For the Missing - Detective Charlie Lager (Paperback)
  • For the Missing - Detective Charlie Lager (Paperback)
zoom

For the Missing - Detective Charlie Lager (Paperback)

(author)
8 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£14.99
Paperback 368 Pages / Published: 13/12/2018
  • In stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket

'A thriller that lingers in the memory' SUNDAY TIMES CRIME CLUB
'Dark Nordic noir' THE i
'A global bestseller' SUNDAY TIMES

The award-winning, international bestselling Swedish crime debut about a missing girl, and the detective who must return home and confront her darkest secrets in order to find her - for fans of MISSING, PRESUMED by Susie Steiner, I'M TRAVELLING ALONE by Samuel Bjork, and THEN SHE WAS GONE by Lisa Jewell.
______________________________________

THE MISSING
Nora's daughter Annabelle has disappeared, last seen on her way home from a party.

THE LOST
Gullspang's inexperienced police are wilting under the national media spotlight - and its residents desperate for answers.

THE CLOCK IS TICKING
Stockholm DI Charlie Lager must return home to find Annabelle, and then get out of town as soon as she can. Before everyone discovers the truth about her . . .

If you liked MISSING, PRESUMED by Susie Steiner, I'M TRAVELLING ALONE by Samuel Bjork, and THEN SHE WAS GONE by Lisa Jewell you will love FOR THE MISSING, the international crime bestseller with a stunning ending.
______________________________________

WHAT REAL READERS ARE SAYING:

'Oh My Gosh! This is epic!'
'This is a great crime mystery'
'An interesting and fascinating read'
'Highly recommended'
'I am just amazed when a debut author presents a crime thriller in a fresh way'
'The tension grows and grows up to a stunning conclusion'

Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
ISBN: 9781409179344
Number of pages: 368
Weight: 460 g
Dimensions: 232 x 154 x 28 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
This smash hit Swedish debut breathes new life into a few well-worn det-fic themes to create a thriller that lingers in the memory * SUNDAY TIMES CRIME CLUB *
A powerful Scandi Noir debut by a promising new author ... Atmospheric, evocative and with a heroine who overcomes some of the genre's cliches, this is a first-class procedural with all shades of grey unveiled like onion peel as the narrative progresses. With various parallel story strands deepening the mystery before they all come together in a flurry of unwelcome truths, this makes for an altogether excellent thriller -- Maxim Jakubowski * CRIME TIME *
This debut novel from a psychology teacher upholds the recent tradition of dark Nordic noir. A girl goes missing on her way home from the party in the forested village of Gullspang. Enter a Stockholm detective with a secret of her own * THE i PAPER *
This may be the debut novel for Lina Bengtsdotter, but it immediately slots her into the pantheon of Scandi Noir greats. She is a seamstress. She weaves a wonderful, embracing picture of life in a down-at-heel, dying, remote and rusty, Swedish industrial eyesore; and gradually unpicks the different threads, laying each out, its sparse clarity giving the reader a myriad of separate storylines ... For The Missing begins with the speed and power of a hydrofoil on the dangerous lake, and delves deeply into a sea of contradictions: not just involving the search for the missing girl, but the enthralling personalities and twists that Bengstdotter creates ... the pace is fast and unrelenting, but the style allows the reader to relax and absorb the plot ... For The Missing takes crime fiction to a disturbingly personal, high level -- Tony R. Cox * SHOTS MAG *
This debut novel is intelligent and arresting. And grim -- Mat Coward * MORNING STAR *
A brilliant, dense crime novel * Dagens Nyheter (Sweden) *
The next big Swedish crime sensation * Dagbladet (Norway) *
A wonderful debut * Dziennik Zachodni (Poland) *

You may also be interested in...

Apples Never Fall
Added to basket
£20.00   £17.99
Hardback
As Good As Dead
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Win
Added to basket
Win
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Survivors
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Beautiful Spy
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Coffinmaker's Garden
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Night Gate
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Good Girl's Guide to Murder
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Anxious People
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Edge of the Grave
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Man Who Died Twice
Added to basket
£18.99   £14.99
Hardback
The Marlow Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
One by One
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Night Hawks
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Still Life
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“Original and quite brilliant”

I am just amazed when a debut author presents a crime thriller in a fresh way. Risks abound for it to be taken seriously as if getting published was not already an impossibly high hurdle to so many.
Yet here we have a... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 18

“A brilliant read”

For The Missing introduces us to DI Charlie Lager, a detective in the Stockholm police force, who along with her colleague Anders Bratt is given the task of trying to find out what has happened to teenager Annabelle... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 17

“More character driven drama than thriller”

This is the english translation of a popular book released last year in Sweden. The first of a series, it introduces DI Charlie Lager of the National Operations Dept. in Stockholm. When a young girl from the small... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 17

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.