Florence and Giles (Hardback)
  • Florence and Giles (Hardback)
zoom

Florence and Giles (Hardback)

(author)
7 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£14.99
Hardback Published: 04/03/2010
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket
A sinister Gothic tale in the tradition of The Woman in Black and The Fall of the House of Usher 1891. In a remote and crumbling New England mansion, 12-year-old orphan Florence is neglected by her guardian uncle and banned from reading. Left to her own devices she devours books in secret and talks to herself - and narrates this, her story - in a unique language of her own invention. By night, she sleepwalks the corridors like one of the old house's many ghosts and is troubled by a recurrent dream in which a mysterious woman appears to threaten her younger brother Giles. Sometimes Florence doesn't sleepwalk at all, but simply pretends to so she can roam at will and search the house for clues to her own baffling past. After the sudden violent death of the children's first governess, a second teacher, Miss Taylor, arrives, and immediately strange phenomena begin to occur. Florence becomes convinced that the new governess is a vengeful and malevolent spirit who means to do Giles harm. Against this powerful supernatural enemy, and without any adult to whom she can turn for help, Florence must use all her intelligence and ingenuity to both protect her little brother and preserve her private world. Inspired by and in the tradition of Henry James' s The Turn of the Screw, Florence & Giles is a gripping gothic page-turner told in a startlingly different and wonderfully captivating narrative voice.

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN: 9780007315031
Weight: 452 g
Dimensions: 222 x 141 mm

You may also be interested in...

Master and Commander
Added to basket
The Grand Sophy
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Paying Guests
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Name of the Rose
Added to basket
The Empty Throne
Added to basket
American Pastoral
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Tipping The Velvet
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Other Boleyn Girl
Added to basket
The Leopard
Added to basket
The Lords of the North
Added to basket
The Pale Horseman
Added to basket
Shogun
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
Lamentation
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Sepulchre
Added to basket
£11.99
Paperback
The White Queen
Added to basket
Heresy
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback

“One of the most addictive books I have ever read”

Florence and Giles is genuinely one of the most addictive books I have ever read. I picked it up and could not put it down; it is so mysterious and clever. I think Florence is a brilliant character, brave and fiercely... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 37

“Slow start, but absorbing from the very beginning”

Florence, a twelve year old girl and her younger brother Giles are orphans. Their guardian is their uncle, whom they have never met, and they live ina grand but ruinous mansion looked after by a few servants.

One... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 36

“Brilliant and Gripping”

A brilliand and gripping book seen through the eyes of a young girl called Florence. After their neglectful governess dies in a tragic accident, they are left to walk the corridors of their New England mansion alone.... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 31

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.