For Your Own Good (Hardback)
  • For Your Own Good (Hardback)
zoom

For Your Own Good (Hardback)

(author)
£12.99
Hardback 400 Pages / Published: 19/08/2021
  • 10+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

SOME LESSONS CAN BE DEADLY . . . The unputdownable new thriller from the author of international sensation and Richard & Judy pick, MY LOVELY WIFE

'Dark, sly and delicious . . . totally original - and totally compelling' JP DELANEY, bestselling author of PLAYING NICE
'Samantha Downing is totally the real deal. Wry and dark and witty and clever' SARAH PINBOROUGH, bestselling author of BEHIND HER EYES
'Wonderfully dark and twisty. I raced through it, desperate to know how it would end' BA PARIS
_______

Teddy Crutcher won Teacher of the Year at the prestigious Belmont Academy. Everyone thinks he's brilliant.
Only you know the truth.

They all smile when he tells us his wife couldn't be more proud.
But no-one has seen her in a while.

They're impressed when he doesn't let anything distract him - even the tragic death of a school parent.
Even when the whispers start, saying it was murder.

You're sure Teddy is hiding something about what happened that day.

You're sure you can prove it.

But you didn't stop to think that when it comes to catching a killer, there's no place more dangerous than just one step behind . . .
_______

'An irresistibly tale tale of parents, pupils and poison: the American dream turned suburban nightmare' TM LOGAN

'A brilliant psychological black comedy with a really fresh feel, packed with sly observation and outrageous twists' DAILY MAIL

PRAISE FOR SAMANTHA DOWNING

'Wow! My Lovely Wife is a stunner - full of twists, well-drawn characters, and riveting suspense' Harlan Coben

'The next Gone Girl' Marie Claire

'The twist at the end of the first chapter made me read through the night' Jane Corry

Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
ISBN: 9780241446881
Number of pages: 400
Weight: 629 g
Dimensions: 240 x 162 x 36 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Samantha Downing is totally the real deal. Wry and dark and witty and clever. I didn't think she could outdo My Lovely Wife but I think this one tops it. -- Sarah Pinborough
An irresistibly dark tale of parents, pupils and poison: the American dream turned suburban nightmare -- TM Logan, author of Trust Me and The Holiday
Dark, sly and delicious...totally original - and totally compelling -- JP Delaney
Wonderfully dark and twisty. I raced through it, desperate to know how it would end -- BA Paris
Fans of Gone Girl and Big Little Lies will love this fast-paced thriller * Sunday Express *
I raced through this, and loved every twist and turn. Brilliant characterisation and ingenious plotting make it an absolute winner. -- Jill Mansell
I have loved all of the books by Samantha Downing, and this classroom thriller deserves an A+. Original, dark and highly addictive -- Alice Feeney
A brilliant psychological black comedy with a really fresh feel, packed with sly observation and outrageous twists. But creepy Crutcher is the standout character who is truly awful and equally compelling * Daily Mail *
I'm a huge fan of Samantha Downing, who is masterful at creating diabolical characters and deliciously chilling plots. An absolutely terrific book! -- Sarah Pekkanen
Samantha Downing has achieved something so special in For Your Own Good. A story that is dark as night, sinister as hell, clever, twisting and downright fun -- Chris Whitaker
Samantha Downing serves up another cast of deliciously mendacious characters in an exclusive private school setting, where the deadly action drives a brilliantly tense, taut and twisty plot. I may never look at my coffee in the same way again -- Gilly Macmillan
Entertaining as hell, with trademark Downing twistedness. I loved it. -- Sam Lloyd, bestselling author of The Memory Wood
A slick and chilling thriller, leading readers on a dark, sinuous journey through the halls of Belmont Academy-the type of place where you're never sure who to trust, or who to fear. -- Megan Miranda
Dark, twisty, fun, and so original -- Alafair Burke
Twistier than a corkscrew and utterly original, For Your Own Good hooked me from the first page with its dark humour and no-let-up suspense -- Victoria Selman
Wow! Samantha Downing has done it again. For Your Own Good is utterly compelling, deliciously dark, and with perfect pacing that will have you racing to find out how it ends. I absolutely loved it -- Sarah Bonner
A deliciously dark, fast-paced delight of a novel with a maybe-maybe-not villain you'll secretly be rooting for. Highly recommended -- A.J. Park
A brilliant psychological thriller * Bella *
Downing's spare prose packs a wallop as she deftly ratchets up the suspense with every hairpin turn of this lean, mean, surprising, and utterly propulsive thriller -- Lisa Unger
So dark and twisted, so deliciously evil, it'll not only make you frantically turn those pages to find out who's targeting whom, but the wry sense of humor will have you laughing out loud, too. Another phenomenal wild-ride of a read from one of the crime-writing community's most talent authors. Bet you'll never look at high school the same way again -- Hannah Mary McKinnon
For Your Own Good is a fresh take on the elite school thriller and the perfect page turner -- Laure Van Rensburg
Witty and macabre with a psycho teacher who is so real to me -- Caroline Kepnes
Well-orchestrated * Sunday Times *
Praise for Samantha Downing -- -
We're calling it: My Lovely Wife is the most gripping psychological thriller of 2019... this book will keep you reading late into the night * Stylist *
One of my favourite thrillers of the year - I couldn't stop reading but didn't want it to end. Dark, chilling and compelling -- TM Logan, bestselling author of The Holiday
Wow! My Lovely Wife is a stunner - full of twists, well-drawn characters, and riveting suspense -- Harlan Coben
One of the best thrillers I've ever read -- Judy Finnigan
So beautifully and elegantly written . . . A great twist - I loved it -- Sophie Hannah

You may also be interested in...

The Castaways
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Daylight
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Therapist
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Find You First
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Still Life
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Coffinmaker's Garden
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Evening and the Morning
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Dinner Guest
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Edge of the Grave
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Slough House
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Night Gate
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Song for the Dark Times
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Magpie
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
V2
Added to basket
V2
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Leave the World Behind
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Exit
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“Fast paced, well written, great characters and exciting plot.”

I really enjoyed ‘My Lovely Wife’ by the this author so I was really looking forward to this one. Well it was all that I hoped, another well written book that had me rushing through the pages in anticipation. This... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

“Fun satirical read”

Samantha Downing is an author I've wanted to read for ages. This took a while to get into, possibly because there's many points of views, but once I did, I enjoyed it! It was an easy, satirical, fun read... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

“Fun and Over The Top!”

I read a lot of thrillers and I am getting harder to please but I'm happy to say that For Your Own Good pleased me!

This book had me hooked and I read it in super quick time. It is full of thoroughly unlikeable... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.