Flying Tips for Flightless Birds (Paperback)
  • Flying Tips for Flightless Birds (Paperback)
zoom

Flying Tips for Flightless Birds (Paperback)

(author)
6 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£7.99
Paperback 384 Pages
Published: 01/03/2018
  • 5+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

Winner of the Children's Books Ireland Book of the Year Award
Winner of the Northern Ireland Book Award

"Filled with fantastical but real-feeling joy" - The Guardian
"A warm hug of a book" - The Irish Independent
"Highs, lows, love and laughter" - LoveReading4Kids
"Witty and clever. This novel really does sparkle" - Roddy Doyle
"Kelly McCaughrain is one to watch" - Susin Nielsen

A sweet and kooky romcom debut for fans of R. J. Palacio's Wonder, Sarah Crossan, and Susin Nielsen's We Are All Made of Molecules.

Twins Finch and Birdie Franconi are stars of the flying trapeze. But when Birdie suffers a terrifying accident, Finch must team up with the geeky new kid, Hector Hazzard, to form an all-boys double act and save the family circus school.

Together they learn to walk the high-wire of teen life and juggle the demands of friends, family, first love and facing up to who they are – all served up with a dash of circus-showbiz magic.

Publisher: Walker Books Ltd
ISBN: 9781406375657
Number of pages: 384
Weight: 266 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 23 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

“[…] filled with fantastical yet real-feeling joy.” - The Guardian

“Flying tips for Flightless Birds is a quirky and complex story, told with an elegant simplicity that hooks you from the first few pages. A gentle but gripping exploration of the highs and lows of being a young person, of love, friends and the relationship we have with ourselves and others.” - The Book Bag

“Highs, lows, love and laughter - this big-hearted circus-set debut has it all. […]Alongside the tension and turmoil around Birdie’s condition, and the radiant razzle-dazzle of the circus, there’s a magnificent (if rocky-roaded) romance, and many words of wisdom come courtesy of Birdie’s blog posts […] Complex questions are put under the spotlight as the main characters try to navigate their way in the world, wondering who they are, who they should be, how they fit in, and these big issues are all explored with clarity, humour and a whole of lot of heart beneath Franconi’s exhilarating Big Top.” - LoveReading4Kids

This novel is as good as Meg Rosoff at her finest. A fresh and honest look at teenage life, and explored issues of sexuality and identity. - Book Murmuration

Flying Tips for Flightless Birds is unexpectedly funny, often enjoyable and, at its best, oddly moving. This is a début which juggles the sweet and the sombre, and is ideal for 11-14 readers. I’m intrigued to see what McCaughrain writes next. - The Paper Alchemist

You may also be interested in...

Hercules: the Diary of a (Sort of) Hero
Added to basket
Wonka
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Bunny vs Monkey: Bunny Bonanza!
Added to basket
£12.99   £9.99
Hardback
If Only I Had Told Her
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Reappearance of Rachel Price
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Supertato: Eviltato vs Superpea
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Heartstopper Volume 5
Added to basket
£12.99   £10.99
Paperback
If He Had Been with Me
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Dog Man 12: The Scarlet Shedder
Added to basket
£12.99   £8.99
Hardback
Reckless
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
A Good Girl's Guide to Murder
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Blunders
Added to basket
£14.99   £11.99
Hardback
The Baddies
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Ruthless Vows
Added to basket
£14.99
Hardback
A Mind Full of Murder
Added to basket
Bookread2day

“Delightful story ”

This lovely story brought back my memories going to the circus laughing out loud at the clowns. Full praise to Kelly McCaughrain for this delightful first novel. I would like to thank Walker Books for sending me this... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 27

“Brilliant!”

This book was kindly sent to me by the publisher, but this is an entirely honest review. This book was intelligent, witty and beautifully written. It's suitable for children aged about ten upwards, and for... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 22

“An entertaining, uplifting coming of age story.”

Flying Tips for Flightless Birds is a lovely coming of age story set in rural Ireland. The book is narrated by Finch, but you also get blog post from Birdie, which give a bit more insight into how she's seeing... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 20

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: