended
22nd December 2017
Helpful? Upvote 38

“Chilling ”

A really well written and gripping thriller, some great subplots which twist through and add depth and possibility to the main plot.
Beautiful descriptions of the outback scenery makes for a unnerving and sinister... More

Hardback edition
20th January 2018
Helpful? Upvote 36

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.