Flying Tips for Flightless Birds (Paperback)
  • Flying Tips for Flightless Birds (Paperback)
zoom

Flying Tips for Flightless Birds (Paperback)

(author)
5 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£7.99
Paperback 384 Pages / Published: 01/03/2018
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
"Witty and clever. This novel really does sparkle." Roddy Doyle From debut author Kelly McCaughrain comes a sweet and kooky romcom for fans of R. J. Palacio's Wonder, Sarah Crossan, and Susin Nielsen's We Are All Made of Molecules. Twins Finch and Birdie Franconi are stars of the flying trapeze. But when Birdie suffers a terrifying accident, Finch must team up with the geeky new kid, Hector Hazzard, to form an all-boys double act and save the family circus school. Together they learn to walk the high-wire of teen life and juggle the demands of friends, family, first love and facing up to who they are - all served up with a dash of circus-showbiz magic.

Publisher: Walker Books Ltd
ISBN: 9781406375657
Number of pages: 384
Weight: 266 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 23 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
"[...] filled with fantastical yet real-feeling joy." * The Guardian *
"Flying tips for Flightless Birds is a quirky and complex story, told with an elegant simplicity that hooks you from the first few pages. A gentle but gripping exploration of the highs and lows of being a young person, of love, friends and the relationship we have with ourselves and others." * The Book Bag *
"Highs, lows, love and laughter - this big-hearted circus-set debut has it all. [...]Alongside the tension and turmoil around Birdie's condition, and the radiant razzle-dazzle of the circus, there's a magnificent (if rocky-roaded) romance, and many words of wisdom come courtesy of Birdie's blog posts [...] Complex questions are put under the spotlight as the main characters try to navigate their way in the world, wondering who they are, who they should be, how they fit in, and these big issues are all explored with clarity, humour and a whole of lot of heart beneath Franconi's exhilarating Big Top." * LoveReading4Kids *
This novel is as good as Meg Rosoff at her finest. A fresh and honest look at teenage life, and explored issues of sexuality and identity. * Book Murmuration *
Flying Tips for Flightless Birds is unexpectedly funny, often enjoyable and, at its best, oddly moving. This is a debut which juggles the sweet and the sombre, and is ideal for 11-14 readers. I'm intrigued to see what McCaughrain writes next. * The Paper Alchemist *

You may also be interested in...

One Of Us Is Lying
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Bad Dad
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
Head Kid
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Getaway (book 12)
Added to basket
The Boy At the Back of the Class
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
The Girl, the Bear and the Magic Shoes
Added to basket
The Secret Commonwealth: The Book of Dust Volume Two
Added to basket
Tom Gates: Mega Make and Do (and Stories Too!)
Added to basket
This Lie Will Kill You
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Tom Gates: Biscuits, Bands and Very Big Plans
Added to basket
Two Can Keep a Secret
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
La Belle Sauvage: The Book of Dust Volume One
Added to basket
Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone
Added to basket
The Umbrella Mouse
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
Dear Evan Hansen
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Oi Cat!
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
Bookread2day

“Delightful story ”

This lovely story brought back my memories going to the circus laughing out loud at the clowns. Full praise to Kelly McCaughrain for this delightful first novel. I would like to thank Walker Books for sending me this... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 8

“a really lovely debut.”

This is such a warm, emotional and charming book that I read it in two huge gulps, not wanting to put it down.

Finch and Birdie often feel trapped in their small Irish town, where their parents run a slowly-failing... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

“An entertaining, uplifting coming of age story.”

Flying Tips for Flightless Birds is a lovely coming of age story set in rural Ireland. The book is narrated by Finch, but you also get blog post from Birdie, which give a bit more insight into how she's seeing... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.