Firekeeper's Daughter: Signed Bookplate Edition (Paperback)
  • Firekeeper's Daughter: Signed Bookplate Edition (Paperback)
  • Firekeeper's Daughter: Signed Bookplate Edition (Paperback)
  • Firekeeper's Daughter: Signed Bookplate Edition (Paperback)
  • Firekeeper's Daughter: Signed Bookplate Edition (Paperback)
zoom
Firekeeper's Daughter: Signed Bookplate Edition (Paperback) Firekeeper's Daughter: Signed Bookplate Edition (Paperback) Firekeeper's Daughter: Signed Bookplate Edition (Paperback)

Firekeeper's Daughter: Signed Bookplate Edition (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99
Paperback 496 Pages
Published: 27/01/2022

This product is only available to collect in store.

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

Young Native American woman Daunis is drafted into a covert FBI operation in this gripping and brilliantly nuanced debut thriller about community, corruption and identity.

Shortlisted for the Waterstones Children's Book Prize Older Readers Prize 2022

Exclusive Signed Bookplate Edition, with a sprayed edge in one of three colours (randomly allocated)

A Standard Edition is available here

Keep the Secret. Live the Lie. Earn your Truth.

For fans of Angie Thomas and Tommy Orange comes a ground-breaking YA thriller about a Native American teen who must root out the corruption in her community.

Eighteen-year-old Daunis' mixed heritage has always made her feel like an outsider, both in her hometown and on the nearby Ojibwe reservation. When she witnesses a shocking murder, she reluctantly agrees to be part of a covert FBI operation into a series of drug-related deaths.

But the deceptions - and deaths - keep piling up and soon the threat strikes too close to home. Now Daunis must decide what it means to be a strong Anishinaabe kwe (Ojibwe woman) and how far she'll go to protect her community, even if it tears apart the only world she's ever known.

Publisher: Oneworld Publications
ISBN: 9780861544172
Number of pages: 496
Dimensions: 198 x 129 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'This fat, satisfying novel ably conveys a sense of place and nuanced, complex feeling; it's both an interrogation of racist misogyny and a swift-paced, compelling thriller.' - Guardian

'A superb book; a story that grips like a bulldog clip on your heart, a breathtaking, heart-winning thriller. I kept thinking about Daunis long after the final page.' - Katherine Rundell, author of The Good Thieves

'Raw and moving, the intricacies of family loyalty and who comes first are deftly and sensitively explored. Firekeeper's Daughter sensitively touches on crimes and lack of accountability against indigenous women in the Native American community and identity. Boulley has crafted a nuanced and refreshing protagonist.' - Cosmopolitan

'Both thrilling and heartwrenching, with twists and turns I didn't see coming.' - Aisha Bushby, author of A Pocketful of Stars

'Immersive and enthralling, Firekeeper's Daughter plunges the reader into a community and a landscape enriched by a profound spiritual tradition. Full of huge characters and spellbinding scenes, it gives a fascinating insight into life on and off the reservation, with Daunis as a tough and resourceful heroine through every vicissitude.' - Financial Times

'In this momentous YA debut, Angeline Boulley pulls from her Ojibwe background to craft her incredible protagonist.' - Elle

'Firekeeper's Daughter is a gripping and unforgettable story of family, community and identity told through the eyes of a protagonist so powerfully realised on the page, you'll swear you can hear her heart beat. Daunis Fontaine is a force to be reckoned with - and so is Angeline Boulley. This is one bold, uncompromising and elegantly crafted debut.' - Courtney Summers, author of Sadie

'Intricate and moving. Boulley takes the reader on an incredible journey with the assurance of a veteran novelist.' - Tochi Onyebuchi, author of Beasts Made of Night

'What do you get when you combine Tommy Orange, Angie Thomas, and Tomi Adeyemi? This genre-bending new YA thriller.' - Entertainment Weekly

'One of this year's most buzzed about young adult novels.' - Good Morning America

'A rare and mesmerising work that blends the power of a vibrant tradition with the aches and energy of today's America. This book will leave you breathless!' - Francisco X. Stork, author of Marcelo in the Real World

'Beautifully crafted and filled with super sleuthing, Firekeeper's Daughter by Angeline Boulley is one of our most anticipated reads of 2021.' - Fierce Reads

'Sharp turns and charming characters... Hitting hard when it comes to issues such as citizenship, language revitalization, and the corrosive presence of drugs on Native communities, this novel will long stand in the hearts of both Native and non-Native audiences.' - Publishers Weekly

'Angeline Boulley's remarkable debut young adult novel is an edge-of-the-seat crime thriller that will leave young and not-so young readers in awe of the power of modern storytelling... A big, satisfying read... Although Firekeeper's Daughter twists and turns with riveting plot developments and revelations, it is Daunis' journey that drives the story along to its dramatic conclusion.' - South China Morning Post

'Boulley doesn't overwhelm the reader with detail but leads the way through the intricacies and connections - immersing, not superimposing... The plot weaves, ducks and dives, but always convincingly and always a mixture of the beliefs and customs of the Ojibwe and of white American culture... The reader is detective and observer, placed at the heart of Daunis' moral dilemmas and the dangers she finds herself in.' - Books for Keeps

You may also be interested in...

Heartstopper Volume 1
Added to basket
Girl in Pieces
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
A Good Girl's Guide to Murder
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Heartstopper Yearbook
Added to basket
£14.99   £7.49
Hardback
Shatter Me
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
One Of Us Is Lying
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Inheritance Games
Added to basket
Good Girl, Bad Blood
Added to basket
They Both Die at the End
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Nothing More to Tell
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The First to Die at the End
Added to basket
£12.99   £6.49
Hardback
The Cruel Prince (The Folk of the Air)
Added to basket
Five Survive
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Heartstopper Volume 2
Added to basket
Nick and Charlie
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Win Lose Kill Die
Added to basket
The School for Good and Evil
Added to basket
The Summer I Turned Pretty
Added to basket

“awesome debut”

At first sight, without reading the synopsis (I don't usually read it), I thought it was a fantasy of some sorts but turns out it's a mystery/thriller/policial investigation with a nice subplot of Native... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 26
Sarah Faichney

“Stunning debut!”

"Firekeeper's Daughter" is a stunning debut from Angeline Boulley which draws beautifully on her own heritage. The book provides a valuable insight into Native American beliefs, culture and traditions.... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 26

“undercover cops and community secrets”

An utterly gripping crime thriller set in a Native American community.
Daunis is an aspiring university student, previously hockey player, keen scientist and Ojibwe woman of mixed heritage. She has recently... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 21

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.