Ts&Cs apply
Flamingo Boy (Paperback)
  • Flamingo Boy (Paperback)
zoom

Flamingo Boy (Paperback)

(author)
3 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£7.99
Paperback 288 Pages
Published: 04/10/2018
  • 5+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

A stunning new classic from master storyteller Michael Morpurgo for readers of 9+, in the vein of PRIVATE PEACEFUL and THE BUTTERFLY LION

This is a landmark new novel from the nation’s favourite storyteller, set in the unique landscape of the Camargue in the South of France during WW2. There, a young autistic boy lives on his parents’ farm among the salt flats, and the flamingos that live there. There are lots of things he doesn’t understand: but he does know how to heal animals. He loves routine, and music too: and every week he goes to market with his mother, to ride his special horse on the town carousel.

But then the Germans come, with their guns, and take the town. A soldier shoots a flamingo from the sky, and it falls to earth terribly injured. And even worse is to come: the carousel is damaged, the horses broken. For this vulnerable boy, everything is falling apart.

Only there’s a kind sergeant among the Germans – a man with a young boy of his own at home, a man who trained as a carpenter. Between them, perhaps boy and man can mend what has been broken – and maybe even the whole town…

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN: 9780008134655
Number of pages: 288
Weight: 260 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 21 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

“Please invite this wonderful story in, you won’t regret it. History is rarely more movingly alive.” Morris Gleitzman Praise for Michael Morpurgo:“Michael Morpurgo writes brilliantly about war and animals, conveying the big emotions without preaching.” Guardian “Champagne quality over a wide range of subjects.” Daily Telegraph “There are few children’s writers as compelling as Michael Morpurgo.” Daily Express “Morpurgo, as always, is subtle and skilful, and incorporates social and moral issues into his writing without being self-righteous or detracting from the quality of the narrative”Elizabeth Reilly, British Council “The former children's laureate has the happy knack of speaking to both child and adult readers.” Guardian

You may also be interested in...

Dog Man 6: Brawl of the Wild PB
Added to basket
Dog Man 10: Mothering Heights
Added to basket
Tom Gates 21: Five Star Stories
Added to basket
Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
Added to basket
Diary Of A Wimpy Kid (Book 1)
Added to basket
Cat Kid Comic Club
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows
Added to basket
The Explorer
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Dog Days (Book 4)
Added to basket
Dog Man 8: Fetch-22 (PB)
Added to basket

“A new classic Morpurgo, shining with the brilliance of a Van Gogh painting”



Young Vincent is inspired by a painting by his namesake, Vincent Van Gogh, to go travelling to the South of France. There he falls ill in the wild Camargue region and is rescued by Renzo.

Whilst recovering at a... More

Hardback edition
6 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 45

“ As beautiful and bright as a Van Gogh painting. A moving new classic Morpurgo”


Young Vincent is inspired by a painting by his namesake, Vincent Van Gogh, to go travelling to the South of France. There he falls ill in the wild Camargue region and is rescued by Renzo.

Whilst recovering at a... More

Hardback edition
5 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 30
Sophie

“One of the author's best works!”

One of the author's best works, I think. I found it believable and uplifting, especially because it shows that during World War II not all Germans were cruel, in fact they could be unbelievably kind. I also... More

Paperback edition
10 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 3

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: