The Testaments out now
First Comes Love (Paperback)
  • First Comes Love (Paperback)
zoom

First Comes Love (Paperback)

(author)
£7.99
Paperback 368 Pages / Published: 22/09/2016
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

**The #1 New York Times bestselling novel.** Perfect for fans of Marian Keyes, Liane Moriarty and The Devil Wears Prada.

What happens when love, marriage and children don't come in the expected order?

Fifteen years after the tragic death of their older brother splintered Josie and Meredith's already fragile relationship, the two sisters are following very different paths.

Hardworking, reserved Meredith thought she'd done it all the right way round - married the perfect man, had the perfect daughter - but now she's wondering if she got the love part wrong.

Impulsive and spirited Josie has been single for years. She wants a child so much that she's preparing to head straight for the baby carriage all on her own.

As the anniversary of their tragedy looms and secrets from the past surface, Josie and Meredith must come to terms with their own choices. Perhaps they'll find that they need each other more than they know...

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
ISBN: 9781444799026
Number of pages: 368
Weight: 258 g
Dimensions: 199 x 131 x 24 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Praise for First Comes Love * : *
Giffin is a great writer and the psychologically complex narrative races along, making for compulsive reading. This is a compelling portrait of a family in crisis; warm, witty, wise and so honest it occasionally made me wince. I loved it. * Daily Mail *
Moving and complex, [First Comes Love] proves [that Emily Giffin is] still at the top of her game. * Booklist *
Giffin paints a realistic portrait of the troubled and complex relationship between a pair of sisters...[her] fans will be pleased with this fast-paced, witty, and thoughtful new offering' * Kirkus Reviews *
Giffin's talent is pretty much unparalleled when it comes to the modern woman's story about life, love and family * Redbook *
Praise for Emily Giffin's previous novels * : *
A modern-day Jane Austen. * Vanity Fair *
A dependably down-to-earth storyteller. * New York Times *
Giffin's writing is true, smart, and heartfelt. * Entertainment Weekly *
I absolutely loved it . . . I could not put it down. * Marian Keyes on Something Borrowed *
Giffin's talent lies in taking relatable situations and injecting enough wit and suspense to make them feel fresh. * People *
Here's a heroine you'll root for and a book you won't want to put down. I loved it! * Lauren Weisberger, author of The Devil Wears Prada on Something Borrowed *
When it comes to writing stories that resonate with real women, bestselling author Emily Giffin has hit her stride. * San Francisco Chronicle *
Emily Giffin ranks as a grand master . . . She has traversed the slippery slopes of true love, lost love, marriage, motherhood, betrayal, forgiveness and redemption that have led her to be called 'a modern-day Jane Austen'. * Chicago Sun Times *
Emily Giffin writes with both insight and empathy. * Candis *

You may also be interested in...

Nine Perfect Strangers
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Second Sleep
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
The Wall
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Second Sleep
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
Normal People
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Wych Elm
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
A Keeper
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
An American Marriage
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Paris Echo
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Secret Commonwealth: The Book of Dust Volume Two
Added to basket
The Last
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Testaments
Added to basket
£20.00   £15.99
Hardback
Agent Running in the Field
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Giver of Stars
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
The Man Who Didn't Call
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Lies Lies Lies
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.