Florence and Giles (Paperback)
  • Florence and Giles (Paperback)
zoom

Florence and Giles (Paperback)

(author)
7 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£9.99
Paperback 240 Pages / Published: 03/03/2011
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

A sinister Gothic tale in the tradition of The Woman in Black and The Fall of the House of Usher

1891. In a remote and crumbling New England mansion, 12-year-old orphan Florence is neglected by her guardian uncle and banned from reading. Left to her own devices she devours books in secret and talks to herself - and narrates this, her story - in a unique language of her own invention. By night, she sleepwalks the corridors like one of the old house's many ghosts and is troubled by a recurrent dream in which a mysterious woman appears to threaten her younger brother Giles. Sometimes Florence doesn't sleepwalk at all, but simply pretends to so she can roam at will and search the house for clues to her own baffling past.

After the sudden violent death of the children's first governess, a second teacher, Miss Taylor, arrives, and immediately strange phenomena begin to occur. Florence becomes convinced that the new governess is a vengeful and malevolent spirit who means to do Giles harm. Against this powerful supernatural enemy, and without any adult to whom she can turn for help, Florence must use all her intelligence and ingenuity to both protect her little brother and preserve her private world.

Inspired by and in the tradition of Henry James' s The Turn of the Screw, Florence & Giles is a gripping gothic page-turner told in a startlingly different and wonderfully captivating narrative voice.

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN: 9780007315048
Number of pages: 240
Weight: 260 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 19 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

`Real atmosphere is increasingly rare in novels and here it is in spades...A darkly glamorous tour de force.'
Wendy Holden, DAILY MAIL

'Harding rings enough ingenious changes on James's study of perversity to produce his own full-blown Gothic horror tale. The climax of their struggle... is genuinely exciting and shocking.' THE INDEPENDENT

`Florence and Giles is an elegant literary exercise worked out with the strictness of a fugue: imagine Henry James's The Turn of the Screw reworked by Edgar Allan Poe...Nothing prepares you for the chillingly ruthless but inevitable finale.' THE TIMES

'A tight gothic thriller... The climax becomes unbearably tense. Florence feels the horror of her situation "cheese-grating" her soul, which is just how Harding leaves the reader feeling at the end of this creepily suggestive story.' FINANACIAL TIMES

`Harding's creepy, ingenious tale slyly wrongfoots the reader, and its deliciously sinister conclusion is the stuff of troubled nights.' THE LADY

`Brilliantly creepy' DAILY MIRROR

`An intriguing read' GRAZIA

`A good, clever, modern take on old-style American gothic; a creepy haunted house tale in which the living are just as eerie as any real or imagined ghouls.' NEW ZEALAND HERALD

`a scarily good story, in an arrestingly unusual narrative voice.' THE OXFORD TIMES

You may also be interested in...

Tipping The Velvet
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Bring up the Bodies
Added to basket
Sword Song
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Mightier than the Sword
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Lamentation
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Beloved
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Paying Guests
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Heresy
Added to basket
£8.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Pale Horseman
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Lords of the North
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Ross Poldark
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Girl With a Pearl Earring
Added to basket
Harlequin
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Demelza
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
A Place Called Winter
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Master and Commander
Added to basket

Reviews

View all

“Slow start, but absorbing from the very beginning”

Florence, a twelve year old girl and her younger brother Giles are orphans. Their guardian is their uncle, whom they have never met, and they live ina grand but ruinous mansion looked after by a few servants.

One... More

Hardback edition
7th June 2010
Helpful? Upvote 27

“One of the most addictive books I have ever read”

Florence and Giles is genuinely one of the most addictive books I have ever read. I picked it up and could not put it down; it is so mysterious and clever. I think Florence is a brilliant character, brave and fiercely... More

Hardback edition
21st May 2010
Helpful? Upvote 26

“Brilliant and Gripping”

A brilliand and gripping book seen through the eyes of a young girl called Florence. After their neglectful governess dies in a tragic accident, they are left to walk the corridors of their New England mansion alone.... More

Hardback edition
8th July 2010
Helpful? Upvote 25

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.