Click & Collect
from 2 Hours*
Last Christmas
delivery dates
Free UK Standard Delivery On all orders over £25 Order in time for Christmas 16th December by 3pm 2nd Class |
19th December by 3pm 1st Class
Free Click & Collect to shops From 2 hours after you order*
For Your Own Good (Hardback)
  • For Your Own Good (Hardback)
zoom

For Your Own Good (Hardback)

(author)
£12.99
Hardback 400 Pages / Published: 19/08/2021
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 48 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket

SOME LESSONS CAN BE DEADLY . . . The unputdownable new thriller from the author of international sensation and Richard & Judy pick, MY LOVELY WIFE

'Dark, sly and delicious . . . totally original - and totally compelling' JP DELANEY, bestselling author of PLAYING NICE
'Samantha Downing is totally the real deal. Wry and dark and witty and clever' SARAH PINBOROUGH, bestselling author of BEHIND HER EYES
'Wonderfully dark and twisty. I raced through it, desperate to know how it would end' BA PARIS
_______

Teddy Crutcher won Teacher of the Year at the prestigious Belmont Academy. Everyone thinks he's brilliant.
Only you know the truth.

They all smile when he tells us his wife couldn't be more proud.
But no-one has seen her in a while.

They're impressed when he doesn't let anything distract him - even the tragic death of a school parent.
Even when the whispers start, saying it was murder.

You're sure Teddy is hiding something about what happened that day.

You're sure you can prove it.

But you didn't stop to think that when it comes to catching a killer, there's no place more dangerous than just one step behind . . .
_______

'An irresistibly tale tale of parents, pupils and poison: the American dream turned suburban nightmare' TM LOGAN

'A brilliant psychological black comedy with a really fresh feel, packed with sly observation and outrageous twists' DAILY MAIL

PRAISE FOR SAMANTHA DOWNING

'Wow! My Lovely Wife is a stunner - full of twists, well-drawn characters, and riveting suspense' Harlan Coben

'The next Gone Girl' Marie Claire

'The twist at the end of the first chapter made me read through the night' Jane Corry

Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
ISBN: 9780241446881
Number of pages: 400
Weight: 629 g
Dimensions: 240 x 162 x 36 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Samantha Downing is totally the real deal. Wry and dark and witty and clever. I didn't think she could outdo My Lovely Wife but I think this one tops it. -- Sarah Pinborough
An irresistibly dark tale of parents, pupils and poison: the American dream turned suburban nightmare -- TM Logan, author of Trust Me and The Holiday
Dark, sly and delicious...totally original - and totally compelling -- JP Delaney
Wonderfully dark and twisty. I raced through it, desperate to know how it would end -- BA Paris
Fans of Gone Girl and Big Little Lies will love this fast-paced thriller * Sunday Express *
I raced through this, and loved every twist and turn. Brilliant characterisation and ingenious plotting make it an absolute winner. -- Jill Mansell
I have loved all of the books by Samantha Downing, and this classroom thriller deserves an A+. Original, dark and highly addictive -- Alice Feeney
A brilliant psychological black comedy with a really fresh feel, packed with sly observation and outrageous twists. But creepy Crutcher is the standout character who is truly awful and equally compelling * Daily Mail *
I'm a huge fan of Samantha Downing, who is masterful at creating diabolical characters and deliciously chilling plots. An absolutely terrific book! -- Sarah Pekkanen
Samantha Downing has achieved something so special in For Your Own Good. A story that is dark as night, sinister as hell, clever, twisting and downright fun -- Chris Whitaker
Samantha Downing serves up another cast of deliciously mendacious characters in an exclusive private school setting, where the deadly action drives a brilliantly tense, taut and twisty plot. I may never look at my coffee in the same way again -- Gilly Macmillan
Entertaining as hell, with trademark Downing twistedness. I loved it. -- Sam Lloyd, bestselling author of The Memory Wood
A slick and chilling thriller, leading readers on a dark, sinuous journey through the halls of Belmont Academy-the type of place where you're never sure who to trust, or who to fear. -- Megan Miranda
Dark, twisty, fun, and so original -- Alafair Burke
Twistier than a corkscrew and utterly original, For Your Own Good hooked me from the first page with its dark humour and no-let-up suspense -- Victoria Selman
Wow! Samantha Downing has done it again. For Your Own Good is utterly compelling, deliciously dark, and with perfect pacing that will have you racing to find out how it ends. I absolutely loved it -- Sarah Bonner
A deliciously dark, fast-paced delight of a novel with a maybe-maybe-not villain you'll secretly be rooting for. Highly recommended -- A.J. Park
A dark and twisty plot you'll race to finish * Yours Magazine *
A brilliant psychological thriller * Bella *
Downing's spare prose packs a wallop as she deftly ratchets up the suspense with every hairpin turn of this lean, mean, surprising, and utterly propulsive thriller -- Lisa Unger
So dark and twisted, so deliciously evil, it'll not only make you frantically turn those pages to find out who's targeting whom, but the wry sense of humor will have you laughing out loud, too. Another phenomenal wild-ride of a read from one of the crime-writing community's most talent authors. Bet you'll never look at high school the same way again -- Hannah Mary McKinnon
For Your Own Good is a fresh take on the elite school thriller and the perfect page turner -- Laure Van Rensburg
Witty and macabre with a psycho teacher who is so real to me -- Caroline Kepnes
Well-orchestrated * Sunday Times *
Praise for Samantha Downing -- -
We're calling it: My Lovely Wife is the most gripping psychological thriller of 2019... this book will keep you reading late into the night * Stylist *
One of my favourite thrillers of the year - I couldn't stop reading but didn't want it to end. Dark, chilling and compelling -- TM Logan, bestselling author of The Holiday
Wow! My Lovely Wife is a stunner - full of twists, well-drawn characters, and riveting suspense -- Harlan Coben
One of the best thrillers I've ever read -- Judy Finnigan
So beautifully and elegantly written . . . A great twist - I loved it -- Sophie Hannah

You may also be interested in...

No Plan B
Added to basket
£22.00   £15.99
Hardback
Next in Line
Added to basket
£22.00   £18.99
Hardback
Better Off Dead
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Dark Remains
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
No Plan B
Added to basket
£22.00   £15.99
Hardback
Verity
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Silent Patient
Added to basket
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
A Fatal Crossing
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Silverview
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Passenger
Added to basket
£20.00   £17.99
Hardback
Act of Oblivion
Added to basket
£22.00   £18.99
Hardback
The Lamplighters
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Breathless
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Apples Never Fall
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
A Slow Fire Burning
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback

“A thriller with dark humour at its heart”

I have previously enjoyed ‘My Lovely Wife’ and ‘He Started It’ by Samantha Downing so I was really excited to get the ARC for ‘For Your Own Good’. I like that Samantha’s books are all so different which is somewhat... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

“A highly original and intriguing read!”

The first thing I will say about Samantha’s books is that she writes stories like no other! Her ideas are authentic and her style of writing draws the reader in, holding their attention from beginning to end.

The... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

“Samantha Downing Is Swiftly Becoming One Of My Favourite Authors In The Thriller Genre”

‘Not that he’s going to give up. He never gives up.
It’s for their own good.’

If you’re a fan of thrillers then I highly recommend reading ‘For Your Own Good’; if you’re new to or curious about the genre then... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.