Finding A Voice: Friendship is a Two-Way Street ... (Paperback)
  • Finding A Voice: Friendship is a Two-Way Street ... (Paperback)
zoom

Finding A Voice: Friendship is a Two-Way Street ... (Paperback)

(author)
£7.99
Paperback 240 Pages / Published: 11/08/2014
  • In stock online

Usually despatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

Shortlisted for the Bookseller YA Prize 2015!

Jo could never have guessed that the friendship she so desperately craves would come in the shape of a severely disabled boy. He can't even speak. Maybe it is because he can't speak that she finds herself telling him how difficult it is living with her eccentric, mentally fragile mother.

Behind Chris' lopsided grin and gigantic blue wheelchair is a real person - with a sense of humour, a tremendous stubborn streak and a secret he has kept from everyone.

For a while it seems life may actually get better. But as Jo finds out just how terrible life is for Chris, and as her own life spirals out of control, she becomes desperate to change things for both of them. In a dramatic turn of events, Jo makes a decision that could end in tragedy.

This is the story of how an unusual friendship unlocks the words that neither knew they had.

Publisher: O'Brien Press Ltd
ISBN: 9781847175434
Number of pages: 240
Weight: 199 g
Dimensions: 196 x 130 x 15 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

moving and compelling

-- Tuam Herald

I would recommend it to all young readers

-- Evening Echo

deeply touching ... an inspirational heroine

-- Irish Examiner

a very moving story with many important and contemporary themes: loneliness; attitudes to disability both physical and mental; and how to be a carer when only a child ... This is Kim Hood's first novel and I look forward to more from this very talented author

-- Armadillo Magazine

a moving tale of friendship and troubled teenagers

-- The Telegraph's Best YA Books of 2014

new fiction voice is quite a find ... assured and compelling ... you can't put it down!

-- Westmeath Independent

I've never felt so amazed and utterly moved by a story before in my entire life! It left me feeling inspired and really in awe ... you see the beauty about this book is that there is more than one person finding a voice ... they just don't know it yet. That ending!! ... I really and truly can't champion this brave and boldly fearless little bit of totally diverse fiction enough. Why oh why aren't there more books like this out there - all ages could learn a thing or two. I don't usually say this but - go buy it, please! I just know it's going to make my top 10 books of the year!'

-- Fiction Fascination

forty pages into this book and my heart was already broken ... as someone who has suffered with mental health difficulties, the idea of raising a child has always seemed fraught with difficulties. Many of my own fears were reflected in the experience of Jo and her mother and I was incredibly sad for this young girl with such an awful weight on her shoulders ... I can't wait to see what Kim Hood does next

-- Bibliojacq Blogs

I try to read books like this in one sitting, so I don't have to stop partway through exciting bits ... I'm going to reread this book for sure - make sure you read it!

-- Nayu's Reading Corner

It's not often these days that I am so enamoured with a book that I read it in one sitting and little did I know when I sat in the garden, one sunny Tuesday afternoon, and got up three hours later with a pretty numb backside and a sunburnt nose, that FINDING A VOICE would be that book. Beautifully written, heart-wrenching prose, honest and fragile characters and a touching story makes for one very special read ... this was such a special book and resonated with me on so many levels. Kim Hood's easy style of writing allows the emotion to shine through and enables the reader to really connect with the characters. The pacing flowed well and kept me engaged with the story which was so sweet and honest, it made my heart ache for Jo and Chris ... a story about friendship and unwavering hope, FINDING A VOICE is a book that will stay with you long after you've finished - touching and tender, it will make you laugh and cry ... perfect for fans of Gayle Forman and John Green - Highly recommend.

-- What Danielle Did Next

Finding a Voice is compelling, convincing, and considerably well-written. As well as acting as a testimony to the transformative power of friendship, this touching tale emphasises the importance of embracing each person's humanity- even one's own

-- The Looking Glass

anyone who wants more diversity in YA lit needs to read this. Not only does it handle mental health in a true to life way, it also features a main character with severe disabilities and does so brilliantly ... A lot of the issues in this book are very, very serious ones. It deals with mental health, physical disabilities and the danger of assuming you are aware of what is best for others when honestly you can't unless you are them. It is an `issues' book but the beautiful writing and the characters within it are much more than their issues ... a beautiful book

-- Readaraptor

mental illness is an 'illness' which touches many people. I am one of those people and I now, after over fifteen years, feel ready to talk about it. However, when I was younger, I wish there had been a book that I could've related to, this is such a book ... a beautiful read ... powerful ... let's get it onto school reading lists!

-- Sarah Broadhurst Reviews

gives an honest, clear-eyed account of the challenges Chris and Jo have to deal with ... despite the uplifting ending, it is never sentimental ... a gripping story, well told, with rounded and appealing characters

-- booksforkeeps.co.uk

thought-provoking & engaging

-- Booktrust

a touching story about how help can come from unexpected places

-- lovereading4kids.co.uk

Finding a Voice is very, very good

-- Deirdre O'Sullivan

AMAZING Story! Extremely well written, and totally unexpected with a beautiful ending and a moral overtone that was addressed perfectly, without overshadowing the relationship between the main characters

-- www.familiesonline.co.uk

author Kim Hood ... certainly packs a punch in her story of friendship against the odds ... there are plenty of messages that could be drawn from these pages. But the one that comes over most strongly is that there is no such thing as `normal'

-- Evening Echo

I would highly recommend this book ... 9/10

-- seomraranga.com

touching and poignant story ... written with deep compassion and understanding, this is excellently written and will grip the reader's attention

-- parentsintouch.co.uk

a lovely heart-warming book that successfully inspires and showcases the true meaning of courage and friendship

-- Safiyah, www.lovereading.co.uk

couldn't put it down

-- Natalie, www.lovereading.co.uk

a heart-warming tale ... moving and compelling, but crafted by Hood in a way that makes it believable. For a debut novel, this book is utterly outstanding and a credit to Kim Hood- I hope there are many more to come!

-- Morgan, www.lovereading.co.uk

I really really liked this book!

-- Imogen, www.lovereading.co.uk

not so much a guidebook through adolescence, but more an assurance that it will get better

-- WeLoveThisBook.com

You may also be interested in...

Grandpa's Great Escape
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.49
Paperback
The Tales of Beedle the Bard
Added to basket
Kid Normal
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows
Added to basket
Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
Added to basket
Everything's Amazing (Sort Of)
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.49
Paperback
Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Old School
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.49
Paperback
Super Good Skills (Almost...)
Added to basket
Diary Of A Wimpy Kid (Book 1)
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.49
Paperback
Boy Underwater
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.49
Paperback
Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix
Added to basket
The Brilliant World of Tom Gates
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.49
Paperback
Nevermoor: Nevermoor
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
My Mum Tracy Beaker
Added to basket
£12.99   £9.99
Hardback
Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban
Added to basket

Reviews

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.